البيرة قبل النبيذ وسوف تشعر بخير؟

طعام

البيرة قبل النبيذ وسوف تشعر بخير؟ألنور / شترستوك

لقد كان هناك الكثير منا: الاستيقاظ بعد ليلة في الخارج مع صداع حاد ، والشعور بالمرض والشتائم أبدا لمس الكحول مرة أخرى. لو كان هناك فقط وسيلة لمنع هذه المخلفات الرهيبة.

ليس من غير المألوف بالنسبة لنا مزج مشروباتنا ، ربما بيرة في الحانة قبل الانتقال إلى النبيذ. الحكمة الشعبية لديها ما تقوله عن هذا: "البيرة قبل النبيذ وستشعر بخير. والنبيذ قبل البيرة ، وسوف تشعر بأنك غريب. هذه الفكرة منتشرة جدًا وتحدث نسخ منها بالعديد من اللغات. في بلدي الأم ، ألمانيا ، على سبيل المثال ، نقول: "Wein auf Bier، das rat 'ich Dir - Bier auf Wein، das lass' sein." وهذا يترجم على النحو التالي: "Wine on beer، I'll ننصحك بالشرب بيرة على النبيذ. "

ولكن اتضح أنه لا توجد حقيقة لهذه الأقوال ، كما أوضحنا في أقوالنا الدراسة الاخيرة، نشر في المجلة الأمريكية للتغذية السريرية.

في بعض النواحي ، المخلفات هي لغزا. نحن نعلم أنها ناجمة عن شرب الكثير من الكحول وأن الأعراض تحدث عندما تنخفض تركيزات الكحول في الدم إلى الصفر. نحن نعرف جيدا ما هي هذه الأعراض: الصداع ، والغثيان ، والتعب. نعتقد أن الأسباب الكامنة وراء ذلك تشمل الجفاف ، واستجابة نظام المناعة لدينا ، واضطرابات التمثيل الغذائي لدينا والهرمونات.

Hangovers يسبب لنا أن تكون غير منتجة للغاية. في نهاية الأسبوع ، قد يعني هذا مجرد الاستلقاء ، والشعور بالأسف على أنفسنا ، ومشاهدة التلفزيون بدلاً من الخروج. ولكن خلال الأسبوع يمكن أن يعني ذلك فقدان عمل أو دراسة أو أداء ضعيف.

لا عجب إذن أن نصل إلى أي شيء قد يقلل - أو حتى يمنع - من المخلفات. ومع عدم وجود علاجات فعالة للتخدير ، فإننا نعتمد على الحكمة الشعبية. في بعض الأحيان يتبين أن الحكمة الشعبية حكيمة ، وأحياناً أخرى أقل.

المتطوعون الألمان

وللتعرف على ما إذا كانت أقوال الشراب صحيحة أم لا ، وما إذا كنا قادرين على تقليل مخلفاتنا عن طريق شرب البيرة قبل الخمر ، أجرينا دراسة في ألمانيا مع متطوعين أصحاء من 90 ، تتراوح أعمارهم بين 19 و 40.

قمنا بتقسيم متطوعينا إلى ثلاث مجموعات. شربت المجموعة الأولى حوالي نصفين ونصف من الجعة متبوعة بأربعة أكواب كبيرة من النبيذ الأبيض. شربت المجموعة الثانية نفس كميات الكحول ، ولكن بترتيب عكسي. استغرق الموضوعات في المجموعة الضابطة الثالثة ، إما الجعة فقط أو النبيذ فقط.

بعد أسبوع ، قمنا بتحويل المشاركين في مجموعات الدراسة الأولى والثانية إلى أمر الشرب المعاكس. السيطرة على أفراد المجموعة الذين شربوا البيرة فقط في المرة الأولى تلقى النبيذ فقط في يوم الدراسة الثاني ، والعكس بالعكس. بهذه الطريقة ، لم تتم مقارنة المجموعات فقط مع بعضها البعض ، ولكن كل مشارك كان له سيطرته الخاصة أيضًا.

