Пиво перед вином, и ты будешь чувствовать себя хорошо?

питание

Пиво перед вином, и ты будешь чувствовать себя хорошо?Elnur / Shutterstock

Многие из нас были там: просыпались после ночи с сильной головной болью, чувствовали себя больными и ругались, чтобы никогда больше не трогать алкоголь. Если бы только был способ предотвратить эти ужасные похмелья.

Мы нередко смешиваем наши напитки, может быть, пиво в пабе, прежде чем перейти к вину. Народная мудрость может кое-что сказать по этому поводу: «Пиво перед вином, и вы будете чувствовать себя хорошо; вино перед пивом, и вы будете чувствовать себя странно ». Эта идея очень распространена, и ее версии встречаются на многих языках. Например, в моей родной стране, Германии, мы говорим: «Wein auf Bier, das rat 'ich Dir - Bier auf Wein, das lass' sein». Это переводится как: «Вино на пиве, я посоветую вам выпить пиво на вине.

Но оказывается, что в этих высказываниях нет правды, как мы только что продемонстрировали в нашем последнее исследование, опубликованный в Американском журнале клинического питания.

В некотором смысле похмелье является загадкой. Мы знаем, что они вызваны употреблением слишком большого количества алкоголя, и что симптомы возникают, когда концентрация алкоголя в крови падает до нуля. Мы слишком хорошо знаем, что это за симптомы: головная боль, тошнота, усталость. Мы думаем, что их основными причинами являются обезвоживание, реакция нашей иммунной системы и нарушения нашего обмена веществ и гормонов.

Похмелье заставляет нас быть очень непродуктивными. В выходные это может означать просто лежать, жалеть себя, смотреть телевизор, а не выходить на улицу. Но в течение недели это может означать отсутствие работы, учебы или плохую работу.

Неудивительно, что мы достигаем всего, что может уменьшить - или даже предотвратить - похмелье. И без эффективных средств от похмелья, мы полагаемся на народную мудрость. Иногда народная мудрость оказывается мудрой, а иногда и менее.

Немецкие волонтеры

Чтобы выяснить, были ли высказывания, касающиеся употребления алкоголя, правдивыми и могли ли мы уменьшить похмелье, выпивая пиво перед вином, мы провели исследование в Германии с участием здоровых добровольцев 90 в возрасте между 19 и 40.

Мы разделили наших волонтеров на три группы. Первая группа выпила около двух с половиной литров пива, а затем четыре больших стакана белого вина. Вторая группа выпила такое же количество алкоголя, но в обратном порядке. Испытуемые в третьей контрольной группе употребляли либо только лагер, либо только вино.

Неделю спустя мы переключили участников первой и второй исследовательских комиссий на противоположный порядок употребления алкоголя. Пациенты контрольной группы, которые пили только пиво в первый раз, получали только вино во второй учебный день, и наоборот. Таким образом, группы сравнивались не только друг с другом, но и каждый участник был их собственным контролем.

Пока они пили, мы спрашивали наших добровольцев об их самочувствии через регулярные промежутки времени и просили их оценить, насколько они пьяны по шкале от нуля до десяти в конце каждого учебного дня.

Перед сном на месте исследования мы дали всем нашим участникам питьевую воду, соответствующую их весу. Мы держали всех наших добровольцев под наблюдением врача всю ночь.

Когда они проснулись, мы спросили наших участников об их похмелье и дали им оценку 0-56 по так называемой шкале острого похмелья (да, это существует) на основе таких факторов, как жажда, усталость, головная боль, головокружение, тошнота, желудок боль, учащенное сердцебиение и потеря аппетита.

Не тот ответ, на который вы надеялись

Вы можете найти наши результаты разочаровывающими. Мы обнаружили, что ни у одной из трех групп не было значительно различающихся показателей похмелья при разных заказах алкогольных напитков. Народная мудрость не выдерживает критики.

Пиво перед вином, и ты будешь чувствовать себя хорошо?Порядок не имеет значения. Славомир Фейер / Shutterstock

Также не было никакого способа предсказать, насколько плохое похмелье будет у человека только на основании анализа крови и мочи, его возраста, пола, массы тела, привычек употребления алкоголя или частоты похмелья. Кажется, что единственный способ определить, насколько плохим было утро после предыдущей ночи, было то, как пьяный кто-то чувствовал или был ли он болен - есть четкие красные флаги, на которые мы все должны обратить внимание.

Мы все можем согласиться с тем, что похмелье очень неприятно. В каком-то смысле они являются естественным способом защиты нас от самих себя. Конечно, мы не должны повторять поведение, которое заставляет нас чувствовать это ужасно? Правда, есть только один верный способ предотвратить похмелье: пить ответственно.Беседа

Об авторе

Кай Хензель, старший научный сотрудник, Кембриджский университет

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=preventing hangovers;maxresults=3}

питание
enarZH-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

Следуйте за InnerSelf

Google плюс значокfacebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Следуйте за InnerSelf

Google плюс значокfacebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine?

food

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine? Elnur/Shutterstock

Plenty of us have been there: waking up after a night out with a thumping headache, feeling sick and swearing never to touch alcohol again. If only there were a way to prevent these terrible hangovers.

