Non signifie non, et Oui signifie Oui: passer à un autre modèle de consentement

relation amoureuse

Non signifie non, et Oui signifie Oui: passer à un autre modèle de consentement
L'école de pensée «oui veut dire oui» soutient que le consentement peut - et devrait - devenir cool.

La montée de la #Moi aussi et Le temps est écoulé les mouvements ont mis un accent sans précédent sur la question de savoir ce qu'est un comportement sexuel acceptable. Une explosion d'allégations de grande envergure dans le Industrie cinématographique d'Hollywood et dans le Scène de théâtre australienne ont seulement ajouté au scandale public.

De toutes les allégations d'inconduite sexuelle tourbillonnant à Hollywood, le affaire impliquant Aziz Ansari est le plus controversé, car il se concentre sur ce qui constitue le consentement. Il y a maintenant une pression pour s'éloigner du consentement qui peut être implicite ou inféré, à un modèle d'affirmation pure, où seulement oui signifie oui.

L'étendue du problème

Le Bureau australien des statistiques (ABS) définit l'agression sexuelle comme un acte de nature sexuelle perpétré contre la volonté d'une personne ou sans le consentement d'une personne. Cela implique un contact physique et / ou l'utilisation de la force physique, de l'intimidation ou de la coercition.

Les Institut australien de criminologie indique que le taux d'agression sexuelle enregistré par la police en Australie a augmenté de façon constante depuis 2012.

Selon les chiffres de l'ABS À partir de 2015-16, au cours des mois 12 avant l'entrevue, les Australiens 77,400 âgés de 18 âgés de plus de 0.4 (30% de la population) ont subi une agression sexuelle. Cependant, la sous-déclaration était importante. Seulement quelques XNUMX% des affaires ont été signalées à la police.

Parmi les agressés sexuellement, 21% étaient des hommes et 79% étaient des femmes. Plus de 60% des personnes agressées étaient âgées de 18 à 34.

Qu'est-ce que le consentement?

In Juridictions australiennes le consentement est généralement considéré comme incluant l'accord libre et volontaire du plaignant.

Toutes les juridictions, à l'exception du Territoire de la capitale australienne (ACT), ont des définitions statutaires du consentement. le ACT fournit une liste de circonstances qui ne constituent pas un consentement.

Les définitions du consentement ne précisent pas la forme ou la manière dont de tels accords doivent être formulés. Au contraire, ils vont dans le contexte du consentement et la capacité de donner son consentement.

Toutefois, malgré la Cour d'appel du Queensland c'est noté:

Une plaignante qui, au moment de la pénétration sexuelle ou avant cette date, ne parvient pas à manifester sa dissidence par la parole ou par l'action, n'est pas juridiquement réputée avoir consenti à cette dissidence. Ne pas le faire peut cependant, selon les circonstances ... fournir une base pour l'exemption de la responsabilité pénale en vertu du 24 du Code criminel [erreur de fait].

Les Loi sur les infractions sexuelles au Royaume-Uni les discussions sur le consentement étant un accord par choix, et la personne a la liberté et la capacité de faire ce choix.

Les Manuel des Nations Unies pour la législation sur la violence à l'égard des femmes déclare que le consentement exige:

l'existence d'un «accord non équivoque et volontaire» et exigeant la preuve par l'accusé des mesures prises pour déterminer si le plaignant / survivant était consentant.


