أسباب الدهشة نحن نحب الفن

أسباب الدهشة نحن نحب الفن
بيار بونار ( ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

"لماذا يحب الناس بيير بونار كثيراً؟" يسأل الناقد الفني غارديان أدريان سيرل استعراضه من العرض الحالي للرسام في لندن تيت مودرن. هناك أسباب واضحة: لونه الغني ، نوره الدافئ ، حميته الإنسانية.

لكنني أقترح أن نحب بونارد بدرجة أقل من أجل الانسجام (الذي يجده سيرل في كثير من الأحيان أكثر من اللازم) من التنافر التصويري غير المستقر. المثير للدهشة ، هو ما هو محسوس غير سارة أو التشويش على عمل بونارد الذي يدير الرسم الخاص به.

أنا فنان يستخدم العلم والفلسفة لفهم كيف يؤثر الفن علينا. لقد قادني عملي إلى الاعتقاد بأن الفن أكثر إثارة عندما يخلق حالات من الصراع النفسي أو الارتباك أو التنافر. فيما يلي ثلاث طرق يمكننا رؤيتها في عمل بونارد.

ما هيا؟

الصراع الأول الذي أوقعه بونار على حواسنا يأتي من استخدامه لما أسميه "عدم التحديد البصري". يحدث عدم التحديد البصري عندما يتم تقديمنا بشيء يتحدى الاعتراف الفوري. لقد شهدنا جميعًا هذا عندما نرى ، على سبيل المثال ، شكلًا غامضًا في زاوية غرفة قد تكون قطة أو حقيبة. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من التحقيق لإرضاء فضولنا.

إن لوحات بونار مليئة بمثل هذه اللحظات ، التي تثيرها مقاطع من الطلاء تشير إلى شيء ما ، أو تتحول إلى شيء آخر ، أو تقاوم التصنيف تمامًا. إذا نظرنا إلى The Still Life مع بوكيه أوف فلورز (أدناه) فإن الكتاب ، المزهرية والجدول كلها سهلة القراءة. ولكن ما هو في الفضاء وراء؟ ربما ظهر كرسي أو باب ، بعض المنسوجات ، شخصية بشرية في أقصى اليمين. من الصعب التأكد.

لا تزال الحياة مع باقة من الزهور أو فينوس القيرواني (الأسباب المدهشة أننا نحب الفن)لا تزال الحياة مع باقة من الزهور أو فينوس من Cyrene ، 1930 ، زيت على قماش ، 600 x 1303 mm ، Kunstmuseum Basel. الصورة مجاملة من تيت مودرن

يتم تحديد عدم التحديد البصري على توقع أن تحتوي الصور على كائنات يمكن التعرف عليها. عندما يتم إحباط هذا التوقع ، فإننا نخضع لدرجة من التنافر المعرفي التي قد تكون محبطة ، أو حتى غير سارة. لكن العمل الفني غير المحدد لا يجب أن يكون أقل قوة لذلك.

لقد تعاونت مع عالم أعصاب ، ألوميت اشايلدراسة تأثير أعمال فنية غير محددة على الدماغ. قارنا لوحات غير محددة من الألغام على اللوحات التي كانت متشابهة بصريا ولكن تحتوي على أشياء يمكن التعرف عليها. لقد وجدنا أن الأشخاص الذين يقضون وقتًا أطول في النظر إلى اللوحة ، يحاولون تحديد ما يصوره ، كلما صنفوه على أنه أكثر قوة. يبدو أن القوة الجمالية مرتبطة بطريقة ما بغموض إدراكي.

تعارضات اللون

والطريقة الثانية التي يستحضر بها بونارد التنافر هي من خلال استخدامه للون. الألوان التكميلية تكمن في عكس بعضها البعض على الطيف. الأحمر ، على سبيل المثال ، يكمل اللون الأزرق بينما البنفسجي مكمل. وبسبب الطريقة التي تتم بها معالجة الضوء بالعينين والدماغ ، فإن الألوان المتممة - عند وضعها بالقرب من بعضها - تكون ملائمة لجر العينين كما في الرسم التجريدي أدناه.

الدائرة ، الغواش على الورق ، 2015. (الأسباب المدهشة أننا نحب الفن)الدائرة ، الغواش على الورق ، 2015. روبرت بيبريل ، 2019

غالباً ما يستغل بونار هذا التأثير بطرق دقيقة ومعقدة. في Nude in the Bath of 1936-8 ، نرى خطوطًا من التزاحم الرمادي الرمادي مع اللون الوردي المحروق في جلد السباح ، وقطعة كبيرة من البنفسج مجاورة لصفر عميق في الجزء العلوي الأيمن. في العديد من لوحات بونارد ، تؤدي اشتباكات اللون المكمّل ، إلى جانب الطلاء المزخرف بشكل صاخب ، إلى تحريك السطح وجعل عيوننا ترقص على لحن متضارب.

