عذرا محبي القطط ، لكن الكلاب أذكى

عذرا محبي القطط ، لكن الكلاب أذكى
آكلات اللحوم وأدمغتها.
(الائتمان: جيريمي تيفورد / فاندربيلت)

يقول الباحثون إن الكلاب لديها خلايا عصبية أكثر بكثير في قشرة الدماغ - "خلايا رمادية صغيرة" مرتبطة بالتفكير والتخطيط والسلوك المعقد الذي يعتبر علامات مميزة للذكاء - من القطط.

"... تمتلك الكلاب القدرة البيولوجية على القيام بأشياء أكثر تعقيدًا ومرونة في حياتها مقارنة بالقطط التي يمكن أن تحققها."

"في هذه الدراسة ، كنا مهتمين بمقارنة أنواع مختلفة من الحيوانات آكلة اللحوم لمعرفة كيف أن أعداد الخلايا العصبية في أدمغتهم ترتبط بحجم أدمغتهم ، بما في ذلك عدد قليل من الأنواع المفضلة بما في ذلك القطط والكلاب والأسود والدببة البنية" ، تقول سوزانا هركلانو هوزيل ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس والعلوم البيولوجية في جامعة فاندربيلت ، طور طريقة لقياس عدد الخلايا العصبية في العقول بدقة.

بقدر ما تذهب الكلاب والقطط ، وجدت الدراسة أن الكلاب لديها حوالي 530 مليون الخلايا العصبية القشرية بينما القطط لديها حوالي 250 مليون. (يقارن ذلك بـ 16 بليون في الدماغ البشري.)

يشرح هيركولانو هوزيل: "أعتقد أن العدد المطلق من الخلايا العصبية التي يملكها الحيوان ، وخاصة في القشرة الدماغية ، يحدد ثراء حالته العقلية الداخلية وقدرته على التنبؤ بما هو على وشك الحدوث في بيئته بناءً على التجربة السابقة".

"أنا 100 في المئة شخص الكلب" ، وتضيف ، "ولكن ، مع هذا إخلاء ، فإن النتائج التي توصلنا إليها تعني لي أن الكلاب لديها القدرة البيولوجية للقيام بأشياء أكثر تعقيدا ومرونة في حياتهم من القطط يمكن. على الأقل ، لدينا الآن بعض الأحياء التي يمكن للناس استيعابها في مناقشاتهم حول من هو أكثر ذكاءً أو قططًا أو كلابًا ".

آكلات اللحوم هو نظام متنوع يتكون من أنواع 280 من الثدييات التي تحتوي جميعها على أسنان ومخالب تسمح لها بأكل حيوانات أخرى. اختار هيركيولانو-هوزيل وزملاؤها الحيوانات الكرنفورية للدراسة بسبب تنوعها ومجموعة كبيرة من أحجام الدماغ بالإضافة إلى حقيقة أنها تشمل كلا من الأنواع المستأنسة والبرية.

حلل الباحثون أدمغة واحدة أو اثنتين من العينات من كل نوع من أنواع الكرنفوريات الثمانية: النمس ، والنمس ، والراكون ، والقطة ، والكلب ، والضبع ، والأسد ، والدب البني.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


التوقعات مقابل الواقع

لقد توقعوا أن قياساتهم ستؤكد الفرضية السليمة بأن أدمغة الحيوانات آكلة اللحوم يجب أن تحتوي على عصبونات قشرية أكثر من الحيوانات العشبية التي تفترسها. وذلك لأن الصيد هو أكثر إلحاحا ، بالمعنى المعرفي ، مقارنة مع استراتيجية العاشبة الرئيسية لإيجاد الأمان في الأعداد الكبيرة.

ومع ذلك ، ثبت أن هذا ليس هو الحال. وقرر الباحثون أن نسبة الخلايا العصبية إلى حجم الدماغ في الحيوانات اللاحمة الصغيرة ومتوسطة الحجم كانت تقريبًا مماثلة لتلك الموجودة في العواشب ، مما يشير إلى أن هناك ضغطًا تطوريًا كبيرًا على الحيوانات العاشبة لتطوير قوة الدماغ للهروب من الحيوانات المفترسة هناك على الحيوانات آكلة اللحوم للقبض عليهم.

في الواقع ، بالنسبة إلى أكبر كرنيفوريان ، فإن نسبة حجم العصبون إلى الدماغ هي في الواقع أقل. ووجد الباحثون أن دماغ المسترد الذهبي يحتوي على خلايا عصبية أكثر من الضبع أو الأسد أو الدب البني ، على الرغم من أن المفترسات الأكبر لديها أدمغة تصل إلى ثلاثة أضعاف هذا الحجم.