Territoire de compétenceLoi pertinenteSignification du consentement
LOI Section 67, Loi sur les crimes 1900 ACT Ne définit pas le consentement mais fournit une liste des circonstances dans lesquelles le consentement peut être considéré comme annulé.
NT Section 192 Loi sur le code criminel (NT) Le consentement signifie un accord libre et volontaire.
NSW Section 61HA, Loi sur les crimes 1900 Une personne consent à des rapports sexuels si la personne accepte librement et volontairement les rapports sexuels.
QLD Section 348, Code pénal du Queensland Consentement signifie consentement donné librement et volontairement par une personne ayant la capacité cognitive de donner son consentement.
SA Section 46, Loi sur la consolidation du droit pénal 1935 Une personne consent à l'activité sexuelle si la personne consent librement et volontairement à l'activité sexuelle.
TAS Annexe 1, Loi sur le code criminel 1924 Dans le code, sauf si l'intention contraire apparaît, le consentement signifie un libre accord.
VIC Section 36, Loi sur les crimes 1858 Le consentement signifie un accord libre.
WA Section 319 (2), Code criminel 1913 Consentement signifie un consentement librement et volontairement donné et, sans affecter d'aucune manière le sens attribuable à ces mots, un consentement n'est pas librement et volontairement donné s'il est obtenu par la force, la menace, l'intimidation, la tromperie ou tout moyen frauduleux.

Le modèle d'affirmation

Les modèle d'affirmation du consentement repose essentiellement sur un accord positif entre les parties avant que l'interaction sexuelle puisse commencer - en termes simples, un «oui» clair et sans équivoque.

Aux États-Unis, le consentement affirmatif porte principalement sur la façon dont les agressions sexuelles sont traitées dans les universités et les collèges. Californie et une poignée d'autres Étatset des centaines d'établissements d'enseignement ont maintenant adopté des lois et des politiques de consentement affirmatif.

Les Loi californienne États:

Le «consentement affirmatif» signifie un accord affirmatif, conscient et volontaire pour s'engager dans une activité sexuelle. Il est de la responsabilité de chaque personne impliquée dans l'activité sexuelle de s'assurer qu'il ou elle a le consentement affirmatif de l'autre ou des autres pour s'engager dans l'activité sexuelle.

Une personne doit prendre des mesures raisonnables, dans les circonstances, pour vérifier si l'autre participant y consent explicitement.

La Tasmanie fait référence au fait que le consentement n'existe pas si la personne «ne dit ou ne fait rien pour communiquer le consentement». En d'autres termes, en l'absence d'affirmation positive, il n'y a pas de consentement.

Les allégations contre Ansari centrer sur des indices non verbaux trompeurs, le plaignant indiquant:

Vous avez ignoré des indices non verbaux clairs; vous avez continué avec des avances.

Ansari s'est effectivement arrêté lorsque le plaignant lui a demandé de le faire. Le modèle affirmatif élimine toute ambiguïté entourant la question du consentement - c'est oui ou non, et le modèle oblige les deux parties à obtenir cette permission.

L'adoption d'un modèle de consentement affirmatif n'élimine pas nécessairement les questions de crédibilité au procès lorsqu'il n'y a pas de preuve secondaire de consentement (comme des enregistrements ou des témoins).

Dans les agressions sexuelles avec des connaissances, le consentement devient un élément de preuve essentiel à prouver. En tant qu'ancien détective principal, j'ai souvent vu ces affaires réduites à une bataille de crédibilité entre l'accusé et l'accusateur. En Australie, entre 2010-2016, la majorité des infractions signalées étaient fondées sur des connaissances.

Les partisans des lois Ils soutiennent que cela enlève à la victime le fardeau de démontrer sa résistance à l'acte, ou le fait qu'elle a dit non, et répond à une culture du droit aux interactions sexuelles. L'affirmation de l'affirmation peut être utilisée pour créer une culture de respect.

Les critiques du modèle yes-means-yes suggérer qu'il supprime la régularité de la procédure et empiète sur les droits de l'accusé en changeant le fardeau de la preuve. Certains affirment que, compte tenu de la nature de l'interaction sexuelle, il supprime la passion de ces transactions.

Rendre le consentement cool

En outre, il est nécessaire d'obtenir un consentement pour chaque acte d'interaction sexuelle. Le prémisse étant demander d'abord et demander souvent.

