هل الكلاب حقا مشاعر؟

هل الكلاب حقا مشاعر؟شترستوك

إذا كنت تعيش مع كلب تعرفه فقط عندما يكون سعيدًا أو بائسًا ، أليس كذلك؟ بالطبع تفعل. حتى ال المجتمع العلمي ، يعترف الآن أن الكلاب لديها عواطف - حتى إذا كان العلماء لا يستطيعون قياس ما يواجهونه مباشرة.

كان لدى الناس روابط وثيقة مع الكلاب المستأنسة لعدة قرون. في 1764 Dictionnaire philosophiqueلاحظ فولتير: "يبدو أن الطبيعة أعطت الكلب للإنسان للدفاع عنه ولسرورته. ومن بين جميع الحيوانات ، فإن أكثرها إخلاصًا: إنه أفضل صديق يمكن أن يكون لديه.

أشارت البحوث وقد أظهرت مرارا وتكرارا يمكن أن يكون تأثير الحيوانات الأليفة تأثير إيجابي على حياتنا. في الواقع ، أ دراسة من 975 البالغين الذين يملكون الكلاب ، وجدوا أنه في أوقات الاضطراب العاطفي ، كان معظم الناس أكثر عرضة للالتفات إلى كلابهم من أمهاتهم ، أو آباءهم ، أو أشقاءهم ، أو أصدقائهم ، أو أطفالهم.

ليس من المستغرب إذن أن الكلاب هي الآن الحيوان الأكثر استخدامًا في العلاج. يتم استخدام الزملاء الكلاب لدينا بشكل متزايد كمشاركين في مجموعة متنوعة من برامج الصحة العقلية - تقدم الرفقة ، والجمعيات سعيدة والحب غير المشروط.

في المملكة المتحدة ، الحيوانات الأليفة حسب العلاج (PAT) لديها أكثر من 5,000 النشطة PAT كلاب ، والتي تلبي بعض الأشخاص 130,000 في الأسبوع. في الولايات المتحدة ، فإن نادي بيت الكلب الأمريكي لديه برنامج علاج الكلب الذي يعترف ست منظمات الكلب العلاج الطبيعي ويمنح ألقاب رسمية للكلاب الذين عملوا على تحسين حياة الناس الذين قاموا بزيارتها.

الكلاب التي تلتئم

ومن المسلم به عموما سيغموند فرويد كما رائدة عرضية من العلاج بمساعدة الكلاب. خلال جلسات العلاج النفسي في 1930s ، بقيت تشاو تشاو المسمى "جوفي" بجانبه في المكتب. لاحظ فرويد أن المرضى أصبحوا أكثر استرخاءًا وانفتاحًا عندما كان جوفي حاضراوساعدته على بناء علاقة.

لكن البداية الرسمية لل العلاج بمساعدة الحيوان يرتبط عموما بالحرب العالمية الثانية ، عندما أ دعا يوركشاير جحر سموكي رافق العريف ويليام لين عند زيارة مستشفيات الخدمة في غينيا الجديدة. رفع وجودها أرواح الجنود الجرحى.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تقديم يد المساعدة (مخلب). شترستوك

على الرغم من كل هذا ، لم يكن حتى 1960s أول دراسة حالة موثقة لكلب يعمل "كمعالج". الطبيب النفسي الأمريكي بوريس م. ليفنسون أكد أن وجود كلبه جينغلز أضاف "بعدًا جديدًا للعلاج النفسي للأطفال". على الرغم من معارضة الأقران ، دافع ليفنسون بقوة عن استخدام الكلاب والوسائل العلاجية.

كيف تشعر الكلاب

ولكن في حين لا يوجد شك في ذلك الكلاب جيدة جدا في فهمناللأسف ليس العكس هو الصحيح دائما. مثال كلاسيكي على هذا هو عندما يكون شخص ما قد "حادث" في المنزل ، ويعتقد أصحاب الكلاب أن الحيوانات الأليفة يبدو مذنبا. ولكن بالنسبة للكلب المعني ، فإن هذه النظرة هي مجرد خضوع ، وهي طريقة للكلب ليقول "لا تؤذيني" بدلاً من الاعتراف بالذنب.

