Comment aider vos enfants à développer un sens de l'humour

Comment aider vos enfants à développer un sens de l'humour

Essayez un calembour ou un sarcasme sur un enfant en bas âge et vous êtes susceptible de dessiner un regard vide. Les bébés peuvent être encore plus difficiles à impressionner - en ignorant vos meilleures impressions de clown tout en riant d'un événement complètement aléatoire. Bien sûr, les enfants ne sont pas complètement sans humour. Mais que trouvent-ils drôle à différents âges et quand pouvons-nous nous attendre à ce qu'ils obtiennent des choses comme le sarcasme et l'ironie? La Conversation

Mon fils de deux ans a récemment commencé à attraper mon nez et faire semblant de le jeter dans la poubelle de la cuisine tout en riant hystériquement. Ce n'est peut-être pas une blague que je vais essayer lors de mon prochain dîner, mais cela montre que son sens de l'humour se développe.

L'élément principal nécessaire à l'évolution de l'humour chez les enfants est la socialisation. Les enfants doivent comprendre qu'ils partagent une expérience avec une autre personne avant de pouvoir commencer à développer un sens de l'humour. Nous le faisons généralement en riant et en partageant les réactions ensemble - un processus qui commence effectivement dès qu'un nouveau-né peut entrer en contact visuel et sourire. Le psychologue Lev Vygotsky croyait que les interactions sociales humoristiques de ce type facilite réellement le développement cognitif de l'enfant.

Cependant, un enfant doit posséder quelques compétences cognitives de base pour communiquer des blagues en premier lieu (au-delà de simplement tirer une drôle de tête). Les plus importants sont l'imagination, la capacité à adopter une perspective et un langage différents. Parce que ces capacités ont tendance à se développer à différents rythmes chez différents enfants - et continuent de croître et de changer tout au long de l'adolescence et de l'âge adulte - il n'y a pas de théorie solide qui puisse identifier des stades spécifiques du développement de l'humour.

Langue

Presque tous les types d'humour impliquent réalisation de l'incongruité entre un concept et une situation. En d'autres termes, nous rions quand les choses nous surprennent parce qu'elles semblent déplacées. Prenez par exemple la blague suivante: "Un cheval entre dans un bar et le barman dit 'pourquoi le long visage'"? C'est en partie drôle parce que les chevaux ne marchent normalement pas dans les bars. Mais le punchline "pourquoi le long visage" est amusant parce que nous ne comprenons pas pourquoi le cheval serait triste. Nous réalisons alors soudainement qu'il y a deux significations de l'expression - les chevaux ont littéralement de longs visages.

Il peut donc sembler que la langue est une condition préalable à l'humour. Les nourrissons sans langue et les enfants plus jeunes avec un langage limité apprécient généralement l'humour physique, comme un jeu de coucou. Mais ces blagues simples, impliquant moins de compétences cognitives que les blagues basées sur le langage, sont aussi sur la réalisation de l'incongruité. Peek-a-boo a un élément de surprise - quelqu'un apparaît soudainement de nulle part.

En effet, de nombreux chercheurs affirment que c'est la communication qui est la clé - et que l'humour facilite en fait le processus d'apprentissage d'une langue.

Imagination

L'imagination joue un grand rôle dans l'observation de l'incongruité. Cela aide les enfants à se situer quelque part, à jouer des rôles sociaux qu'ils n'auraient normalement pas, et même à prétendre que leur nez est sorti du corps.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


L'imagination commence à apparaître chez les enfants autour des mois 12-18. Fait intéressant, cela correspond au moment où les enfants commencent à copier les blagues des parents - en les rendant plus actifs dans la production de leur propre marque d'humour. En effet, des enfants aussi jeunes que sept mois peuvent répéter délibérément tous les comportements ça provoque des rires, comme une drôle de tête ou un jeu de peek-a-boo.

Une imagination en développement est importante pour qu'un enfant finisse par produire ses propres blagues. Cela commence à arriver d'environ deux ans, avec des blagues souvent basées sur des objets, comme placer des sous-vêtements sur la tête, ou conceptuelle, comme réclamant le "cochon dit moo".

Lorsqu'ils inventent leurs propres blagues, les enfants s'inspirent souvent de tout ce qu'ils apprennent. Fait important, cela les aide à traiter les règles sociales. Par exemple, mon fils blague souvent que son ami Lilly "caca sur le sol". C'est parce que l'entraînement au pot et les excréments sont à la pointe de sa vie en ce moment. Blague à ce sujet est un bon moyen d'apprendre sur les rituels sociaux et les émotions qui accompagnent ce processus, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les accidents.