بيير بونار ، عراة في الحمام (نو دانس لو باين) (الأسباب المدهشة أننا نحب الفن)بيير بونار ، عارية في الحمام (Nu dans le bain) ، 1936-8. طلاء زيت على قماش ، 930 x 1470 mm ، Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris / Roger-Viollet. صورة courtey من تيت مودرن

كما يستغل بونارد ظاهرة بصرية أخرى يطلق عليها العلماء equiluminance. إذا قمنا بتحويل اللوحة التجريدية إلى أحادية اللون ، كما هو مذكور أدناه ، يختفي التأثير الاهتزازي الزائل ، وكذلك يفعل كل شيء.

دائرة ، نسخة أحادية اللون. (الأسباب المدهشة أننا نحب الفن)دائرة ، نسخة أحادية اللون. روبرت بيبريل ، 2019

بينما تختلف الدائرة وخلفيتها بشكل عنيف في النسخة الملونة ، فإن مستوى الضوء القادم من كل منطقة يساوي. هذا يخلط أجزاء من الدماغ التي تقوم بمعالجة اللون والإضاءة.

عارية في الحمام (أحادية اللون). (الأسباب المدهشة أننا نحب الفن)عارية في الحمام (أحادية اللون). روبرت بيبريل من بيير بونار

إذا نظرنا الآن إلى لوحة الاستحمام في أحادية اللون ، فإننا نرى أن بونار استخدم أيضًا درجات متساوية. في هذا الإصدار تبدو البشرة أكثر اتساعًا ويتم تقليل الصدام الأصفر البنفسجي إلى تماثل رمادي. يضع بونارد حواسنا من اللون والضوء في صراع.

استحالة منطقية

طريقة ثالثة بونارد يصور حواسنا هي في الواقع سمة من سمات جميع الفن التمثيلي ، على الرغم من أن بونارد يستغلها بمهارة استثنائية. تحتوي اللوحات التصويرية على استحالة منطقية: نرى شيئًا واحدًا (اللوحة) وهو شيء آخر في آن واحد (ما يصوره).

بالنظر إلى العاري في الحمام ، نرى امرأة ترقد في حوض من الماء و ورقة قماش ممسوكة بالطلاء. إننا نحافظ على هذين الواقعين منفصلين وموحدين في أذهاننا ، على الرغم من التناقض الذي ينطوي عليه ذلك.

في ورقة الزوار لقد بحثت في هذا التوتر بين الطبقات المادية والتمثيلية في الأعمال الفنية. لقد أوضحت كيف تساهم الثنائيات والتوترات والتناقضات في الإثارة والحيرة التي يمكننا تجربتها مع الفن.

على سبيل المثال ، يميل بونارد ، مثل العديد من الرسامين المعاصرين ، إلى تسليط الضوء على "المادة" للدهان بالطريقة التي يطبقها - في كرات غليظة. في Still Life with Bouquet يساهم هذا في ضباب عدم التعيين. في Nud in the Bath يمكننا أن نقرأ dabs الصفراء على الأرض إلى اليمين على حد سواء بتلات من الطلاء و كما بريق من أشعة الشمس.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، فالديمار يانوشكزاك ، في استعراضه للبرنامجيراهن بونار على خبثه الخشن والمربك للأشياء والتشريح (بالمصادفة ، لا يوافق أيضًا على عدم تحديده البصري). لكن بونارد كان أي شيء غير كفؤ كرسام. إن غفوته المتعمدة تزيد من التنافر بين الأشكال التي من المفترض أن نراها وتلك التي نراها بالفعل.

قد يبدو من المستغرب أن التنافر يمكن أن يكون مصدرًا للقدرة الجمالية ، نظرًا لأننا غالبًا ما نربط الفن بالجمال والسعادة. لكن لوحات بونار ، في أفضل حالاتها ، تثير حالة ذهنية نادرة: نحن مرتبكون في وقت واحد بشكل ملموس ، وتهتز حواسنا ، ونكون متناقضين معًا. بينما في ظروف أخرى ، قد يجعلنا مثل هذا الهجوم نجاة الميل ، فنحن نحتفظ بالفن.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

روبرت بيبريل ، أستاذ ، جامعة كارديف متروبوليتان

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ Keywords = Pierre Bonnard؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Surprising Reasons We Love Art

creativity

The Surprising Reasons We Love Art
Pierre Bonnard  (1867–1947). Wikimedia Commons

“Why do people love Pierre Bonnard so much?” asks The Guardian’s art critic Adrian Searle in his review of the painter’s current show at London’s Tate Modern. There are obvious reasons: his rich colour, his warm light, his human intimacy.

But I suggest we love Bonnard less for his harmoniousness (which Searle often finds too lovely) than his unsettling pictorial dissonance. Surprisingly, it is what is perceptually unpleasant or jarring about Bonnard’s work that powers his painting.

I am an artist who uses science and philosophy to understand how art affects us. My work has led me to think that art is most exciting when it creates states of psychological conflict, confusion or dissonance. Here’s three ways we can see this in Bonnard’s work.

What is it?