من الصعب جداً على البشر أن يقنعوا أنفسهم بأن الدماغ الكلبي غير قادر على فهم مفاهيم الصواب والخطأ - ولكن من دون هذه القدرة ، لا يمكن الشعور بالذنب. الكلب الذي يبدو مذنبا هو ببساطة خائف من رد فعلك على الموقف - عادة بناء على تجربة الماضي.

هل الكلاب حقا مشاعر؟أفضل المشي على الإطلاق! شترستوك

تحدث بعض الصعوبات الرئيسية التي تحدث بين الكلاب وأصحابها بسبب عدم قدرة البشر على قراءة حيواناتهم الأليفة حركات الجسم التي توصل بها المعلومات بشكل صحيح. ادمج هذا مع الفكرة البشرية القائلة بأن الكلاب تفهم المفاهيم المجردة ويمكنها استخدام العقل في القضايا المعقدة ، والمشهد محدد للمشاكل.

هورم هزلي

طريقة أخرى لمعرفة كيف تشعر الحيوانات هي النظر إلى بيئتها الهرمونية. وقد أظهرت الدراسات أنه عندما تكون الكلاب مسدودة من قبل أصحابها لديهم مستويات متزايدة من أوكسيتوسين. من بين الوظائف الأخرى ، يعتقد أن هذا الهرمون يساعد على الاسترخاء. يساعد على تشكيل الروابط بين الأم والطفل - وبين الحيوانات الأليفة والمالك.

وعلى الرغم من أننا لا نستطيع أن نعرف على وجه اليقين كيف يشعر الكلب خلال الأنشطة الممتعة ، يبدو من المعقول أن الأوكسيتوسين ينتج أحاسيس مماثلة في الكلاب لتلك التي يختبرها البشر - مما يوحي بأنهم يشعرون بالعاطفة تجاه أصحابها والتعلق بها.

وبالمثل ، تظهر الكلاب التي هي في ظروف غير سارة مستويات مرتفعة من هرمون التوتر ، الكورتيزول. يتم ترك واحدة من الحالات التي تنتج هذه الاستجابة للضغط وحدها لأي فترة من الزمن. الكلاب هي الحيوانات حزمة و حقا بحاجة إلى الشركة. نادرا ما يكون الكلب الانفرادي كلبًا سعيدًا - وهذا شيء يجب على جميع مالكي الكلاب أخذه بعين الاعتبار عند التخطيط لحياتهم.

ما يبرهن على ذلك هو أنه بالنسبة للكلاب والناس أن يعيشوا معاً وأن يعملوا معاً - وأن يسعد الطرفان بذلك - فإن فهم الحالة العاطفية لبعضنا البعض أمر حيوي. حتى لو كان كلاب وناس لا يفهمون بعضهم البعض بشكل كامل ، يبدو من الواضح أن كل نوع ضروري لرفاهية الآخرين ويمكننا أن نساعد بعضنا البعض ليكون أكثر سعادة وصحة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

يان هوول ، محاضر في علم الأحياء ، جامعة كيل ودانييل ألين ، عالم الحيوان الجغرافي ، جامعة كيل

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = understanding dogs؛ maxresults = 3}

المحادثة

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

أولوياتي كانت خاطئة
أولوياتي كانت خاطئة
by تيد دبليو باكستر

Do Dogs Really Have Feelings?

Do Dogs Really Have Feelings?shutterstock

If you live with a dog you just know when it’s happy or miserable, don’t you? Of course you do. Even the scientific community, now admits that dogs have emotions – even if scientists can’t directly measure what they are experiencing.