Perspective et déception

Une autre compétence cognitive qui aide les enfants à développer de l'humour est une compréhension de la façon dont l'esprit fonctionne. Sachant que différentes personnes peuvent avoir accès à différentes connaissances ou états mentaux - et que certains peuvent avoir de fausses croyances ou être trompés - est important. Par exemple, lorsque les parents prétendent ignorer qu'un enfant se faufile pour leur faire peur, il s'agit en fait d'un exemple d'enfant qui comprend la tromperie.

En effet, certaines recherches ont montré que cette connaissance est cruciale pour les enfants à comprendre les blagues plus compliquées impliquant le sarcasme et l'ironie. Une étude a montré que certains enfants aussi jeunes que trois (mais généralement autour de cinq ans) sont capables de comprendre certaines formes d'ironie. Dans l'expérience, les enfants ont regardé un spectacle de marionnettes et ont été interrogés sur ce qu'ils ont vu. Un exemple de l'ironie était quand une marionnette a cassé une assiette et l'autre a commenté, "votre maman sera très heureuse". Certains enfants pouvaient rire et comprendre que ce n'était pas littéral et que la maman ne serait pas heureuse du tout.

D'autres recherches affirment que la compréhension de l'ironie développe par l'expérience avec l'humour lui-même plutôt que la prise de perspective ou la connaissance de la tromperie. La plaisanterie est sociale et culturelle, donc une partie de ce processus consiste à apprendre par l'interaction sociale.

Lorsque les enfants ont développé une compréhension de base des autres et une imagination, ils peuvent utiliser leur humour pour explorer les émotions possibles et réelles. Par exemple, en lançant des aliments invisibles et en hurlant de joie, «je suis en désordre», un enfant peut demander à un parent d'interpréter un scénario dans lequel il prétend être en colère. La blague leur permet d'explorer la colère en toute sécurité.

Donc, quand il s'agit de l'humour des enfants, nous devons être patients. Et Dieu merci pour ça - ces films Disney et Pixar seraient tellement plus difficiles à supporter sans les blagues de couleurs qui dépassent la tête des enfants. Pour l'instant, nous aimons juste voler des nez.

A propos de l'auteur

davis paigePaige Davis, Maître de conférences en psychologie, Université de Huddersfield, Je suis Vygotskien et psychologue du développement. Mes principaux intérêts de recherche sont le développement socio-cognitif et l'imagination, en particulier les compagnons imaginaires (CI). J'étudie actuellement si les enfants atteints d'autisme créent ces entités.

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = sens de l'humour enfantin; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How To Help Your Children Develop A Sense Of Humor

parenting

How To Help Your Children Develop A Sense Of Humor

Try a pun or some sarcasm on a toddler and you’re likely to draw a blank stare. Babies can be even harder to impress – ignoring your best clown impressions while laughing at some completely random event. Of course, children aren’t completely humourless. But what do they find funny at different ages and when can we expect them to get things like sarcasm and irony? The Conversation

My two-year-old son has recently started grabbing my nose and pretending to throw it in the kitchen bin while laughing hysterically. It may not be a joke that I’m likely to try at my next dinner party, but it shows that his sense of humour is developing.

The main element needed for humour to evolve in children is socialisation. Children must understand that they are sharing an experience with another person before they can begin to establish a sense of humour. We typically do this by laughing and sharing reactions together – a process that effectively starts as soon as a newborn can engage in eye contact and smiling. The psychologist Lev Vygotsky believed that humorous social interactions of this type actually facilitates a child’s cognitive development.

However, a child needs to posses a few basic cognitive skills to communicate jokes in the first place (beyond just pulling a funny face). The most important ones are imagination, the ability to take a different perspective and language. Because these abilities tend to develop at different rates in different children – and continue to grow and change throughout adolescence and adulthood – there is no firm theory that can pinpoint specific, age-related stages of humour development.

Language

Almost all types of humour involve a realisation of incongruity between a concept and a situation. In other words, we laugh when things surprise us because they seem out of place. Take for example the following joke: “A horse walks into a bar and the barman says ‘why the long face’”? This is partly funny because horses don’t normally walk into bars. But the punchline “why the long face” is amusing because we first don’t get why the horse would be sad. We then suddenly realise that there are two meanings of the expression – horses also literally have long faces.

It may therefore seem that language is a prerequisite for humour. Infants without language and younger children with limited language typically enjoy physical humour, such as a game of peek-a-boo. But such simple jokes, involving less cognitive skills than language-based jokes, are also about incongruity realisation. Peek-a-boo has an element of surprise – someone suddenly appearing out of nowhere.

Indeed, many researchers argue that it is communication that is key – and that humour actually facilitates the process of learning a language.

