La bière avant le vin et vous vous sentirez bien?

nourriture

La bière avant le vin et vous vous sentirez bien?Elnur / Shutterstock

Nous sommes nombreux à y être allés: se réveiller après une soirée avec une migraine, se sentir malade et jurant de ne plus jamais toucher à l'alcool. Si seulement il y avait un moyen d'empêcher ces terribles gueules de bois.

Il n'est pas rare pour nous de mélanger nos boissons, peut-être une bière au pub avant de passer au vin. La sagesse populaire a quelque chose à dire à ce sujet: «Bière avant le vin et tu te sentiras bien; vin avant la bière et vous vous sentirez queer. "Cette idée est très répandue et des versions de celui-ci se produisent dans de nombreuses langues. Dans mon pays d’origine, l’Allemagne, par exemple, nous disons: «Nous sommes au-dessus de Bier, nous sommes dirigés vers un autre pays.» Cela se traduit par: «Vin sur bière, je vous conseillerais de boire bière sur le vin. "

Mais il s’avère qu’il n’ya pas de vérité à ces paroles, comme nous venons de le montrer dans notre dernière étude, publié dans l'American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.

À certains égards, la gueule de bois est un mystère. Nous savons qu'ils sont causés par une consommation excessive d'alcool et que les symptômes apparaissent lorsque les concentrations d'alcool dans le sang retombent à zéro. Nous savons tous très bien quels sont ces symptômes: maux de tête, nausées, fatigue. Nous pensons que leurs causes sous-jacentes incluent la déshydratation, la réponse de notre système immunitaire et des perturbations de notre métabolisme et de nos hormones.

La gueule de bois nous rend très improductif. Le week-end, cela pourrait signifier simplement rester allongé, se sentir désolé pour nous-mêmes, regarder la télévision au lieu de sortir. Mais au cours de la semaine, cela peut signifier manquer de travail, d’études ou de mauvaises performances.

Il n’est donc pas étonnant que nous recherchions tout ce qui pourrait réduire - voire prévenir - la gueule de bois. Et sans remèdes efficaces contre la gueule de bois, nous comptons plutôt sur la sagesse populaire. Parfois, la sagesse populaire s'avère sage, d'autres fois moins.

Volontaires allemands

Pour déterminer si les affirmations relatives à la consommation d'alcool étaient vraies et si nous pouvions réduire notre gueule de bois en buvant de la bière avant le vin, nous avons mené une étude en Allemagne auprès de volontaires sains 90, âgés de 19 à 40.

Nous avons divisé nos volontaires en trois groupes. Le premier groupe a bu environ deux litres et demi de bière, suivis de quatre grands verres de vin blanc. Le deuxième groupe a bu les mêmes quantités d'alcool, mais dans l'ordre inverse. Les sujets du troisième groupe, le groupe témoin, consommaient soit uniquement de la bière blonde, soit du vin uniquement.

Une semaine plus tard, nous avons fait passer les participants des groupes d’étude un et deux à l’ordre de boire opposé. Les sujets du groupe témoin qui buvaient uniquement de la bière la première fois ne recevaient que du vin le deuxième jour d'étude et vice versa. De cette façon, les groupes n'étaient pas seulement comparés les uns aux autres, mais chaque participant avait également son propre contrôle.

Pendant qu’ils buvaient, nous interrogions régulièrement nos volontaires sur leur bien-être et leur demandions de juger à quel point ils se sentaient ivres sur une échelle de zéro à dix à la fin de chaque journée d’étude.

Avant de nous coucher sur le site de l'étude, nous avons donné à tous nos participants une quantité d'eau de boisson adaptée à leur poids. Nous avons gardé tous nos volontaires sous surveillance médicale pendant la nuit.

Quand ils se sont réveillés, nous avons interrogé les participants sur leur gueule de bois et leur avons attribué une note de 0-56 à la soi-disant échelle de la gueule de bois aiguë (oui, cela existe) en fonction de facteurs tels que soif, fatigue, maux de tête, vertiges, nausées, douleur, augmentation du rythme cardiaque et perte d'appétit.

Pas la réponse que vous espériez

Vous pourriez trouver nos résultats décevants. Nous avons constaté qu'aucun des trois groupes n'avait de score de gueule de bois significativement différent avec des commandes différentes de boissons alcoolisées. La sagesse populaire ne résiste pas à l'examen.

La bière avant le vin et vous vous sentirez bien?L'ordre n'a pas d'importance. Slawomir Fajer / Shutterstock

Il n'y avait pas non plus de moyen de prédire à quel point la gueule de bois d'un individu serait due aux tests sanguins et urinaires, à son âge, à son sexe, à son poids, à ses habitudes de consommation ou à sa fréquence. La seule façon de dire à quel point le lendemain matin serait mauvais serait, semble-t-il, à quel point quelqu'un se sentait saoul ou s'il était malade - il y a des signaux d'alarme auxquels nous devrions tous prêter attention.

Nous pouvons tous convenir que la gueule de bois est très désagréable. En un sens, ils sont le moyen par lequel la nature essaie de nous protéger de nous-mêmes. Nous ne devrions sûrement pas répéter les comportements qui nous font nous sentir si mal? En réalité, il n'existe qu'un seul moyen infaillible de prévenir une gueule de bois: boire de façon responsable.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Kai Hensel, chercheur clinique principal, Université de Cambridge

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=preventing hangovers;maxresults=3}

nourriture
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine?

food

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine? Elnur/Shutterstock

Plenty of us have been there: waking up after a night out with a thumping headache, feeling sick and swearing never to touch alcohol again. If only there were a way to prevent these terrible hangovers.