بينما كانوا يشربون ، طلبنا من متطوعينا حول رفاههم على فترات منتظمة وطلبوا منهم أن يحكموا على مدى شعورهم بالسكر على مقياس من صفر إلى عشرة في نهاية كل يوم دراسي.

قبل الذهاب إلى الفراش في موقع الدراسة ، أعطينا جميع المشاركين لدينا كمية من مياه الشرب ، مصممة خصيصًا لوزن الجسم. أبقينا جميع المتطوعين تحت إشراف طبي خلال الليل.

عندما استيقظوا ، سألنا المشاركين حول مخلفاتهم وأعطاهم درجة من 0-56 على ما يسمى مقياس Hangover الحاد (نعم ، هذا موجود) على أساس العوامل بما في ذلك العطش ، والتعب ، والصداع ، والدوخة ، والغثيان ، والمعدة ألم ، وزيادة معدل ضربات القلب وفقدان الشهية.

ليس الجواب الذي كنت تأمل فيه

قد تجد نتائجنا مخيبة للآمال. وجدنا أن أيا من المجموعات الثلاث لم يكن لديها درجة مخلفات مختلفة بشكل كبير مع أوامر مختلفة من المشروبات الكحولية. الحكمة الشعبية لا تصمد أمام التدقيق.

البيرة قبل النبيذ وسوف تشعر بخير؟لا يهم الأمر. Slawomir Fajer / Shutterstock

كما لم يكن هناك أي طريقة للتنبؤ بمدى سوء مخلفات الشخص من اختبارات الدم والبول ، أو عمرهم ، أو جنسهم ، أو وزن الجسم ، أو عادات الشرب أو تواتر الكحول. يبدو أن الطريقة الوحيدة لمعرفة مدى سوء الصباح بعد الليلة السابقة ، هي شعور الشخص الذي يشرب الخمر أو ما إذا كان مريضًا - فهناك أعلام حمراء واضحة يجب أن نوليها الاهتمام.

يمكننا أن نتفق جميعا على أن مخلفات الطعام غير سارة للغاية. بمعنى من المعاني ، فهي طريقة الطبيعة لمحاولة حمايتنا من أنفسنا. بالتأكيد لا يجب أن نكرر السلوك الذي يجعلنا نشعر بهذا الرعب؟ على الرغم من ذلك ، هناك طريقة مؤكدة واحدة فقط لمنع حدوث مخلفات: تناول المشروبات بطريقة مسؤولة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كاي هينسل ، زميل أول سريري ، جامعة كامبريدج

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

طعام
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine?

food

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine? Elnur/Shutterstock

Plenty of us have been there: waking up after a night out with a thumping headache, feeling sick and swearing never to touch alcohol again. If only there were a way to prevent these terrible hangovers.

It isn’t uncommon for us to mix our drinks, maybe a beer in the pub before moving on to wine. Folk wisdom has something to say about this: “Beer before wine and you’ll feel fine; wine before beer and you’ll feel queer.” This idea is very prevalent and versions of it occur in many languages. In my native country, Germany, for example, we say: “Wein auf Bier, das rat’ ich Dir—Bier auf Wein, das lass’ sein.” This translates as: “Wine on beer, I’ll advise you to drink beer on wine.”

But it turns out that there is no truth to these sayings, as we’ve just demonstrated in our latest study, published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.

In some ways, hangovers are a mystery. We know they’re caused by drinking too much alcohol and that symptoms occur when blood alcohol concentrations drop back to zero. We know all too well what these symptoms are: headache, nausea, tiredness. We think their underlying causes include dehydration, the response of our immune system, and disturbances of our metabolism and hormones.

Hangovers cause us to be very unproductive. At the weekend, this might just mean lying in, feeling sorry for ourselves, watching TV instead of venturing out. But during the week it can mean missing work or study or performing poorly.

Little wonder, then, that we reach for anything that might reduce – or even prevent – a hangover. And with no effective hangover remedies, instead we rely on folk wisdom. Sometimes folk wisdom turns out to be wise, other times less so.

