لماذا الانتقام هو طبيعي فقط

لماذا الانتقام هو طبيعي فقط

يمكن أن يكون الانتقام من الخيال أمرا مروعا ، لكنه غالبا ما يرسخ رسالة أخلاقية. هناك ثأر بطولي ، عنصر أساسي في عالم السينما الأميركية ، حيث يعمل البطل المصمم أو البطل ضد بطل الرواية الشر (القانون غير فعال أو غير موجود). وهناك ثأر صالح ، كما هو الحال في حكايات النساء اللواتي يقمن بقسط دموي على إساءة معاملة الرجال ، وهو خاتمة يمكن أن تثير هتافات الجمهور. المضطهدين و الفتوات، يذهب المشاعر ، وغالبا ما يستحق ما يحصلون عليه.

ولكن بعيداً عن الخيال ، فإن ترويض مثل هذا الانتقام هو ، على ما يقال ، أحد أكثر الأسئلة إثارة للحضارة. قد لا يكون الثأر دائما أنبل الدوافع ، ولكن هناك أوقات يمكن الدفاع عنها ، وهي رسالة غالباً ما يتم تجاهلها من خلال تقارير إخبارية مثيرة: "الزوجة المبسطة تنضم إلى القوات مع العشيقة لتجريد الزوج وتحطيم كرسي فوق رأسه في انتقام الشارع المهين". "يقرأ عنوان واحد حديث. "ألقت أم من الصف الرابع بريك في وجه المعلم ثم ضربها بعد أن صادرتها هاتفها المحمول ابنة 10 عاما" يذهب آخر.

كما أستكشف كتابي الجديدمن خلال إثارة فكرة الثأر نفسها وإهمالها ، قد ننسى أن بعض أشكال الثأر يمكن أن تعمل بشكل جيد وتخدم غرضًا حاسمًا.

كانت أنظمة الانتقام موجودة منذ فترة طويلة ، حيث يقود أبناء عمومتنا الرئيسيين الطريق. سوف الشمبانزي و قرود المكاك عقوبات بحرية على الغرباء والقواطع ، ومع ذكرياتهم الممتازة ، تأجيل القاتل حتى تظهر فرصة مناسبة.

كان الثأر حيويا أيضا للقبائل البشرية لحماية مصادر الغذاء والأراضي والنظام الاجتماعي: التهديد بالانتقام السريع من أجل الغش أو السرقة أو التسلط أو القتل يمكن أن يكون رادعا فعالا. يمكن أن ينظر إلى الانتقام ببساطة كعدالة جوهرية للمنتقم. يتعلق الأمر بالتصدي للضرر الناتج عن الأذى: "الحصول على حتى" ، "الحلمة المتبادلة" ، "العين بالعين" - أنت شخص لا تتعرض له.

الثأر يعيد التوازن ويستعيد الوضع. يمكن أن تكون فورية ، تغذيها الغضب ، أو مؤجل ، طبق يقدم البارد. بالنسبة للمصابين بالإيذاء ، يمكن أن يشعر الانتقام في بعض الأحيان وكأنه السبيل الوحيد للخروج - على سبيل المثال ، ربة منزل فيرجيني لورينا بوبيت في 1990s. بعد سنوات من الخيانة والاعتداء الجنسي من زوجها ، أمسكت بسكين مطبخ وقسمت من زوجها المخمور (أعيد ربط العضو بعد ذلك). تعاملت هيئة المحلفين مع حسابها الشعري ، وواصلت الدفاع علناً عن حقوق النساء اللواتي يتعرضن للإيذاء. ولكن ليس كل قاطعي القضيب وقد تم استلامها بطريقة خيرية. هذا دليل ، البعض يقولكراهية النساء في أنظمة العدالة.