Bien qu'une telle exigence puisse sembler gênante, d'autres soutiennent qu'elle peut être transformée en "Consentement enthousiaste" où il peut être entrelacé avec les préliminaires et

se transformer en une partie intégrante d'une rencontre sexuelle alors que les partenaires plaisantent et s'interrogent sur ce qu'ils font (et ne feront pas).

Lorsque je demande à mes étudiants en criminologie ce que signifie le consentement en matière d'agression sexuelle, peu d'entre eux sont capables ou désireux de répondre. De telles questions sont rencontrées avec embarras et la réponse inévitable est "vous savez juste". Il est à noter que mes classes sont écrasantes femmes. Il y a différences quant à la façon dont les mâles et les femelles cherchent et interprètent le consentement.

La ConversationCela souligne que non seulement nous devons concentrer nos efforts sur l'éducation aux comportements sexuels appropriés, mais nous devons aussi éduquer ceux qui sont le plus à risque quant aux niveaux de consentement auxquels ils ont droit. Comme un article mis en évidence, nous devons rendre le consentement cool.

A propos de l'auteur

Terry Goldsworthy, professeur adjoint en criminologie

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

C'est tellement incroyable !: Un livre sur les œufs, le sperme, la naissance, les bébés et les familles (la bibliothèque familiale)
relation amoureuseAuteur: Robie H. Harris
Reliure: Broché
Editeur: Candlewick
Liste Des Prix: $12.99

Acheter

Bonnes Photos Mauvaises Photos: Porno Proofing Today's Young Kids
relation amoureuseAuteur: Kristen A Jenson
Reliure: Broché
Editeur: Glen Cove Press
Liste Des Prix: $18.95

Acheter

C'est parfaitement normal: changer de corps, grandir, avoir des relations sexuelles et avoir une santé sexuelle (la bibliothèque familiale)
relation amoureuseAuteur: Robie H. Harris
Reliure: Broché
Editeur: Candlewick
Liste Des Prix: $12.99

Acheter

relation amoureuse
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

No Means No, and Yes Means Yes: Moving To A Different Model Of Consent

relationship

No Means No, and Yes Means Yes: Moving To A Different Model Of Consent
The ‘yes means yes’ school of thought argues that consent can – and should – be made cool. 

The rise of the #MeToo and Time’s Up movements have put an unprecedented focus on the issue of what is acceptable sexual behaviour. An explosion of high-profile allegations in the Hollywood movie industry and in the Australian theatre scene have only added to the public scandal.

Of all the allegations of sexual misconduct swirling in Hollywood, the case involving Aziz Ansari is most divisive, because it centres on what constitutes consent. There is now pressure to move away from consent that can be implied or inferred, to a pure affirmation model, where only yes means yes.

The extent of the problem

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) defines sexual assault as an act of a sexual nature carried out against a person’s will or without a person’s consent. It involves physical contact and/or the use of physical force, intimidation or coercion.

The Australian Institute of Criminology indicates that the rate of sexual assault recorded by police in Australia has increased steadily since 2012.

According to ABS figures from 2015–16, during the 12 months prior to interview, 77,400 Australians aged 18 years and over (0.4% of the population) experienced sexual assault. However, under-reporting was prominent. Only some 30% of matters were reported to police.

Of those sexually assaulted, 21% were male and 79% were female. More than 60% of those assaulted were aged between 18 and 34 years.

What is consent?

In Australian jurisdictions consent is generally held to include free and voluntary agreement given by the complainant.

All jurisdictions, except for the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), have statutory definitions of consent. The ACT provides a list of circumstances that do not constitute consent.

The definitions of consent do not outline the form or way such agreements need to be formulated. Rather, they go to the context of consent and the ability to give consent.

However, the Queensland Court of Appeal noted:

A complainant who at or before the time of sexual penetration fails by word or action to manifest her dissent is not in law thereby taken to have consented to it. Failing to do so may, however, depending on the circumstances … provide a basis for exemption from criminal responsibility under s.24 of the Criminal Code [mistake of fact].