German volunteers

To look at whether the sayings around drinking were true and whether we could reduce our hangovers by drinking beer before wine, we carried out a study in Germany with 90 healthy volunteers, aged between 19 and 40.

We split our volunteers into three groups. The first group drank around two-and-a-half pints of lager followed by four large glasses of white wine. The second group drank the same amounts of alcohol, but in reverse order. Subjects in the third, control group consumed either only lager or only wine.

A week later, we switched participants in study groups one and two to the opposite drinking order. Control group subjects who drank only beer the first time around received only wine on the second study day, and vice versa. This way, the groups were not only compared with each other, but each participant was their own control, too.

While they were drinking, we asked our volunteers about their well-being at regular intervals and asked them to judge how drunk they felt on a scale of zero to ten at the end of each study day.

Before going to bed at the study site, we gave all our participants an amount of drinking water, tailored to their body weight. We kept all our volunteers under medical supervision overnight.

When they woke up, we asked our participants about their hangover and gave them a score from 0-56 on the so-called Acute Hangover Scale (yes, this exists) based on factors including thirst, fatigue, headache, dizziness, nausea, stomach ache, increased heart rate and loss of appetite.

Not the answer you were hoping for

You might find our results disappointing. We found that none of the three groups had a significantly different hangover score with different orders of alcoholic drinks. The folk wisdom doesn’t hold up to scrutiny.

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine? The order doesn’t matter. Slawomir Fajer/Shutterstock

Nor was there any way to predict how bad an individual’s hangover would be just from blood and urine tests, their age, sex, body weight, drinking habits or hangover frequency. The only way to tell how bad the morning after the night before would be, it seems, was how drunk someone felt or whether they were sick – there are clear red flags we should all pay attention to.

We can all agree that hangovers are very unpleasant. In a sense, they are nature’s way of trying to protect us from ourselves. Surely we shouldn’t repeat behaviour that makes us feel this terrible? Really, though, there’s only one sure-fire way to prevent a hangover: drink responsibly.The Conversation

About The Author

Kai Hensel, Senior Clinical Fellow, University of Cambridge

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Hangover Cure – A Quick Guide to Understanding and Beating Hangovers!

foodAuthor: Joey Cardillo
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Versatile Health
Label: Versatile Health
Publisher: Versatile Health
Manufacturer: Versatile Health

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Hangovers aren’t fun – no big surprise there...

Ever since I began drinking at the age of 21, I had a problem with hangovers, and one day I decided to put a stop to them. Three years ago, I put together a plan, one that would ultimately BEAT these wretched hangovers, and to my surprise, it worked! I have 10 awesome and 100% NATURAL & HEALTHY tips in this book that truly work at preventing hangovers. For the past 3 years, I have been hangover free, and I want to help others fight these horrible experiences.

The Hangover Cure – A Quick Guide to Understanding and Beating Hangovers is the real deal. These techniques really do work!!!

So give it a shot for yourself, what do you have to lose?




Cure Hangover: Exact Guide to Eliminating and Preventing Hangover

foodAuthor: Antonio Balmoral
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Have you ever woken up after a night of drinking with the worst headache and stomach pains? Most of us have been there and it is no fun. I have come up with solutions that are sure to help cure your hangover blues. Some even prevent that day after doom. With these key preventatives we can curb your hangover and even eliminate it. Try one or two of our suggestions or more of them if you so choose but you will definitely benefit from these secrets!




How To Drink Without Getting Drunk: A Report On How To Drink More Alcohol Without Getting Drunk, Getting Sick, Throwing Up and Preventing Hangovers - Buy It Now

foodAuthor: Viktor Gorski
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: There are many instances and situations where a person may wish to be able to drink more alcohol without getting drunk, or at least not get as drunk as their friends. In How To Drink Without Getting Drunk: A Report On How To Drink More Alcohol Without Getting Drunk, Getting Sick, Throwing Up and Preventing Hangovers. you will learn the tips, strategies, techniques and methods on the art of drinking alcohol.




food
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}