Pourquoi le selfie ne devrait pas être un mot sale

art de selfie

Il y a trois ans, le 18 de 2013, l'Oxford English Dictionary a nommé le terme «selfie» leur mot de l'année.

C'était un terme inventé par un Australien, qui a pris une photo de lui-même. Il l'a ensuite posté sur un forum en ligne ABC, dire, "Um, ivre à un copains 21st, j'ai trébuché ofer [sic] et atterri la lèvre d'abord (avec les dents de devant venant d'une seconde très proche) sur un ensemble de marches. J'avais un trou à peu près 1cm à travers ma lèvre inférieure. Et désolé pour l'accent, c'était un selfie ".

Aujourd'hui, le terme surgit avec la régularité de la mort et des taxes dans les fils de nouvelles à travers le monde, et comme la mort et les impôts, il libère une myriade de traînées contradictoires. Selfies ont été blâmés pour avoir ruiné votre des relations, Votre peau et le la photographie lui-même. Oh, et bien sûr, vous pourriez être un psychopathe Si vous êtes un homme selfie-poster.

Mais la culture du selfie brouille de multiples pulsions: l'impulsion à se faire remarquer, à exercer un contrôle sur sa propre présentation, à témoigner, à recadrer les stéréotypes, à célébrer.

La semaine dernière en Australie, Kevin Kwok a pris video selfie devant un feu de brousse à Kundabung, dans le nord de NSW, documentant le danger qu'il était. Prévisible, il a été critiqué pour être un narcissique, pour penser à selfies plutôt que la survie, dans un écho de l'histoire de selfies-comme-pathologique que nous sommes habitués à entendre ces jours.

selfie instagramInstagram

A Lisbonne, un touriste selfie prenant accidentellement, si ironiquement, a brisé une statue de St. Michael 18th siècle, considéré par les chrétiens comme le protecteur du mal. Plus tôt cette année à Mumbai, la police a appliqué "zones de non-selfie"Essayer de prévenir les décès liés à l'autisme, en particulier dans les zones côtières sans rampes. Nous savons tous qu'il suffit de quelques microsecondes pour que les moteurs de recherche lancent des selfies de célébrités boudeuses et sang-de-bourbe semblables, en mi-twerk ou mi-biceps.

L'activiste #creatingconsentculture Amber Amour en direct les séquelles d'être violé, repoussant contre la honte des victimes et la stigmatisation avec des selfies sans remords.

De nombreux selfies corporels sur les blogs et autres plateformes de médias sociaux contribuent à la résistance à l'idéal irréaliste de la beauté féminine, ce que Naomi Wolf appelait autrefois «le mythe de la beauté».

Selfies des peuples autochtones dans différentes parties du globe sont une déclaration puissante sur la résistance à l'effacement. Une recherche rapide sur le Web utilisant le terme «selfie autochtone» révèle la diversité des communautés des Premières Nations à travers le monde, unies dans leur défi de la décimation continue des cultures autochtones.

Dalit Histoire Mois traverse les genres et amène le selfie à un niveau différent, plus collaboratif. Il est axé sur les expériences des communautés Dalit historiquement opprimées et encore violemment maltraitées en Inde. En tant que projet d'histoire radicale participatif travaillant beaucoup avec les médias sociaux, il résiste à l'étude habituelle des Dalits sans Dalits. Un projet de collaboration similaire en Australie est X autochtone.

Une étude 2013 appelée Les jeunes et le sexting en Australie: l'éthique, la représentation et la loi, a souligné les diverses pratiques qui font partie de la culture de partage de photos numériques, y compris les selfies privés, les selfies publics et les selfies blagues.

Dans l'un des documents issus de cette étude, Selfies, Sexts et Sneaky Hats, la chercheuse Kath Albury attire notre attention sur «l'ambivalence culturelle plus large et les angoisses concernant les pratiques sexuées et sexospécifiques de représentation de soi».

