Les chiens ont-ils vraiment des sentiments?

Les chiens ont-ils vraiment des sentiments?shutterstock

Si vous vivez avec un chien que vous savez juste quand il est heureux ou misérable, n'est-ce pas? Bien sûr, vous le faites. Même le communauté scientifique, admet maintenant cette les chiens ont des émotions - même si les scientifiques ne peuvent pas mesurer directement ce qu’ils vivent.

Les gens ont un lien étroit avec les chiens domestiques depuis des siècles. Dans son 1764 Dictionnaire philosophiqueVoltaire a observé: "Il semble que la nature ait donné le chien à l'homme pour sa défense et pour son plaisir. De tous les animaux, c'est le plus fidèle: c'est le meilleur ami que l'homme puisse avoir. "

Recherche a montré à maintes reprises l'impact positif que la possession d'animaux de compagnie peut avoir sur nos vies. En effet, un étude des adultes 975 possédant des chiens, ont constaté que dans les moments de détresse émotionnelle, la plupart des personnes étaient plus susceptibles de se tourner vers leurs chiens que leurs mères, pères, frères et sœurs, meilleurs amis ou enfants.

Il n’est donc pas surprenant que les chiens soient maintenant les animaux les plus utilisés en thérapie. Nos amis canins sont de plus en plus utilisés en tant que participants à divers programmes de santé mentale - offrant de la camaraderie, des associations heureuses et un amour inconditionnel.

Au Royaume-Uni, Pets As Therapy (PAT) a plus que des chiens PAT 5,000 actifs, qui rencontrent des personnes 130,000 par semaine. Aux États-Unis, l'American Kennel Club a un Programme de chien thérapeutique qui reconnaît six organisations nationales de chiens de thérapie et décerne des titres officiels aux chiens qui ont travaillé pour améliorer la vie des personnes qu’ils ont visitées.

Chiens qui guérissent

Sigmund Freud est généralement reconnu comme le pionnier accidentel de thérapie canine. Au cours de ses séances de psychothérapie dans les 1930, un chow chow appelé Jofi est resté à ses côtés au bureau. Freud a remarqué que les patients devenaient plus détendus et ouverts quand Jofi était présent, et cela l'a aidé à établir un rapport.

Mais le début officiel de thérapie assistée par les animaux est généralement liée à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, quand un Yorkshire terrier appelé Smoky accompagné du caporal William Lynne lors de la visite des hôpitaux de service en Nouvelle-Guinée. Sa présence a soulevé les esprits des soldats blessés.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Offrant un coup de main (patte). Shutterstock

En dépit de tout cela, ce n’est qu’aux 1960 que la première étude de cas documentée d’un chien travaillant en tant que "co-thérapeute" a été réalisée. Le psychothérapeute américain Boris M. Levinson a soutenu que la présence de son chien Jingles a ajouté une "nouvelle dimension à la psychothérapie infantile". Malgré l’opposition de ses pairs, Levinson a fortement défendu l’utilisation de chiens comme aides thérapeutiques.

Comment les chiens se sentent

Mais s'il n'y a pas de doute que les chiens sont très bons pour nous comprendre, malheureusement l'inverse n'est pas toujours aussi vrai. Un exemple classique de ceci est lorsque quelqu'un a eu un petit "accident" dans la maison et que les propriétaires de chiens pensent que leur animal de compagnie semble coupable. Mais pour le chien en question, ce regard est purement une soumission et est un moyen pour le chien de dire "ne me faites pas de mal" plutôt qu'un aveu de culpabilité.

Il est très difficile pour les humains de se convaincre que le cerveau canin n'est pas capable de comprendre les concepts de bien et de mal - mais sans cette capacité, il n'est pas possible de se sentir coupable. Le chien qui a l'air coupable a simplement peur de votre réaction à la situation - généralement basée sur l'expérience passée.

Les chiens ont-ils vraiment des sentiments?Meilleure promenade jamais! Shutterstock

Certaines des principales difficultés rencontrées entre les chiens et leurs propriétaires sont causées par l'incapacité des humains à lire leurs animaux le langage du corps correctement. Combinez cela avec la notion humaine selon laquelle les chiens comprennent des concepts abstraits et peuvent utiliser la raison sur des problèmes complexes, et la scène est prête pour des problèmes.

Hormones doggy

Une autre façon de dire comment les animaux se sentent est de regarder leur environnement hormonal. Des études ont montré que lorsque les chiens sont caressés par leurs propriétaires ils ont augmenté les niveaux de l'ocytocine. Parmi d'autres fonctions, on pense que cette hormone aide à la relaxation. Il aide à former des liens entre la mère et l'enfant - et entre animal et propriétaire.

Donc, bien que nous ne puissions pas savoir avec certitude comment un chien se sent pendant les activités agréables, il semble raisonnable que l'ocytocine produise des sensations similaires chez les chiens à celles des humains - suggérant qu'ils éprouvent de l'affection envers leurs propriétaires.

