عيد جميع القديسين: تحول إلى خارق للعمل من خلال قلقنا

عيد جميع القديسين: تحول إلى خارق للعمل من خلال قلقنا
الكسندر Raths عبر Shutterstock

يعتبر عيد الهالوين الآن جزءًا راسخًا من التقويم الموسمي والمستهلك - ولكن خلافاً لغيره من الاحتفالات التي تشجع على تقديم الهدايا والعائلة والحب والصداقة ، فإن الهالووين ينطوي على اضطراب وتجاوز وانخراط مفتوح مع عواطف وخوف داكنة. تسببت هذه الجوانب في علم الاجتماع في الولايات المتحدة أميتاي عتصوني لوصف عيد القديسين بأنه "عطلة إدارة التوتر". هذا يوحي بأن عيد جميع القديسين هو طقس عام يمكن فيه التعبير عن قلق اجتماعي وثقافي مكبوت.

التعبيرات وتشمل الطقوس مثل نحت وجوه قبيحة في الخضروات ، والتوخي عن التفاح وارتداء الملابس كشخصية داكنة أو خارقة للطبيعة. تظهر هذه الميزة في جميع أنحاء العالم بأشكال مختلفة أن عيد القديسين هو بوتقة الأفكار العالمية التي تتجمع حول شهر أكتوبر 31.

بعد هالوين هو أيضا هجين تاريخية غريبة من مهرجان سنوي. تقليديا جميع عشية الأقداس تميزت بتغيير الفصول ودورة الولادة والموت. ابن عم سلتيك سامهاين مرة واحدة بمثابة إطار طقوسي للتأقلم مع لحظات التحول والتحول لوحظ في العالم الطبيعي ، والمجتمع المحلي والذات. وقد وفر ذلك نقطة انعكاس حيث أصبحت الانقسامات بين الحياة والموت غير واضحة.

الآن يتم استبدال تغيير الفصول مع تغيير الممرات الموسمية في محلاتنا ومحلاتنا التجارية الكبرى حيث تحولت الطقوس المحلية إلى قيمة تجارية واحدة $ 9bn الولايات المتحدة في الولايات المتحدة وحدها. ومع ذلك ، فإن التشويش بين الحياة والموت قد تطور أيضًا إلى انهيار المزيد من الثنائيات المعاصرة. يزعج الهالوين المفاهيم المقبولة عن الخير والسيئة ، والصواب والخطأ ، والطبيعيين والخارقين - ويجادلون ، النفس وغيرها.

تطورت تقاليد مستوحاة من Samhain الأطفال يلعبون الحيل مكر الليل في أجزاء من المملكة المتحدة و ليلة الشيطان في الولايات المتحدة - تقام مهرجانات أصغر بكثير في هذا الوقت من السنة عندما يفترض أن القواعد العادية لا تطبق والناس ينخرطون في مزاح وحتى أعمال التخريب. عرف "خدعة أم حلوى"يُعتقد أيضًا أنه ظهر في الولايات المتحدة أثناء 1920s كمحاولة لصرف الأطفال عن أعمال التخريب عن طريق رشهم بالحلوى.

القلق الشديد

أصبحت Halloween سببًا للقلق القومي في الولايات المتحدة أثناء 1970s عندما تم تداول القصص شفرات الحلاقة والسم يضاف إلى الحلوى هالوين. حتى في الآونة الأخيرة مثل 2016 كان هناك إنذار دولي بعد تقارير "المهرجين القاتل"الظهور على زوايا الشوارع ، ومطاردة الأطفال وتهديد الكبار. بعض وكالات تنفيذ القانون حتى هدد بالقبض على أي بالغ يرتدي ازياء المهرج خلال فترة عيد جميع القديسين. ومع ذلك تستمر المتاجر الكبرى في بيع الأزياء المخيفة ، على الرغم من رد الفعل الشعبي ضد الأزياء التي تسيء بوضوح إلى الكثير من الناس.

أيام غريبة في السوبر ماركت - عيد جميع القديسين: التفت إلى خارق للطبيعة للعمل من خلال قلقنا


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf



أيام غريبة في السوبر ماركت.
ديفيد Cardinez عبر Shutterstock

سلط الضوء على هذا في أبحاثنا استكشاف الفضيحة الأخيرة من محلات السوبر ماركت في المملكة المتحدة وتجار التجزئة على الانترنت بيع أزياء هالوين مع موضوع الصحة العقلية. باعت سوبر ماركت Asda زي "مريض عقلياً هرباً" بينما كان "تيسكو" و "أمازون" في المملكة المتحدة يشتركان في ملابس "نفسية جناح" مماثلة. على الرغم من الانتقادات واسعة النطاق لهذه الأزياء وإزالتها مؤقتًا من المتاجر ، لا يزال الكثير منها متاحًا اليوم.

