الانفتاح العظيم: الوقت ناضج للتحول

الانفتاح العظيم: الوقت ناضج للتحول

للبذرة لتحقيق أكبر تعبير لها ،
يجب أن تتراجع تمامًا.
تتصدع القذيفة ، وتخرج الدواخل وتتغير كل شيء.
إلى شخص لا يفهم النمو ،
سيبدو مثل التدمير الكامل.

-سينثيا أوكسيليوالمؤلف والمدون

الحياة لا تستوعبك. انه يحطم لك.
كل البذور تدمر الحاوية
وإلا لن يكون هناك ثمار.

-فلوريدا سكوت ماكسويلوالشاعر والكاتب المسرحي والمؤلف

نحن نعيش في عالم يبدو فيه أن كل نظام وبنية رئيسية تتراجع تمامًا. القذائف تتكسر ، الدواخل تخرج ، وكل شيء يتغير. يبدو ويشعر كما لو أن الكثير من العالم كما عرفنا أنها تتكسر ، تتهاوى ، أو يجري تدميرها.

ومع ذلك ، أرى أن هذا هو وقت الانفتاح العظيم. تحديًا وصعوبة وحتى مؤلمة كما هو الحال ، هذه هي الطريقة التي يعمل بها النمو والتطور. جزء من ما يجعلها صعبة وصعبة هو ما لدينا مقاومة لعملية النمو والتطور. إن النظر إلى ما يحدث من خلال عدسة "The Great Breaking Open" يدعو إلى وجهات نظر وإمكانيات جديدة.

التغيير يحدث بمعدلات غير مسبوقة. كل شيء يمر بمرحلة انتقالية. ولكن عندما تمر الأمور بمرحلة انتقالية ، تتحرك الطاقة وهناك فرص للتحول. التحول أسهل بكثير عندما تتغير الأمور على أي حال. يحدث الانقطاع بالفعل ، ويتم تحريك الناس ، وهم أكثر استعدادًا لتجربة أسلوب مختلف. يكون التحول أصعب عندما تكون الأشياء جامدة وثابتة.

إن الانفتاح المكشوف الذي يحدث مباشرة أمام أعيننا وتحت أقدامنا هو في الواقع خلق الظروف والمواقف والظروف التي أصبحت جاهزة للتحول. الأمر متروك لنا أن نكون واضحين ومتعمدين حول كيفية استجابتنا لما يحدث.

قطع من خلال الأساسية

"The Great Breaking Open" يتحول إلى جوهر هياكلنا الاجتماعية وإلى جوهر وجودنا كأفراد. وطالما أن الكثير منا يمكن أن يتذكر ، فإن مجتمعاتنا وحكوماتنا وشركاتنا وأنظمتنا التعليمية ركزت بشكل متزايد على النتائج قصيرة الأجل. ومع نشأة المشاكل ، نميل بشكل متزايد إلى معالجة المشكلات السطحية فقط ، والبحث عن حلول سريعة ، واختيار النتيجة الفورية الأكثر جاذبية. ونتيجة لذلك ، أهملنا بشكل متزايد الاهتمام بالضغوط التي تم بناؤها تحت السطح بسبب عدم معالجة قضايا جوهرية مهمة. لسوء الحظ ، كان هذا على حساب مستقبلنا ورفاهنا الاجتماعي.

إن "Breaking Open Open" الكبرى تجبرنا الآن على النظر إلى هذه القضايا الأساسية. وهذه القضايا الأساسية تحتاج إلى أكثر من مجرد "إصلاحات". بدلاً من ذلك ، فإنها تتطلب أشكالاً جديدة وهياكل جديدة ومناهج جديدة وسياسات جديدة. وهذا يتطلب منا خلق طرق جديدة للحياة والعمل معاً.

عالم VUCA؟ متقلبة ، غير مؤكد ، معقدة ، و غامضة

بعد انتهاء الحرب الباردة ، وصفت كلية الحرب للجيش الأمريكي العالم بأنه متقلب وغير واضح ومعقد وغامض. اختصار VUCA ، الذي تم إنشاؤه من تلك الكلمات الوصفية الأربعة ، ظهر لأول مرة في أواخر 1990s.