The UK Sexual Offences Act talks of consent being agreement by choice, and the person has the freedom and capacity to make that choice.

The United Nations Handbook for Legislation on Violence against Women states that consent requires:

the existence of ‘unequivocal and voluntary agreement’ and requiring proof by the accused of steps taken to ascertain whether the complainant/survivor was consenting.


JurisdictionRelevant lawMeaning of consent
ACT Section 67, Crimes Act 1900 ACT Does not define consent but provides a list of circumstances in which consent can be deemed to be negated.
NT Section 192 Criminal Code Act (NT) Consent means free and voluntary agreement.
NSW Section 61HA, Crimes Act 1900 A person consents to sexual intercourse if the person freely and voluntarily agrees to the sexual intercourse.
QLD Section 348, Queensland Criminal Code Consent means consent freely and voluntarily given by a person with the cognitive capacity to give the consent.
SA Section 46, Criminal Law Consolidation Act 1935 A person consents to sexual activity if the person freely and voluntarily agrees to the sexual activity.
TAS Schedule 1, Criminal Code Act 1924 In the code, unless the contrary intention appears, consent means free agreement.
VIC Section 36, Crimes Act 1858 Consent means free agreement.
WA Section 319 (2), Criminal Code 1913 Consent means a consent freely and voluntarily given and, without in any way affecting the meaning attributable to those words, a consent is not freely and voluntarily given if it is obtained by force, threat, intimidation, deceit, or any fraudulent means.

The affirmation model

The affirmation model of consent essentially relies on a positive agreement between the parties before sexual interaction can begin – in simple terms, a clear and unequivocal “yes”.

In the United States, the primary focus of affirmative consent is on how sexual assaults are handled in universities and colleges. California and a handful of other states, and hundreds of educational institutions, have now enacted affirmative consent laws and policies.

The Californian law states:

“Affirmative consent” means affirmative, conscious, and voluntary agreement to engage in sexual activity. It is the responsibility of each person involved in the sexual activity to ensure that he or she has the affirmative consent of the other or others to engage in the sexual activity.

A person must take reasonable steps, in the circumstances, to ascertain whether the other participant affirmatively consents.

Tasmania does reference the fact that consent does not exist if the person “does not say or do anything to communicate consent”. In other words, in the absence of positive affirmation there is no consent.

The allegations against Ansari centre on misreading non-verbal cues, with the complainant stating:

You ignored clear non-verbal cues; you kept going with advances.

Ansari did stop when the complainant asked him to. The affirmative model removes any ambiguity around the issue of consent – it is either yes or no, and the model places an onus on both parties to obtain such permission.

Adopting an affirmative consent model may not necessarily remove issues of credibility at trial when there is no secondary evidence of consent (such as recordings or witnesses).

In acquaintance sexual assaults, consent becomes a central evidentiary element required to be proven. As a former senior detective, I saw these matters often reduced to a battle of credibility between the accused and the accuser. In Australia between 2010-2016, the majority of reported offences were acquaintance based.

Supporters of the laws argue it removes the onus on the victim to show resistance to the act, or the fact they said no, and addresses a culture of entitlement in sexual interactions. Requiring affirmation, it is argued, can be used to create a culture of respect.

Critics of the yes-means-yes model suggest it removes due process and impinges on the rights of the accused by changing the evidentiary onus. Some argue that, given the nature of sexual interaction, it removes the passion from such transactions.

Making consent cool

Compounding this is the need to obtain consent for each act of sexual interaction. The premise being ask first and ask often.

While such a requirement may appear awkward, others argue it can be turned into “enthusiastic consent” where it can be entwined with foreplay and

turned into an integral part of a sexual encounter as partners banter back and forth, tease, and check in with each other on what they are (and aren’t) going to do.