The first conflict inflicted by Bonnard on our senses comes from his use of what I call “visual indeterminacy”. Visual indeterminacy occurs when we are presented with something that defies immediate recognition. We have all experienced this when, for example, seeing a vague shape in the corner of a room that might be a cat or a bag. Further inquiry is often needed to satisfy our curiosity.

Bonnard’s paintings are full of such moments, evoked by passages of paint that suggest one thing, turn out to be another, or resist classification altogether. If we look at Still Life with Bouquet of Flowers (below) the book, vase and table are all pretty readable. But what is in the space behind? Perhaps a chair back or a door, some textiles, a human figure on the far right. It’s hard to be sure.

Still Life with Bouquet of Flowers or Venus of Cyrene (the surprising reasons we love art)Still Life with Bouquet of Flowers or Venus of Cyrene, 1930, Oil paint on canvas, 600 x 1303 mm, Kunstmuseum Basel. Image courtesy of Tate Modern

Visual indeterminacy trades on the expectation that pictures contain recognisable objects. When this expectation is thwarted we undergo a degree of cognitive dissonance that may be frustrating, or even unpleasant. But an indeterminate artwork need not be any less powerful for that.

I collaborated with a neuroscientist, Alumit Ishai, to study the effect of indeterminate artworks on the brain. We compared indeterminate paintings of mine to paintings that were visually similar but contained recognisable objects. We found the longer people spent looking at a painting, trying to determine what it depicted, the more powerful they rated it as being. It seems aesthetic power is somehow bound up with perceptual ambiguity.

Colour conflicts

The second way Bonnard evokes dissonance is through his use of colour. Complementary colours lie opposite one another on the spectrum. Red, for example, complements blue while yellow complements violet. Because of the way light is processed by the eyes and brain, complementary colours – when placed in close proximity – are apt to jar the eyes as in the abstract painting below.

Circle, gouache on paper, 2015. (the surprising reasons we love art)Circle, gouache on paper, 2015. Robert Pepperell, 2019

Bonnard frequently exploits this effect in subtle and complex ways. In Nude in the Bath of 1936-8, we see streaks of blue-grey jostling with burnt sienna pinks in the bather’s skin, and a large patch of violet neighbouring a deep yellow in the upper right. In many of Bonnard’s paintings the clashes of complementary colour, along with the noisily textured paint, animate the surface and make our eyes dance to a discordant tune.

Pierre Bonnard, Nude in the Bath (Nu dans le bain) (the surprising reasons we love art)Pierre Bonnard, Nude in the Bath (Nu dans le bain), 1936-8. Oil paint on canvas, 930 x 1470 mm, Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris/ Roger-Viollet. Image courtsey of Tate Modern

Bonnard also exploits another optical phenomenon, which scientists call equiluminance. If we convert the abstract painting to monochrome, as below, the vivid vibratory effect disappears, but so does everything.

Circle, monochrome version.  (the surprising reasons we love art)Circle, monochrome version. Robert Pepperell, 2019

While the circle and in its background are violently different in the coloured version, the level of light coming from each area is equal. This confuses the parts of the brain that process colour and luminance.

Nude in the Bath (monochrome). (the surprising reasons we love art)Nude in the Bath (monochrome). Robert Pepperell from Pierre Bonnard original

If we now look at the bathing painting in monochrome, we see that Bonnard also used equiluminant hues. In this version the skin looks much flatter and the yellow-violet clash is reduced to a grey uniformity. Bonnard is throwing our senses of colour and light into conflict.

A logical impossibility

A third way Bonnard piques our senses is actually a feature of all representational art, although Bonnard exploits it with exceptional skill. Figurative paintings contain a logical impossibility: we see one thing (the painting) which is simultaneously another thing (what it depicts).

Looking at Nude in the Bath we see a woman lying in a tub of water and a sheet of canvas dabbed with paint. We keep these two realities both separate and unified in our minds, despite the paradox this implies.

In a recent paper I investigated this tension between the material and representational layers in artworks. I showed how dichotomies, tensions or contradictions contribute to the excitement and puzzlement we can experience with art.

For example, Bonnard, like many modernist painters, tends to highlight the “material-ness” of the paint by the way he applies it – in textured globs. In the Still Life with Bouquet this contributes to the fog of indeterminacy. In the Nude in the Bath we can read the yellow dabs on the floor to the right as both petals of paint and as sparkles of sunlight.

Meanwhile, Waldemar Januszczak, in his review of the show, berates Bonnard for his clumsy and awkward outlining of objects and anatomy (incidentally, he also disapproves of his visual indeterminacy). But Bonnard was anything but inept as a draughtsman. His deliberate gaucheness heightens the dissonance between the forms we are supposed to be seeing and those we actually see.

It might seem surprising that dissonance could be a source of aesthetic power, given we often associate art with beauty and pleasantness. But Bonnard’s paintings, at their best, induce a rare state of mind: we are at once perceptually confused, our senses are assailed and we are cognitively conflicted. While in other circumstances such an onslaught might make us run a mile, with art we are held transfixed.The Conversation

About The Author

Robert Pepperell, Professor, Cardiff Metropolitan University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Pierre Bonnard;maxresults=3}

creativity
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}