Wie Eltern- und Kindemotionstherapie Depressionen lindert

Wie Eltern- und Kindemotionstherapie Depressionen lindertEine interaktive Therapie, an der Eltern und ihre depressiven Kinder beteiligt sind, kann die Häufigkeit von Depressionen senken und die Schwere der Symptome von Kindern senken, so Forschungsergebnisse.

Kinder im Alter von drei Jahren können klinisch depressiv sein, und diese Depression tritt häufig auf, wenn Kinder älter werden und zur Schule gehen. Es kann auch während der Pubertät und im Leben wieder auftauchen.

"Indem wir Depressionen so früh wie möglich erkennen und dann den Kindern helfen, die Art und Weise zu ändern, wie sie ihre Emotionen verarbeiten, glauben wir, dass es möglich sein wird, die Flugbahn der Depression zu verändern und wiederkehrende Anfälle der Erkrankung später im Leben zu reduzieren oder zu verhindern", sagt Hauptuntersuchungsleiter Joan L. Luby, Direktor des Early Emotional Development-Programms an der Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

Wie in der gemeldete Amerikanische Zeitschrift für Psychiatrie, Das Team von Luby hat eine in den 1970s entwickelte Behandlung, die als Eltern-Kind-Interaktionstherapie (PCIT) bekannt ist, angepasst, um das störende Verhalten von Vorschulkindern zu korrigieren. Die Anpassung beinhaltete das Hinzufügen einer Reihe von Sitzungen, die sich auf Emotionen konzentrierten.

"Wir betrachten Depressionen als Beeinträchtigung der Fähigkeit, Emotionen zu erleben und zu regulieren", sagt Luby.

Ein emotionaler Werkzeugkasten

Das 18-Woche-20-Sitzungstherapieprogramm beginnt mit einer abgeschnittenen Version des traditionellen PCIT-Programms und konzentriert sich dann mehr auf die Verbesserung der emotionalen Entwicklung.

„Wir trainieren zum Beispiel Eltern, wie sie die emotionalen Reaktionen eines Kindes auf Stresssituationen bewältigen können“, sagt Luby.

Dazu gehört unter anderem eine Aktivität, bei der Forscher ein Päckchen für ein Kind in einem Raum platzieren und das Kind dann warten lassen, bis es geöffnet wird. Das Elternteil trägt einen Ohrhörer und erhält ein Coaching von einem Therapeuten, der durch einen Einwegspiegel beobachtet. Die Idee ist, Kindern Werkzeuge zu geben, um ihre Gefühle unter Kontrolle zu halten, und Eltern darin zu schulen, ihren Kindern zu helfen, diese Werkzeuge zu verstärken.

Lubys Team untersuchte 229-Eltern-Kind-Paare. Kinder in der Studie waren drei bis sieben Jahre alt und hatten die Diagnose Depression erhalten. Die Hälfte erhielt die angepasste Therapie namens PCIT-ED.

Verglichen mit Kindern, die vor Beginn der Therapie auf eine Warteliste gesetzt wurden, wiesen diejenigen, die die Intervention unmittelbar erhielten, nach den 18-Wochen niedrigere Depressionsraten und insgesamt eine geringere Beeinträchtigung auf. Wenn die Depression nach der Behandlung anhielt, war sie tendenziell weniger stark als bei Kindern, die noch keine Therapie erhalten hatten.

Eltern profitieren auch

Luby sagt, dass Forscher den Kindern in der Studie folgen werden, um zu sehen, wie lange die Auswirkungen der Therapie anhalten. Ihr Team analysiert die Daten von drei Monaten nach Ende der Behandlung, um festzustellen, ob sich die Verbesserungen fortsetzen oder ob bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt Depressionssymptome auftreten. Die Forscher hoffen, den Kindern bis in die Adoleszenz folgen zu können, um zu sehen, ob eine frühkindliche Intervention dauerhafte Vorteile bringt.

Sie führen im Rahmen der Studie auch Gehirnbildgebung durch. In früheren Untersuchungen fanden Luby und ihre Kollegen heraus, dass Veränderungen im Gehirn, die mit Depressionen zusammenhängen, die Struktur und Funktion des Gehirns verändern können, wodurch die Kinder möglicherweise für zukünftige Probleme anfällig werden. Nun möchten sie erfahren, ob diese interaktive Therapie die zuvor festgestellten Veränderungen des Gehirns verhindern oder aufheben kann.