De même, les chiens qui se trouvent dans des conditions désagréables présentent des niveaux élevés d'hormone de stress, le cortisol. L'une des situations qui produit cette réponse au stress est laissée seule pendant un certain temps. Les chiens sont des bêtes de somme et vraiment besoin d'avoir de la compagnie. Un chien solitaire est rarement un chien heureux - et c'est quelque chose que tous les propriétaires de chiens devraient prendre en compte lors de la planification de leur vie.

Tout cela montre que pour que les chiens et les personnes vivent ensemble et travaillent ensemble - et que les deux parties soient contentes - il est essentiel de comprendre l’état émotionnel des uns et des autres. Même si les chiens et les gens ne se comprennent pas complètement, il semble clair que chaque espèce est essentielle au bien-être de l'autre et nous pouvons nous aider mutuellement à être plus heureux et en meilleure santé.

A propos de l'auteur

Jan Hoole, Maître de conférences en biologie, Université Keele et Daniel Allen, géographe animalier, Université Keele

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = comprendre les chiens; maxresults = 3}

La Conversation

Do Dogs Really Have Feelings?

Do Dogs Really Have Feelings?shutterstock

If you live with a dog you just know when it’s happy or miserable, don’t you? Of course you do. Even the scientific community, now admits that dogs have emotions – even if scientists can’t directly measure what they are experiencing.

People have had a close bond with domesticated dogs for centuries. In his 1764 Dictionnaire philosophique, Voltaire observed: “It seems that nature has given the dog to man for his defence and for his pleasure. Of all the animals it is the most faithful: it is the best friend man can have.”

Research has shown time and time again the positive impact pet ownership can have on our lives. Indeed, a study of 975 dog-owning adults, found that in times of emotional distress most people were more likely to turn to their dogs than their mothers, fathers, siblings, best friends, or children.

It’s not surprising then that dogs are now the most commonly used animal in therapy. Our canine pals are being increasingly used as participants in a variety of mental health programmes – offering companionship, happy associations and unconditional love.

In the UK, Pets As Therapy (PAT) has more than 5,000 active PAT dogs, which meet some 130,000 people a week. In the US, the American Kennel Club has a Therapy Dog Program which recognises six national therapy dog organisations and awards official titles to dogs who have worked to improve the lives of the people they have visited.

Dogs who heal

Sigmund Freud is generally acknowledged as the accidental pioneer of canine-assisted therapy. During his psychotherapy sessions in the 1930s, a chow chow called Jofi stayed alongside him in the office. Freud noticed that patients became more relaxed and open when Jofi was present, and it helped him to build a rapport.

But the official beginning of animal-assisted therapy is generally linked to World War II, when a Yorkshire terrier called Smoky accompanied corporal William Lynne when visiting service hospitals in New Guinea. Her presence lifted the spirits of wounded soldiers.

Offering a helping hand (paw). Shutterstock

Despite all this, it was not until the 1960s that the first documented case study of a dog working as a “co-therapist” was made. The US psychotherapist Boris M. Levinson maintained that the presence of his dog Jingles added a “new dimension to child psychotherapy”. Despite opposition from peers, Levinson strongly defended the use of dogs as therapeutic aids.

How dogs feel

But while there is no question that dogs are very good at understanding us, sadly the reverse is not always so true. A classic example of this is when someone has had a little “accident” in the house and dog owners think that their pet looks guilty. But for the dog in question, that look is purely submission and is a way for the dog to say “don’t hurt me” rather than an admission of guilt.

It is very difficult for humans to convince themselves that the canine brain is not able to understand the concepts of right and wrong – but without that ability it is not possible to experience guilt. The dog who is looking guilty is simply afraid of your reaction to the situation – usually based on past experience.

Do Dogs Really Have Feelings?Best walk ever! Shutterstock

Some of the main difficulties that happen between dogs and their owners are caused by a humans inability to read their pet’s body language correctly. Combine this with the human notion that dogs understand abstract concepts and can use reason on complex issues, and the scene is set for problems.

Doggy hormones

Another way to tell how animals feel is to look at their hormonal environment. Studies have shown that when dogs are stroked by their owners they have increased levels of oxytocin. Among other functions, this hormone is thought to help relaxation. It helps to form bonds between mother and child – and between pet and owner.

So although we can’t know for sure how a dog feels during pleasurable activities, it seems reasonable that oxytocin produces similar sensations in dogs to those that humans experience – suggesting that they are feeling affection towards and attachment to their owners.

Similarly, dogs that are in unpleasant circumstances show raised levels of the stress hormone, cortisol. One of the situations that produces this stress response is being left alone for any length of time. Dogs are pack animals and really need to have company. A solitary dog is rarely a happy dog – and this is something that all dog owners should take into account when planning their lives.

What this all shows is that for dogs and people to live together and work together – and for both parties to be happy about it – an understanding of each other’s emotional state is vital. Even if dogs and people don’t completely understand each other, it seems clear that each species is essential to the other’s well-being and we can help each other to be happier and healthier.

About The Author

Jan Hoole, Lecturer in Biology, Keele University and Daniel Allen, Animal Geographer, Keele University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=understanding dogs;maxresults=3}

The Conversation

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

Emily Spiers
It is no secret that women are still underrepresented in cinema – whether they work behind or in front of the camera.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.