People have had a close bond with domesticated dogs for centuries. In his 1764 Dictionnaire philosophique, Voltaire observed: “It seems that nature has given the dog to man for his defence and for his pleasure. Of all the animals it is the most faithful: it is the best friend man can have.”

Research has shown time and time again the positive impact pet ownership can have on our lives. Indeed, a study of 975 dog-owning adults, found that in times of emotional distress most people were more likely to turn to their dogs than their mothers, fathers, siblings, best friends, or children.

It’s not surprising then that dogs are now the most commonly used animal in therapy. Our canine pals are being increasingly used as participants in a variety of mental health programmes – offering companionship, happy associations and unconditional love.

In the UK, Pets As Therapy (PAT) has more than 5,000 active PAT dogs, which meet some 130,000 people a week. In the US, the American Kennel Club has a Therapy Dog Program which recognises six national therapy dog organisations and awards official titles to dogs who have worked to improve the lives of the people they have visited.

Dogs who heal

Sigmund Freud is generally acknowledged as the accidental pioneer of canine-assisted therapy. During his psychotherapy sessions in the 1930s, a chow chow called Jofi stayed alongside him in the office. Freud noticed that patients became more relaxed and open when Jofi was present, and it helped him to build a rapport.

But the official beginning of animal-assisted therapy is generally linked to World War II, when a Yorkshire terrier called Smoky accompanied corporal William Lynne when visiting service hospitals in New Guinea. Her presence lifted the spirits of wounded soldiers.

Offering a helping hand (paw). Shutterstock

Despite all this, it was not until the 1960s that the first documented case study of a dog working as a “co-therapist” was made. The US psychotherapist Boris M. Levinson maintained that the presence of his dog Jingles added a “new dimension to child psychotherapy”. Despite opposition from peers, Levinson strongly defended the use of dogs as therapeutic aids.

How dogs feel

But while there is no question that dogs are very good at understanding us, sadly the reverse is not always so true. A classic example of this is when someone has had a little “accident” in the house and dog owners think that their pet looks guilty. But for the dog in question, that look is purely submission and is a way for the dog to say “don’t hurt me” rather than an admission of guilt.

It is very difficult for humans to convince themselves that the canine brain is not able to understand the concepts of right and wrong – but without that ability it is not possible to experience guilt. The dog who is looking guilty is simply afraid of your reaction to the situation – usually based on past experience.

Do Dogs Really Have Feelings?Best walk ever! Shutterstock

Some of the main difficulties that happen between dogs and their owners are caused by a humans inability to read their pet’s body language correctly. Combine this with the human notion that dogs understand abstract concepts and can use reason on complex issues, and the scene is set for problems.

Doggy hormones

Another way to tell how animals feel is to look at their hormonal environment. Studies have shown that when dogs are stroked by their owners they have increased levels of oxytocin. Among other functions, this hormone is thought to help relaxation. It helps to form bonds between mother and child – and between pet and owner.

So although we can’t know for sure how a dog feels during pleasurable activities, it seems reasonable that oxytocin produces similar sensations in dogs to those that humans experience – suggesting that they are feeling affection towards and attachment to their owners.

Similarly, dogs that are in unpleasant circumstances show raised levels of the stress hormone, cortisol. One of the situations that produces this stress response is being left alone for any length of time. Dogs are pack animals and really need to have company. A solitary dog is rarely a happy dog – and this is something that all dog owners should take into account when planning their lives.

What this all shows is that for dogs and people to live together and work together – and for both parties to be happy about it – an understanding of each other’s emotional state is vital. Even if dogs and people don’t completely understand each other, it seems clear that each species is essential to the other’s well-being and we can help each other to be happier and healthier.

About The Author

Jan Hoole, Lecturer in Biology, Keele University and Daniel Allen, Animal Geographer, Keele University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=understanding dogs;maxresults=3}

The Conversation

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

Emily Spiers
It is no secret that women are still underrepresented in cinema – whether they work behind or in front of the camera.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.