Interessanterweise stellten die Forscher auch fest, dass sich die Symptome der klinischen Depression bei den Eltern, die während der Studie mit ihren Kindern arbeiteten, besserten.

"Selbst wenn der Elternteil nicht direkt angesprochen wird, verbessert sich seine Depression", sagt Luby. "Es wurde zuvor gezeigt, dass sich die Depression eines Kindes verbessert, wenn Sie die Depression eines Elternteils behandeln. Dies sind jedoch wichtige neue Daten, die auf die Umkehrung der Ergebnisse schließen lassen."

Luby fügt hinzu, dass das Therapieprogramm keinen Psychiater erfordert; Kliniker auf Master-Ebene können es liefern.

"Dies ist eine Therapie, die weit verbreitet werden könnte", sagt sie. "Da es nur 18-Wochen dauert und kein Kinderpsychologe oder -psychiater erforderlich ist, denken wir, dass es durchaus machbar wäre, Kliniken aus kommunaler Sicht aus praktischen Gesichtspunkten und unter Kostenaspekten durchzuführen."

Das Nationale Institut für psychische Gesundheit der National Institutes of Health unterstützte die Arbeit.

Quelle: Washington Universität in St. Louis

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Kinderberatung; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How Parent And Child Emotion Therapy Eases Depression

How Parent And Child Emotion Therapy Eases DepressionAn interactive therapy involving parents and their depressed children can reduce rates of depression and lower the severity of children’s symptoms, research finds.

Children as young as three can be clinically depressed, and often that depression recurs as kids get older and go to school. It also can reappear during adolescence and throughout life.

“By identifying depression as early as possible and then helping children try to change the way they process their emotions, we believe it may be possible to change the trajectory of depression and perhaps reduce or prevent recurrent bouts of the disorder later in life,” says principal investigator Joan L. Luby, director of the Early Emotional Development Program at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

As reported in the American Journal of Psychiatry, Luby’s team adapted a treatment known as Parent-Child Interaction Therapy (PCIT) that was developed in the 1970s to correct disruptive behavior in preschoolers. The adaptation involved adding a series of sessions focused on emotions.

“We consider depression to be an impairment of the ability to experience and regulate emotions,” says Luby.

An emotional toolkit

The 18-week, 20-session therapy program begins with a truncated version of the traditional PCIT program, then focuses more on enhancing emotional development.

“For example, we coach parents how to manage a child’s emotional responses to stressful situations,” Luby says.

Among the ways of doing so is an activity in which researchers place a package for a child in a room and then make the child wait to open it. The parent wears an earpiece and receives coaching from a therapist who is observing through a one-way mirror. The idea is to give children tools to keep their emotions under control, and to train parents to help their children reinforce those tools.

Luby’s team studied 229 parent-child pairs. Children in the study were three to seven years old and had received a diagnosis of depression. Half received the adapted therapy, called PCIT-ED.

Compared with children who were placed on a wait list before starting the therapy, those who received the intervention right away had lower rates of depression after 18 weeks and less impairment overall. If depression continued after the treatment, it tended to be less severe than that seen in the kids who had not yet received therapy.

Parents benefit, too

Luby says researchers will follow children in the study to see how long the effects of the therapy last. Her team is analyzing data from three months after treatment ended to see whether improvements continue or whether any depression symptoms return by that point. The researchers hope to follow the children into adolescence to see whether intervention in early childhood provides sustained benefits.

They also are conducting brain-imaging as part of the study. In previous research, Luby and her colleagues found that brain changes linked to depression can alter the brain’s structure and function, making the children potentially vulnerable to future problems. Now they want to learn whether this interactive therapy might prevent or reverse those previously identified brain changes.

Interestingly, the researchers also found that symptoms of clinical depression improved in the parents who worked with their children during the study.

“Even without targeting the parent directly, if a parent has been depressed, his or her depression improves,” Luby says. “It previously had been demonstrated that if you treat a parent’s depression, a child’s depression improves, but this is powerful new data suggesting that the reverse also is true.”

Luby adds that the therapy program doesn’t require a psychiatrist; master’s degree-level clinicians can deliver it.

“This is a therapy that could be widely disseminated,” she says. “Since it only takes 18 weeks and doesn’t require a child psychologist or psychiatrist, we think it would be highly feasible to deliver in community clinics from a practical standpoint and in terms of cost.”

The National Institute of Mental Health of the National Institutes of Health supported the work.

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=child counseling;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.