It isn’t uncommon for us to mix our drinks, maybe a beer in the pub before moving on to wine. Folk wisdom has something to say about this: “Beer before wine and you’ll feel fine; wine before beer and you’ll feel queer.” This idea is very prevalent and versions of it occur in many languages. In my native country, Germany, for example, we say: “Wein auf Bier, das rat’ ich Dir—Bier auf Wein, das lass’ sein.” This translates as: “Wine on beer, I’ll advise you to drink beer on wine.”

But it turns out that there is no truth to these sayings, as we’ve just demonstrated in our latest study, published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.

In some ways, hangovers are a mystery. We know they’re caused by drinking too much alcohol and that symptoms occur when blood alcohol concentrations drop back to zero. We know all too well what these symptoms are: headache, nausea, tiredness. We think their underlying causes include dehydration, the response of our immune system, and disturbances of our metabolism and hormones.

Hangovers cause us to be very unproductive. At the weekend, this might just mean lying in, feeling sorry for ourselves, watching TV instead of venturing out. But during the week it can mean missing work or study or performing poorly.

Little wonder, then, that we reach for anything that might reduce – or even prevent – a hangover. And with no effective hangover remedies, instead we rely on folk wisdom. Sometimes folk wisdom turns out to be wise, other times less so.

German volunteers

To look at whether the sayings around drinking were true and whether we could reduce our hangovers by drinking beer before wine, we carried out a study in Germany with 90 healthy volunteers, aged between 19 and 40.

We split our volunteers into three groups. The first group drank around two-and-a-half pints of lager followed by four large glasses of white wine. The second group drank the same amounts of alcohol, but in reverse order. Subjects in the third, control group consumed either only lager or only wine.

A week later, we switched participants in study groups one and two to the opposite drinking order. Control group subjects who drank only beer the first time around received only wine on the second study day, and vice versa. This way, the groups were not only compared with each other, but each participant was their own control, too.

While they were drinking, we asked our volunteers about their well-being at regular intervals and asked them to judge how drunk they felt on a scale of zero to ten at the end of each study day.

Before going to bed at the study site, we gave all our participants an amount of drinking water, tailored to their body weight. We kept all our volunteers under medical supervision overnight.

When they woke up, we asked our participants about their hangover and gave them a score from 0-56 on the so-called Acute Hangover Scale (yes, this exists) based on factors including thirst, fatigue, headache, dizziness, nausea, stomach ache, increased heart rate and loss of appetite.

Not the answer you were hoping for

You might find our results disappointing. We found that none of the three groups had a significantly different hangover score with different orders of alcoholic drinks. The folk wisdom doesn’t hold up to scrutiny.

Beer Before Wine And You'll Feel Fine? The order doesn’t matter. Slawomir Fajer/Shutterstock

Nor was there any way to predict how bad an individual’s hangover would be just from blood and urine tests, their age, sex, body weight, drinking habits or hangover frequency. The only way to tell how bad the morning after the night before would be, it seems, was how drunk someone felt or whether they were sick – there are clear red flags we should all pay attention to.

We can all agree that hangovers are very unpleasant. In a sense, they are nature’s way of trying to protect us from ourselves. Surely we shouldn’t repeat behaviour that makes us feel this terrible? Really, though, there’s only one sure-fire way to prevent a hangover: drink responsibly.The Conversation

About The Author

Kai Hensel, Senior Clinical Fellow, University of Cambridge

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Hangover Cure – A Quick Guide to Understanding and Beating Hangovers!

foodAuthor: Joey Cardillo
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Versatile Health
Label: Versatile Health
Publisher: Versatile Health
Manufacturer: Versatile Health

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Hangovers aren’t fun – no big surprise there...

Ever since I began drinking at the age of 21, I had a problem with hangovers, and one day I decided to put a stop to them. Three years ago, I put together a plan, one that would ultimately BEAT these wretched hangovers, and to my surprise, it worked! I have 10 awesome and 100% NATURAL & HEALTHY tips in this book that truly work at preventing hangovers. For the past 3 years, I have been hangover free, and I want to help others fight these horrible experiences.

The Hangover Cure – A Quick Guide to Understanding and Beating Hangovers is the real deal. These techniques really do work!!!

So give it a shot for yourself, what do you have to lose?




Cure Hangover: Exact Guide to Eliminating and Preventing Hangover

foodAuthor: Antonio Balmoral
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Have you ever woken up after a night of drinking with the worst headache and stomach pains? Most of us have been there and it is no fun. I have come up with solutions that are sure to help cure your hangover blues. Some even prevent that day after doom. With these key preventatives we can curb your hangover and even eliminate it. Try one or two of our suggestions or more of them if you so choose but you will definitely benefit from these secrets!




How To Drink Without Getting Drunk: A Report On How To Drink More Alcohol Without Getting Drunk, Getting Sick, Throwing Up and Preventing Hangovers - Buy It Now

foodAuthor: Viktor Gorski
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: There are many instances and situations where a person may wish to be able to drink more alcohol without getting drunk, or at least not get as drunk as their friends. In How To Drink Without Getting Drunk: A Report On How To Drink More Alcohol Without Getting Drunk, Getting Sick, Throwing Up and Preventing Hangovers. you will learn the tips, strategies, techniques and methods on the art of drinking alcohol.




food
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}