الدب هو مثال متطرف. يبلغ حجم دماغه 10 أكبر من قطة الدماغ ، لكنه يحتوي على نفس العدد من الخلايا العصبية.

يقول هيركولانو هوزيل: "يعتبر تناول اللحوم إلى حد كبير بمثابة حل للمشكلة من حيث الطاقة ، ولكن في الماضي ، من الواضح أن اللحوم يجب أن تفرض توازنا دقيقا بين كمية الدماغ والجسم التي يمكن أن تتحملها الأنواع".

يتطلب الصيد الكثير من الطاقة ، خاصة بالنسبة للحيوانات المفترسة الكبيرة ، والفترات الفاصلة بين عمليات القتل الناجحة لا يمكن التنبؤ بها. وهذا يفسر لماذا تقضي حيوانات آكلة اللحوم الكبيرة مثل الاسود معظم وقتها في الراحة والنوم.

من حيث الطاقة ، فإن الدماغ هو العضو الأكثر تكلفة في الجسم ومتطلباته تتناسب مع عدد الخلايا العصبية. كما يحتاج الطاقة باستمرار. ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن كمية اللحم التي يمكن أن يتسبب فيها الصيادون الكبار في القتل والاستهلاك والطبيعة المتقطعة للتغذية يبدو أنها تحد من نمو دماغهم.

الراكون brainy

كما تتحدى نتائج الدراسة الرأي السائد بأن الحيوانات المستأنسة لها أدمغة أصغر من أدمغة عمومتها البرية. لم يتم قياس نسب حجم الدماغ إلى وزن الجسم للأنواع المحلية التي قاموا بتحليلها - النمس ، القطط ، والكلب - بطريقة مختلفة بشكل كبير عن تلك الخاصة بأقاربهم البرية - النمس ، والراكون ، والضبع ، والأسد ، والدب البني.

اكتشف التحليل أيضًا أن الراكون كان غريباً - على الجانب الخفي: يحزم العدد نفسه من الخلايا العصبية القشرية كالكلب في الدماغ بحجم قطة.

يقول هيركيولانو هيزل: "إن الراكون ليسوا كرنيفوران خاص بهم". "لديهم دماغ صغير نوعا ما ولكن لديهم العديد من الخلايا العصبية التي تتوقع أن تجدها في الرئيسيات ... وهذا كثير من العصبونات".

ووفقًا لعلماء الأعصاب ، فإن دراسة أدمغة الأنواع المختلفة تعلِّم درسًا مهمًا: "التنوع أمر هائل. ليس كل الأنواع تصنع بنفس الطريقة. نعم ، هناك أنماط يمكن التعرف عليها ، ولكن هناك العديد من الطرق التي وجدتها الطبيعة في وضع العقول معًا — ونحن نحاول معرفة الاختلاف الذي يحدث.

مصدر: جامعة فاندربيلت

قام الباحثون بالإبلاغ عن نتائجهم في المجلة الحدود في التشريح العصبي.

الباحثون الإضافيون الذين ساهموا في هذا العمل هم من Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro في البرازيل ؛ كلية راندولف ماكون جامعة كاليفورنيا ، كلية الطب ديفيس. جامعة الملك سعود بالمملكة العربية السعودية. وجامعة ويتواترسراند في جنوب إفريقيا.

التمويل جاء من مؤسسة James S. McDonnell؛ صندوق Schapiro للبحث العلمي في كلية راندولف ماكون. وكيل عمادة البحث العلمي بجامعة الملك سعود. المؤسسة الوطنية للبحوث في جنوب أفريقيا ؛ والمساهمين في تمويل الجماعي البرازيلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = intelligence in animals؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Sorry Cat Lovers, But Dogs Are Smarter

Sorry Cat Lovers, But Dogs Are Smarter
Carnivores and their brains.
(Credit:Jeremy Teaford/Vanderbilt)

Dogs have significantly more neurons in their cerebral cortex—”little gray cells” associated with thinking, planning, and complex behavior considered hallmarks of intelligence—than cats, researchers report.

“…dogs have the biological capability of doing much more complex and flexible things with their lives than cats can.”

“In this study, we were interested in comparing different species of carnivorans to see how the numbers of neurons in their brains relate to the size of their brains, including a few favorite species including cats and dogs, lions and brown bears,” says Suzana Herculano-Houzel, an associate professor of psychology and biological sciences at Vanderbilt University, who developed the method for accurately measuring the number of neurons in brains.