When I ask my criminology students what consent in sexual assault matters means, few are able or willing to answer. Such questions are met with embarrassment and the inevitable answer is “you just know”. Of note is that my classes are overwhelming female. There are differences as to how males and females seek and interpret consent.

The ConversationThis highlights that not only must we focus our efforts on educating on appropriate sexual behaviours, but we must also educate those most at risk as to what levels of consent they are entitled to. As one article highlighted, we need to make consent cool.

About The Author

Terry Goldsworthy, Assistant Professor in Criminology

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

It's So Amazing!: A Book about Eggs, Sperm, Birth, Babies, and Families (The Family Library)

relationshipAuthor: Robie H. Harris
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Candlewick Press MA

Brand: Candlewick Press MA
Creator(s):
  • Michael Emberley

Studio: Candlewick
Label: Candlewick
Publisher: Candlewick
Manufacturer: Candlewick

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “An outstanding book. . . . Meets the needs of those in-between or curious kids who are not ready, developmentally or emotionally, for It’s Perfectly Normal.Booklist (starred review)

How does a baby begin? What makes a baby male or female? How is a baby born? Children have plenty of questions about reproduction and babies—and about sex and sexuality, too. It’s So Amazing! provides the answers—with fun, accurate, comic-book-style artwork and a clear, lively text that reflects the interests of children age seven and up in how things work, while giving them a healthy understanding of their bodies. Created by the author and illustrator of It’s Perfectly Normal, this forthright and funny book has been newly updated for its fifteenth anniversary.




Consent: The New Rules of Sex Education: Every Teen's Guide to Healthy Sexual Relationships

relationshipAuthor: Jennifer Lang MD
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Althea Press
Label: Althea Press
Publisher: Althea Press
Manufacturer: Althea Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

A contemporary guide to sex education that answers the most pressing questions teens and young adults have about dating, relationships, consent, and sexual safety.

There’s a lot to talk about when it comes to sex education―anatomy, communication, safety, and more. In this groundbreaking book, Dr. Jennifer Lang delivers a frank, compassionate, and evidence-based guide to healthy sexual relationships, focusing on the crucial role of consent in sex education.

A board-certified OB-GYN, Dr. Lang breaks down confusing concepts into factual and clear guidance. She outlines not only what consent looks and sounds like, but the importance of recognizing when a person has the capacity to give consent, and when they don’t. Written for all teens, and inclusive of all sexual identities and orientations, Consent is a reference guide to healthy sexual expression and relationships.

This book’s approach to sex education covers:

  • An overview of human sexuality including what sex is and how it feels, separating sex education fact from fiction.
  • A discussion about relationships & dating and the various forms they take during adolescence, including some of the most common scenarios and healthy ways of handling them.
  • Tools for communicating and understanding consent, as well as critical information about the capacity to give consent, the language surrounding it, and what constitutes abuse and assault.

The way that teens think and talk about sex today has changed. Sex education needs to change, too. Teens and young adults will find the sex education information they need to make empowered choices about their bodies, their desires, and their boundaries in Consent. You’ll never think of sex education in the same way again.





It's Perfectly Normal: Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health (The Family Library)

relationshipAuthor: Robie H. Harris
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Brand: Unknown
Creator(s):
  • Michael Emberley

Studio: Candlewick Press
Label: Candlewick Press
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Manufacturer: Candlewick Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

The definitive book about puberty and sexual health for today’s kids and teens, now fully updated for its twentieth anniversary.

For two decades, this universally acclaimed book on sexuality has been the most trusted and accessible resource for kids, parents, teachers, librarians, and anyone else who cares about the well-being of tweens and teens. Now, in honor of its anniversary, It’s Perfectly Normal has been updated with information on subjects such as safe and savvy Internet use, gender identity, emergency contraception, and more. Providing accurate and up-to-date answers to nearly every imaginable question, from conception and puberty to birth control and STDs, It’s Perfectly Normal offers young people the information they need—now more than ever—to make responsible decisions and stay healthy.





relationship
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}