فالثأر من الصعب بشكل خاص إزاحته عندما تكون متأصلة في هوية مجموعة ، مثل عصابات الشوارع الملتزمة بالحماية العنيفة لأراضيها ، والغنائم أو "الاحترام" ، والأسر الراسخة في الشرف الأبوي ، المستعدة للتحول الوحشي من تلقاء نفسها.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ولكن ، في التفاعلات اليومية ، يكون للثأر وجه أكثر نعومة ، مثل موظف تسجيل الدخول في الخطوط الجوية ، والذي بعد سلسلة من الإساءات من أحد العملاء ، يتمنى له بأدب رحلة طيران جيدة ثم يعيد توجيه حقائبه بهدوء في مكان آخر. أو العشاء المهاجر الذي "يتم رفضه على نحو غير مقبول" ، أو "حبيبة" ، أو حساء حساء اللحم. الانتقام السري - تخريب الخدمات - ينقذ القليل من احترام الذات في عالم يكون فيه العملاء مستعدين لاستغلال وضعهم "الملكي".

في المجتمعات المعقدة ، يؤدي الانتقام الحر إلى تقويض سيطرة الحاكم. انها العدالة البرية. الأساسي المعطى للأمر المدني هو أن الولاية تخصص الانتقام. العدالة مقننة. العقوبة هي امتياز الولاية ، الانتقام من اسم آخر. هذا من شأنه قمع اليقظة - إلى حد معين. سيميل الناس إلى البحث عن وسائل خارج نطاق القضاء عندما يعتقدون أن نظام العدالة يميل ضدهم بسبب انتمائهم العرقي أو وضعهم أو لون بشرتهم أو جنسهم.

في الهند ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تستمر قضايا الاغتصاب لسنوات ، أو لا تأتي إلى المحكمة أبداً، والشرطة أكثر التخلص من إلقاء اللوم على الضحية بدلا من القبض على الجاني. في 2004 ، جاء ذلك على رأسه مع أهمية رمزية خاصة في قاعة محكمة القرية. بعض 200 غضب النساء هاجم وقتل مغتصب مسلسل كان هناك في المحاكمة. كانت ثقة المرأة في النظام القانوني صفرًا ، وغضبها غاضبًا عندما هددها الرجل علانية في المحكمة. لقد أرعب مجتمع الطبقات الدنيا مع الإفلات من العقاب لسنوات ، وشراء الشرطة المحلية.

بعد عدة سنوات ، حذت نساء ولاية كيرالا حذوها. وقامت مجموعة غاضبة منهم بإحالة العدالة إلى اثنين من المغتصبين المحليين ، وربطهما بالعارضة وضربهما ، قبل تسليمهما إلى الشرطة. وفي أمريكا الجنوبية ، تم توثيق المئات من حالات انتقام المواطنين. في الآونة الأخيرة ، سكان Teleta del Volcán في المكسيك ضرب امرأة وأربعة رجالوربطهم بأعمدة وهددوا بإحراقهم أحياء. وكان هؤلاء الضحايا أعضاء في نقابة ضمت ضباط شرطة سابقين وحاليين يُزعم أنهم متخصصون في الابتزاز والاختطاف.

المحادثةهنا نشهد تصرفات يائسة من قبل أناس يائسين يعرفون أنهم غير محميين من قبل الدولة. لقد وصلوا إلى نقطة تحول - ومن يستطيع أن يلومهم؟

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيفن فينمان ، أستاذ فخري في الدراسات التنظيمية ، جامعة باث

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = anger management؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
by ماريا سيليست فاغنر وبابلو ج. بوزكوفسكي

Why Wanting Revenge Is Only Natural

Why Wanting Revenge Is Only Natural

Revenge in fiction can be shocking, but it often embeds a moral message. There is heroic revenge, a staple of the American movie world, in which the determined hero or anti-hero acts against an evil protagonist (the law being ineffective or absent). And there is righteous revenge, as in tales of women who exact bloody retribution on abusing men, a denouement that can bring cheers from an audience. Oppressors and bullies, goes the sentiment, often deserve what they get.

But beyond fiction, taming such revenge is, arguably, one of the most vexed questions of civilisation. Revenge may not always be the noblest of motives, but there are times when it can be defended, a message often occluded by sensationalist news reports: “Jilted wife joins forces with mistress to strip husband and smash a chair over his head in humiliating street revenge” reads one recent headline; “Mother of fourth grader threw a BRICK at teacher’s face then beat her after she confiscated her 10-year-old daughter’s cellphone” goes another.