As far as dogs and cats go, the study found that dogs have about 530 million cortical neurons while cats have about 250 million. (That compares to 16 billion in the human brain.)

“I believe the absolute number of neurons an animal has, especially in the cerebral cortex, determines the richness of their internal mental state and their ability to predict what is about to happen in their environment based on past experience,” Herculano-Houzel explains.

“I’m 100 percent a dog person,” she adds, “but, with that disclaimer, our findings mean to me that dogs have the biological capability of doing much more complex and flexible things with their lives than cats can. At the least, we now have some biology that people can factor into their discussions about who’s smarter, cats or dogs.”

Carnivora is a diverse order that consists of 280 species of mammals all of which have teeth and claws that allow them to eat other animals. Herculano-Houzel and her collaborators picked carnivorans to study because of their diversity and large range of brain sizes as well as the fact that they include both domesticated and wild species.

The researchers analyzed the brains of one or two specimens from each of eight carnivoran species: ferret, mongoose, raccoon, cat, dog, hyena, lion, and brown bear.

Expectations vs. reality

They expected that their measurements would confirm the intuitive hypothesis that the brains of carnivores should have more cortical neurons than the herbivores they prey upon. That is because hunting is more demanding, cognitively speaking, compared to the herbivore’s primary strategy of finding safety in sheer numbers.

However, that proved not to be the case. The researchers determined that the ratio of neurons to brain size in small- and medium-sized carnivores was about the same as that of herbivores, suggesting that there is just as much evolutionary pressure on the herbivores to develop the brain power to escape from predators as there is on carnivores to catch them.

In fact, for the largest carnivorans the neuron-to-brain-size ratio is actually lower. They found that the brain of a golden retriever has more neurons than a hyena, lion, or brown bear, even though the bigger predators have brains up to three times as large.

The bear is an extreme example. Its brain is 10 times larger than a cat’s, but has about the same number of neurons.

“Meat eating is largely considered a problem-solver in terms of energy, but, in retrospect, it is clear that carnivory must impose a delicate balance between how much brain and body a species can afford,” says Herculano-Houzel.

Hunting requires a lot of energy, particularly for large predators, and the intervals between successful kills are unpredictable. That explains why large meat-eating carnivorans like lions spend most of their time resting and sleeping.

In terms of energy, the brain is the most expensive organ in the body and its requirements are proportional to the number of neurons. It also needs energy continuously. As a consequence, the quantity of meat that large hunters can kill and consume and the intermittent nature of feeding appears to limit their brain development.

Brainy raccoons

The study’s findings also challenge the prevailing view that domesticated animals have smaller brains than their wild cousins. The ratios of brain size to body weight of the domestic species they analyzed—ferret, cat, and dog—did not scale in a significantly different manner from those of their wild relatives—mongoose, raccoon, hyena, lion, and brown bear.

The analysis also discovered that the raccoon was an outlier—on the brainy side: It packs the same number of cortical neurons as a dog into a brain the size of a cat’s.

“Raccoons are not your typical carnivoran,” says Herculano-Houzel. “They have a fairly small brain but they have as many neurons as you would expect to find in a primate…and that’s a lot of neurons.”

According to the neuroscientist, studying the brains of different species teaches an important lesson: “Diversity is enormous. Not every species is made the same way. Yes, there are recognizable patterns, but there are multiple ways that nature has found of putting brains together—and we’re trying to figure out what difference that makes.”

Source: Vanderbilt University

The researchers report their findings in the journal Frontiers in Neuroanatomy.

Additional researchers who contributed to this work are from the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro in Brazil; Randolph-Macon College; the University of California, Davis School of Medicine; King Saud University in Saudi Arabia; and the University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa.

Funding came from the James S. McDonnell Foundation; the Schapiro Undergraduate Research Fund at Randolph-Macon College; the Vice Deanship of Research Chairs at the King Saud University; the National Research Foundation of South Africa; and Brazilian crowdfunding contributors.

Related Books:

Intelligence in Animals (The Earth, Its Wonders, Its Secrets)
petsAuthor: Editors of Reader's Digest
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Readers Digest
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

Alex & Me: How a Scientist and a Parrot Discovered a Hidden World of Animal Intelligence--and Formed a Deep Bond in the Process
petsAuthor: Irene Pepperberg
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Harper Perennial
List Price: $13.99

Buy Now

The Inner Life of Animals: Love, Grief, and Compassion―Surprising Observations of a Hidden World
petsAuthor: Peter Wohlleben
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Greystone Books
List Price: $24.95

Buy Now

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}