Imagination

Imagination plays a big part in spotting incongruity. It helps children place themselves somewhere different, to enact social roles that they normally wouldn’t, and even to pretend that their nose has come off of the body.

Imagination begins to appear in children around 12-18 months. Interestingly, this corresponds with the time when children are starting to copy parent’s jokes – making them more active in the production of their own brand of humour. Indeed, children as young as seven months can deliberately repeat any behaviours that elicit laughs, such as a funny face or a game of peek-a-boo.

A developing imagination is important for a child to eventually be able to produce their own jokes. This starts to happens by around two years of age, with jokes often being object-based, such as placing underwear on the head, or conceptual, such as claiming the “pig says moo”.

When making up their own jokes, children often draw inspiration from whatever they are learning about. Importantly, this helps them process social rules. For example, my son often jokes that his friend Lilly “pooped on the floor”. This is because potty training and excrement is at the forefront of his life right now. Joking about it is a good way to learn about the social rituals and emotions that go along with this process – particularly in dealing with accidents.

Perspective and deception

Another cognitive skill that helps children develop humour is an understanding of how the mind works. Knowing that different people can have access to different knowledge or mental states – and that some can have false beliefs or be deceived – is important. For example, when parents pretend to be oblivious to a child sneaking up to scare them, this is actually an example of a child understanding deception.

Indeed, some research has shown that this knowledge is crucial for children to understand more complicated jokes involving sarcasm and irony. One study showed that some children as young as three (but typically around five) are able to understand some forms of irony. In the experiment, children watched a puppet show and were asked questions about what they saw. An example of irony was when one puppet broke a plate and the other commented, “your mum will be very happy”. Some children could laugh and understand that this wasn’t literal and that the mum would in fact not be happy at all.

Other research argues that the understanding of irony develops through experience with humour itself rather than perspective taking or knowledge of deception. Joking is social and cultural, so a part of this process is having to learn through social interaction.

When children have developed a basic understanding of others and an imagination they can use their humour to explore possible and actual emotions. For example, by hurling invisible food around and yelling in glee, “I’m messy” a child can get a parent to act out a scenario in which they pretend to be angry. The joke enables them to explore anger safely.

So when it comes to children’s humour, we need to be patient. And thank goodness for that – those Disney and Pixar movies would be so much harder to sit through without the off-colour jokes that go over the children’s heads. For now, we enjoy just stealing noses.

About The Author

davis paigePaige Davis, Lecturer of Psychology, University of Huddersfield, I am a Vygotskian and a Developmental Psychologist. My main research interests are socio-cognitive development and imagination, specifically imaginary companions (ICs). I am currently investigating whether children with Autism create these entities.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Poems For Intelligent Children With a Sense of Humor (This Means You)

parentingAuthor: Jack B Jelinski
Binding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Adam Jelinski
  • Amy Sowers

Studio: Buena Suerte Books
Label: Buena Suerte Books
Publisher: Buena Suerte Books
Manufacturer: Buena Suerte Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: In this rollicking and witty collaboration on poems for children, Jack and Adam Jelinski have created a world of rhyme and illustration that is magical, touching, and, most often, downright funny. Whether the subject is a princess turning into a frog, a boy who flies with his ears, a vacationing Dalmatian, a boy who walks on his hands, a girl who eats dead fish on the beach, or a monster who unrolls to seven feet tall, Jack Jelinski creates rhymes that will tickle the fancy of young and old alike; and his son, Adam, provides finely crafted illustrations that lend a whole new dimension to the humor and fantasy. Intelligent children and the child in their parents will get a real kick out of this book whenever bedtime rolls around.




"Noses are Red" How to Nurture your child's sense of humor

parentingAuthor: Joel L. Schwartz
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: StressLessShrink Publishing
Creator(s):
  • Deborah Fisher
  • Bruce Blitz

Studio: StressLessShrink Publishing
Label: StressLessShrink Publishing
Publisher: StressLessShrink Publishing
Manufacturer: StressLessShrink Publishing

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Noses are Red will show you what is necessary at each stage of your child's development for humor to florish. It also will encourage and help you ive the gift of a sense of humor to your children and yourself. Warning: The behavior encouraged in this book is addictive and may lead to encontrollable smiling and laughing




Laughing All The Way: Your Sense of Humor Don't Leave Home Without It

parentingAuthor: John Morreall
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Motivational Press, Inc.
Label: Motivational Press, Inc.
Publisher: Motivational Press, Inc.
Manufacturer: Motivational Press, Inc.

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Based on 35 years of research, this book shows how essential humor is in

business, medicine, education, and family life. Funny images and New

Yorker cartoons by Robert Mankoff enhance the lessons.





parenting
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}