As I explore in my new book, by sensationalising and deprecating the idea of revenge itself, we may forget that some forms of revenge can work well and serve a crucial purpose.

Revenge systems have been around for a very long time, with our primate cousins leading the way. Chimpanzees and macaques will freely inflict punishments on strangers and rule breakers and, with their excellent memories, cannily postpone retaliation until a suitable opportunity arises.

Revenge has also been vital to human tribes for protecting food sources, territory and social order: the threat of swift retaliation for cheating, stealing, bullying or killing can be an effective deterrent. Stripped of its pejorative association, revenge can simply be seen as quintessential justice for the avenger. It’s about responding to harm with harm: “getting even”, “tit for tat”, an “eye for an eye” – you’re someone not to be trifled with.

Revenge restores the balance and reclaims status. It can be instant, fuelled by rage, or deferred, a dish served cold. For abuse sufferers, revenge can sometimes feel like the only way out – for example, Virginian housewife Lorena Bobbitt in the 1990s. After years of infidelity and sexual abuse from her husband, she grabbed a kitchen knife and sliced off her drunken husband’s penis (the member was subsequently reattached). The jury sympathised with her poetic reckoning, and she went on to publicly champion the rights of abused women. But not all penis-severers have been received so charitably. This is evidence, some say, of misogyny in justice systems.

Revenge is especially tough to dislodge when ingrained in the identity of a group, like street gangs committed to the violent protection of their territory, spoils or “respect”, and families entrenched in patriarchal honour, prepared to turn savagely on their own.

But, in daily interactions, revenge also has a softer face, like the airline check-in clerk who, after a string of abuse from a customer, politely wishes him a good flight and then quietly redirects his bags elsewhere. Or the offensive diner whose credit card is “inexplicably rejected I’m afraid, sir” – or whose soup is spiced with spittle. Covert revenge – service sabotage – salvages a little self-respect in a world where customers are prepared to exploit their “kingly” status.

In complex societies, free-wheeling revenge undermines a ruler’s control; it’s wild justice. A basic given for civic order is that the state appropriates revenge. Justice is codified. Punishment is the state’s prerogative, revenge by another name. This will suppress vigilantism – up to a point. People will be inclined to seek extrajudicial means when they believe the justice system is skewed against them because of their ethnicity, status, skin colour or gender.

In India, for example, rape cases can last for years, or never come to court, the police more disposed to blame the victim rather than arrest the perpetrator. In 2004, this came to a head with particular symbolic significance in a village courtroom. Some 200 incensed women attacked and killed a serial rapist who was there on trial. The women’s trust in the legal system was zero, and their anger boiled over when the man publicly threatened them in court. He had terrorised the low caste community with impunity for years, buying off the local police.

A few years later, the women of Kerala followed suit. A furious group of them delivered vigilante justice to two local rapists, tying them naked to railings and beating them, before handing them over to the police. And in South America, hundreds of cases of citizen’s revenge have been documented. Recently, residents of Teleta del Volcán in Mexico beat a woman and four men, tied them to poles and threatened to burn them alive. These victims were members of a syndicate that included former and current police officers that, allegedly, specialised in extortion and kidnapping.

The ConversationHere we witness desperate acts by desperate people who know they are not being protected by the state. They have reached a tipping point – and who can blame them?

About The Author

Stephen Fineman, Professor Emeritus in Organization Studies, University of Bath

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Anger Management Workbook for Men: Take Control of Your Anger and Master Your Emotions
anger managementAuthor: Aaron Karmin LCPC
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Althea Press
List Price: $12.99

Buy Now

Anger: Wisdom for Cooling the Flames
anger managementAuthor: Thich Nhat Hanh
Binding: Paperback
Format: Deckle Edge
Publisher: Riverhead Books
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

Anger Management: How to Control Anger, Develop Self-Control and Ultimately Maste (Self-Help, Anger Management, Stress, Emotions, Anxiety)
anger managementAuthor: A.C. Drexel
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now