وكما جادل المناصرون في مجال الصحة العقلية ، فإن مثل هذه الأزياء توصم قضايا الصحة العقلية من خلال خلق روابط مضللة بشكل خطير للعنف والإجرام. ولكن بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يدافعون عن بيع مثل هذه الأزياء ، فإن الأمر يتعلق ببساطة اختيار المستهلك.

وسائل الاعلام والمناقشات عبر الإنترنت حول هالوين الازياء وغالبا ما تركز على مناقشة معنوية حول الملابس التي يجب عليك ارتداءها أو تجنبها. هذا أمر مهم ، ولكن قد نأخذ في الاعتبار أيضًا بعض الأسئلة الأساسية حول سبب تصنيع هذه الأزياء والمنتجات في المقام الأول. كمستهلكين ، لماذا نختار الاحتفال بعيد الهالوين بالتحول إلى موضوعات مثيرة للجدل؟

مألوف وغريب

طريقة واحدة للتفكير في أخلاقيات هالوين تأتي من عمل الفنان والمنظر براخا إيتنغر. تلاحظ أننا نميل إلى جميع الأشياء "الغريبة" لأنها مألوفة وغريبة على حد سواء. وفقا لإيتنغر ، فإن هذا الشعور هو مزيج من الرهبة والعجب ، ولكن أيضا عدم الارتياح والاضطراب. هذه التجربة من الرهبة قوية بشكل خاص عندما نواجه موضوعات غريبة تعكس مخاوفنا وقلقنا.

إعادة التشغيل في 2018 من امتياز فيلم هالوين يمكن اعتباره أيضًا توترًا غريبًا غير محسوس آخر يحيط علاقتنا بقضايا الصحة العقلية. وهذا شيء يتجسد بشكل فاضح في كل من أزياء السوبرماركت وفي شخصية مايكل مايرز المقنعة - وهو فارٍ قاتل لمرفق للرعاية الصحية العقلية.

لذا ، بدلاً من التوقف عند مناقشة السلوك الصحيح أخلاقياً في عيد الهالوين ، قد نستخدم هذا الوقت من العام للتفكير في مخاوفنا الخاصة وكيف نتعامل معها من خلال الأزياء وأفلام الرعب ومنتجات هالوين المرتبطة بها المتوفرة لنا. من خلال التفكير في ما يخيفنا ، قد نوفر مساحة للمناقشات حول من يستحق احترامنا وتعاطفنا ورعايتنا.

كاحتفال برهبة خارقة للطبيعة ونتساءل ، ربما يكون عيد الهالوين مصدرًا مهمًا للمتعة والتهرب. ولكن كطقس لإدارة التوتر قد يخدم أيضًا دورًا أخلاقيًا أكثر تعقيدًا في مساعدتنا على فهم أنفسنا وعلاقتنا بالأخلاف والاختلاف. وبهذه الطريقة ، قد نتمكن جميعًا من المشاركة والتمتع بعيد الهالوين "الرهيب".

حول المؤلفالمحادثة

سايمون كيلي ، محاضر أول في الإدارة ، جامعة هيدرسفيلد وكاثلين رياك ، أستاذ مشارك في الإدارة ، جامعة موناش

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = مواجهة مخاوفك ؛ الحد الأقصى = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Halloween: Turning To The Supernatural To Work Through Our Anxieties

fear

Halloween: Turning To The Supernatural To Work Through Our Anxieties
Alexander Raths via Shutterstock

Halloween is now firmly part of the seasonal and consumer calender – but, unlike other celebrations that promote gift-giving, family, love and friendship, Halloween involves disruption, transgression and an open engagement with darker emotions and fears. These aspects have caused US sociologist Amitai Etzioni to describe Halloween as a “tension-management holiday”. This suggests Halloween is a public ritual in which repressed social and cultural anxieties might be safely expressed and relieved.

The expressions include rituals such as carving ugly faces into vegetables, ducking for apples and dressing up as dark or supernatural figures. That these feature around the world in various forms show that Halloween is the global melting pot of ideas that come together around October 31.

Yet Halloween is also a strange historical hybrid of an annual festival. Traditionally All Hallows’ Eve marked the changing of the seasons and the cycle of birth and death. Its Celtic cousin Samhain once served as a ritual framework to come to terms with moments of transition and transformation observed in the natural world, the local community and the self. This provided a point of reflection where divisions between life and death became blurred.