It isn’t uncommon for us to mix our drinks, maybe a beer in the pub before moving on to wine. Folk wisdom has something to say about this: “Beer before wine and you’ll feel fine; wine before beer and you’ll feel queer.” This idea is very prevalent and versions of it occur in many languages. In my native country, Germany, for example, we say: “Wein auf Bier, das rat’ ich Dir—Bier auf Wein, das lass’ sein.” This translates as: “Wine on beer, I’ll advise you to drink beer on wine.”

But it turns out that there is no truth to these sayings, as we’ve just demonstrated in our latest study, published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.

In some ways, hangovers are a mystery. We know they’re caused by drinking too much alcohol and that symptoms occur when blood alcohol concentrations drop back to zero. We know all too well what these symptoms are: headache, nausea, tiredness. We think their underlying causes include dehydration, the response of our immune system, and disturbances of our metabolism and hormones.

Hangovers cause us to be very unproductive. At the weekend, this might just mean lying in, feeling sorry for ourselves, watching TV instead of venturing out. But during the week it can mean missing work or study or performing poorly.

Little wonder, then, that we reach for anything that might reduce – or even prevent – a hangover. And with no effective hangover remedies, instead we rely on folk wisdom. Sometimes folk wisdom turns out to be wise, other times less so.

German volunteers

To look at whether the sayings around drinking were true and whether we could reduce our hangovers by drinking beer before wine, we carried out a study in Germany with 90 healthy volunteers, aged between 19 and 40.

We split our volunteers into three groups. The first group drank around two-and-a-half pints of lager followed by four large glasses of white wine. The second group drank the same amounts of alcohol, but in reverse order. Subjects in the third, control group consumed either only lager or only wine.

A week later, we switched participants in study groups one and two to the opposite drinking order. Control group subjects who drank only beer the first time around received only wine on the second study day, and vice versa. This way, the groups were not only compared with each other, but each participant was their own control, too.

While they were drinking, we asked our volunteers about their well-being at regular intervals and asked them to judge how drunk they felt on a scale of zero to ten at the end of each study day.

Before going to bed at the study site, we gave all our participants an amount of drinking water, tailored to their body weight. We kept all our volunteers under medical supervision overnight.

When they woke up, we asked our participants about their hangover and gave them a score from 0-56 on the so-called Acute Hangover Scale (yes, this exists) based on factors including thirst, fatigue, headache, dizziness, nausea, stomach ache, increased heart rate and loss of appetite.

Not the answer you were hoping for

You might find our results disappointing. We found that none of the three groups had a significantly different hangover score with different orders of alcoholic drinks. The folk wisdom doesn’t hold up to scrutiny.

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine? The order doesn’t matter. Slawomir Fajer/Shutterstock

Nor was there any way to predict how bad an individual’s hangover would be just from blood and urine tests, their age, sex, body weight, drinking habits or hangover frequency. The only way to tell how bad the morning after the night before would be, it seems, was how drunk someone felt or whether they were sick – there are clear red flags we should all pay attention to.

We can all agree that hangovers are very unpleasant. In a sense, they are nature’s way of trying to protect us from ourselves. Surely we shouldn’t repeat behaviour that makes us feel this terrible? Really, though, there’s only one sure-fire way to prevent a hangover: drink responsibly.The Conversation

About The Author

Kai Hensel, Senior Clinical Fellow, University of Cambridge

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Hangover Cure – A Quick Guide to Understanding and Beating Hangovers!

foodAuthor: Joey Cardillo
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Versatile Health
Label: Versatile Health
Publisher: Versatile Health
Manufacturer: Versatile Health

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Hangovers aren’t fun – no big surprise there...

Ever since I began drinking at the age of 21, I had a problem with hangovers, and one day I decided to put a stop to them. Three years ago, I put together a plan, one that would ultimately BEAT these wretched hangovers, and to my surprise, it worked! I have 10 awesome and 100% NATURAL & HEALTHY tips in this book that truly work at preventing hangovers. For the past 3 years, I have been hangover free, and I want to help others fight these horrible experiences.

The Hangover Cure – A Quick Guide to Understanding and Beating Hangovers is the real deal. These techniques really do work!!!

So give it a shot for yourself, what do you have to lose?




Cure Hangover: Exact Guide to Eliminating and Preventing Hangover

foodAuthor: Antonio Balmoral
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Have you ever woken up after a night of drinking with the worst headache and stomach pains? Most of us have been there and it is no fun. I have come up with solutions that are sure to help cure your hangover blues. Some even prevent that day after doom. With these key preventatives we can curb your hangover and even eliminate it. Try one or two of our suggestions or more of them if you so choose but you will definitely benefit from these secrets!




How To Drink Without Getting Drunk: A Report On How To Drink More Alcohol Without Getting Drunk, Getting Sick, Throwing Up and Preventing Hangovers - Buy It Now

foodAuthor: Viktor Gorski
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: There are many instances and situations where a person may wish to be able to drink more alcohol without getting drunk, or at least not get as drunk as their friends. In How To Drink Without Getting Drunk: A Report On How To Drink More Alcohol Without Getting Drunk, Getting Sick, Throwing Up and Preventing Hangovers. you will learn the tips, strategies, techniques and methods on the art of drinking alcohol.




food
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}