À la lumière de cela, nous pouvons nous demander pourquoi une telle ambivalence et une telle anxiété existent. C'est une question dont les racines sont si profondes qu'il faudra quelques années pour les fouiller. Cependant, considérer cette question nous aide à regarder au-delà de ce récit hérité du selfie-pathologie.

C'est une question qui éclaire bien l'idée que le selfie, loin d'être un mot de quatre (ou six) lettres, n'est en fait pas un mot du tout. C'est une toute autre langue, une langue qui offre à l'invisible et à l'inconnu une manière spectaculaire d'écrire.

La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Roanna Gonsalves, Universitaire de session, UNSW Australie

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = art de prendre des selfies; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The Selfie Should Not Be A Dirty Word

selfie art

Three years ago, on the 18th of November, 2013, the Oxford English Dictionary named the term “selfie” as their Word of the Year.

It was a term coined by an Australian, who took a photo of himself. He then posted it on an ABC online forum, saying, “Um, drunk at a mates 21st, I tripped ofer [sic] and landed lip first (with front teeth coming a very close second) on a set of steps. I had a hole about 1cm long right through my bottom lip. And sorry about the focus, it was a selfie”.

Today the term crops up with the regularity of death and taxes in news feeds across the world, and like death and taxes, it releases myriad conflicting contrails. Selfies have been blamed for ruining your relationships, your skin and photography itself. Oh, and of course, you might be a psychopath if you’re a selfie-posting man.

But selfie culture jams numerous urges together: the impulse to be noticed, to exert control over one’s own self-presentation, to bear witness, to reframe stereotypes, to celebrate.

Last week in Australia, Kevin Kwok took a video selfie in front of a bushfire in Kundabung, in northern NSW, documenting the danger he was in. Predictably, he was criticised for being a narcissist, for thinking of selfies rather than survival, in an echo of the selfies-as-pathological story we are accustomed to hearing these days.

selfie instagramInstagram

In Lisbon, a selfie-taking tourist accidentally, if ironically, broke an 18th century statue of St. Michael, seen by Christians as the protector from evil. Earlier this year in Mumbai, the police enforced “no-selfie zones” to try and prevent selfie-related fatalities particularly in coastal areas with no handrails. We all know that it takes only a few microseconds for search engines to throw up selfies of pouting celebrities and mudbloods alike, in mid-twerk or mid-bicep-bulge.

The #creatingconsentculture activist Amber Amour live-blogged the aftermath of being raped, pushing back against victim-shaming and stigma with unapologetic selfies.

Numerous body-positive selfies on blogs and other social media platforms are contributing to the resistance against the unrealistic ideal of feminine beauty, what Naomi Wolf once famously termed “the beauty myth”.

Selfies of indigenous people in different parts of the globe are a powerful statement about resisting erasure. A cursory web search using the term “indigenous selfie” reveals the diversity of First Nations communities across the world, united in their defiance of the continuing decimation of indigenous cultures.

Dalit History Month crosses genres and takes the selfie to a different, more collaborative, level. It is focused on the experiences of the historically oppressed and still violently abused Dalit communities in India. As a participatory radical history project working a lot with social media, it resists the usual study of Dalits without Dalits. A similar collaborative project in Australia is Indigenous X.

A 2013 study called Young people and sexting in Australia: Ethics, representation and the law, highlighted the diverse practices that are part of digital picture sharing culture, including private selfies, public selfies, and joke selfies.

In one of the papers that emerged out of this study, Selfies, Sexts, and Sneaky Hats, researcher Kath Albury draws our attention to “the broader cultural ambivalence and anxieties regarding sexed and gendered practices of self-representation”.

In light of this, we may ask why such ambivalence and anxiety exists. This is a question with roots so deep it will take a few lifetimes to excavate. However, considering this question does help us look past this legacy narrative of selfie-as-pathology.

It is a question that nicely illuminates the idea that the selfie, far from being a four (or six) letter word, is in fact not just a word at all. It is a whole other language, one that offers the unseen and unheard a spectacular way of writing back.

The Conversation

About The Author

Roanna Gonsalves, Sessional Academic, UNSW Australia

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=art of taking selfies;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…