Now the changing of the seasons is replaced with the changing of the seasonal aisles in our shops and supermarkets as a domestic ritual has morphed into a commercial one worth US$9bn in the US alone. However, the blurring between life and death has also evolved into the breaking down of more contemporary dualisms. Halloween deliberately disturbs accepted notions of good and bad, right and wrong, natural and supernatural – and, we would argue, self and other.

Samhain-inspired traditions of children playing tricks developed into Mischief Night in parts of the UK and Devil’s Night in the US – both much smaller festivals held at around this time of year when normal rules supposedly don’t apply and people engage in pranks and even acts of vandalism. The custom of “trick or treating” is also thought to have emerged in the US during the 1920s as an attempt to distract children away from acts of vandalism by bribing them with candy.

High anxiety

Halloween became a cause for national anxiety in the US during the 1970s when stories circulated of razor blades and poison being added to Halloween candy. Even as recently as 2016 there was international alarm following reports of “killer clowns” appearing on street corners, chasing children and threatening adults. Some law enforcement agencies even threatened to arrest any adults wearing clown costumes during the Halloween period. And yet supermarkets continue to sell creepy costumes, despite a public backlash against outfits that clearly offend a lot of people.

Strange days at the supermarket -- Halloween: Turning to the supernatural to work through our anxieties


Strange days at the supermarket.
David Cardinez via Shutterstock

We highlighted this in our own research exploring the recent scandal of UK supermarkets and online retailers selling Halloween costumes with a mental health theme. Asda supermarket sold an “escaped mental patient” costume while Tesco and Amazon UK stocked similar “psycho ward” outfits. Despite widespread criticism of these costumes and their temporary removal from stores, many are still available today.

As mental health campaigners have argued, such costumes stigmatise mental health issues by creating dangerously misleading connections to violence and criminality. Yet for those who defend the sale of such costumes it is simply a matter of consumer choice.

News media and online discussions surrounding Halloween costumes often focus on a moral discussion about what costumes you should wear or avoid. This is important, but we might also consider some more fundamental questions about why such costumes and products are manufactured in the first place. As consumers, why do we choose to celebrate Halloween by turning to such contentious themes?

Familiar and strange

One way of thinking about the ethics of Halloween comes from the work of artist and theorist Bracha Ettinger. She observes that we are irresistibly drawn to all things “uncanny” because they are both familiar and strange. According to Ettinger, this feeling is a combination of awe and wonder, but also unease and disturbance. This experience of awe is particularly powerful when we encounter uncanny themes that mirror our own fears and anxieties.

The rebooting in 2018 of the Halloween movie franchise might also be thought of as another unresolved uncanny tension surrounding our relationship with mental health issues. This is something crudely embodied in both the supermarket costumes and in the masked figure of Michael Myers – murderous escapee of a mental health care facility.

So, rather than stopping at discussions of morally correct conduct at Halloween, we might also use this time of year to reflect on our own fears and how we engage with them through the costumes, horror movies, and associated Halloween products available to us. By reflecting on what frightens us, we may also make space for discussions about who deserves our respect, compassion and care.

As a celebration of supernatural awe and wonder then, perhaps Halloween is an important source of fun and escapism. But as a tension-management ritual it may also serve a more complex ethical role in helping us to understand ourselves and our relationship to otherness and difference. In this way we might all be able to share in and enjoy an “awe-full” Halloween.

About the AuthorsThe Conversation

Simon Kelly, Senior Lecturer in Management, University of Huddersfield and Kathleen Riach, Associate Professor in Management, Monash University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Facing Your Fears Facilitator's Set

fearAuthor: Judy Reaven Ph.D.
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Brookes Publishing
Label: Brookes Publishing
Publisher: Brookes Publishing
Manufacturer: Brookes Publishing
List Price: $89.95
Offers - Buy New From: $74.31 Used From: $86.75
Buy Now



Facing Your Fears Child Workbook Pack

fearAuthor: Judy Reaven Ph.D.
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Brookes Publishing
Label: Brookes Publishing
Publisher: Brookes Publishing
Manufacturer: Brookes Publishing
List Price: $32.00
Offers - Buy New From: $28.00 Used From: $40.39
Buy Now



Whatever the Cost: Facing Your Fears, Dying to Your Dreams, and Living Powerfully

fearAuthor: David Benham
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Thomas Nelson Inc

Brand: HarperCollins Christian Pub.
Creator(s):
  • Scott Lamb

Studio: Thomas Nelson
Label: Thomas Nelson
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Manufacturer: Thomas Nelson
List Price: $16.99
Offers - Buy New From: $4.30 Used From: $2.29
Buy Now



fear
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}