بعد الهجمات الإرهابية في سبتمبر 11 ، 2001 ، تم تبني هذا المصطلح من قبل عالم الأعمال لوصف الاضطراب والفوضى والتغيير السريع الذي أصبح منذ ذلك الحين "عاديًا جديدًا" - اضطرابات سياسية واقتصادية واجتماعية ؛ هجمات إرهابية؛ الهياكل الحكومية القادمة التراجع. لا شيء من هذه الأشياء موجودة في عزلة. إنهم جميعًا متصلون ببعضهم وجزءًا من قصة أكبر - القصة المستمرة للتنمية والتطور البشري والاجتماعي.

على السطح ، إنه عالم VUCA. ومع ذلك ، هناك تحول زلزالي يحدث تحت الانهيار المفتوح للأنظمة والهياكل والمجتمعات - إنها كسر مفتوح للروح البشرية. وأعتقد أنه إذا ما أولينا الاهتمام ، فإن هذا الأمر الأعمق هو الانفتاح على الروح البشرية التي تمتلك القوة لمستقبلنا.

وأنا على ثقة من أننا إذا ما ركزنا على النضال والاضطراب ، فسوف نجد رؤية أكبر لعالمنا تنتظرنا منذ بعض الوقت. يبدو أن The Great Breaking Open يخبرنا أن الروح البشرية قد بدأت تنفد وأصبحت هناك حاجة إلى رؤية أكبر. لقد حان وقت الحركة والعمل الآن.

كسر فتح ليس مكانا مريحا ليكون

إن كسر الروح الإنسانية ليس مكانًا مريحًا. وما يجعل الأمر غير مريح على وجه الخصوص هو أننا لا نشهده فقط ؛ نحن تعاني ذلك. كلنا. الممنوحة ، وبعضها على الخطوط الأمامية أكثر من غيرها. ومع ذلك ، يتم التطرق إلى الجميع بطريقة ما. كسر فتح هو مجرد مظاهر بطرق مختلفة لأشخاص مختلفين.

كثير من الناس يعانون من كسر فتح روح البقاء على قيد الحياة الأساسية ، مدفوعا بحاجتهم الإنسانية الأساسية ليتم إظهارها الكرامة والاحترام. فكر في مئات الآلاف من اللاجئين الذين فروا من بلدانهم وخاطروا بحياتهم وأطفالهم للحصول على فرصة لشيء أفضل. فكر في جميع الأشخاص الذين تعرضوا للقمع أو التحيز بسبب لون جلدهم أو تحديد جنسهم أو خلفيتهم العرقية أو الاقتصادية ، والذين طال انتظارهم كأعضاء متساوين في المجتمع.

آخرون يختبرون الانفتاح المفاجئ من الغضب المكبوت ، والألم ، والاستياء ، والخوف الذي لم يعد من الممكن احتواؤه. عندما ينفجر الغضب والألم ، يمكن أن تظهر النتيجة على أنها عنف أو تعصب. لم يشعروا بالاحترام أو التقدير أو التقدير. إنهم يعتقدون أنهم يتعرضون للغش من قبل الأنظمة المصممة "لإبقائهم في مكانهم". وهناك أدلة على أنهم ، في كثير من الحالات ، على حق.

ومع ذلك ، يشعر الآخرون بقلوبهم مفتوحة للوعي بأن الجميع وكل شيء متشابك. لم يعد بإمكانهم فصل أنفسهم عن آلام الآخرين ومعاناتهم. وعلى نحو متزايد ، فإن رحمتهم تدفعهم إلى الخدمة. وقد استجابت مجتمعات كاملة للاجئين مع تدفق هائل من الدعم. لقد فتح الناس بيوتهم للغرباء من الأراضي البعيدة ورعاية أسر اللاجئين. لقد سافر الناس من جميع أنحاء العالم على نفقتهم الخاصة لتقديم المعونة في المناطق التي مزقتها الحروب أو الأماكن التي شهدت كوارث. وشارك آخرون بشكل عميق في حركات العمل الاجتماعي السلمية أو تطوعوا بانتظام لمساعدتهم في مطابخ الحساء والملاجئ المشردة ووكالات الخدمات الأخرى.

إنها ليست المرة الأولى التي يحدث فيها هذا ، ولن يكون الأخير. ومع ذلك ، فمن الأهمية بمكان أن ننتبه إلى هذا الانفتاح المفتوح الآن ، سواء داخل دوائرنا أو خارجها. إن الروح البشرية أقوى وأقوى وأكثر مرونة مما تصور الكثير منا. إنها أكبر بكثير من أي روح وطنية أو روح أي حزب سياسي أو دين أو طبقة اقتصادية. الروح البشرية ليس لها انتماء اقتصادي أو سياسي أو ديني. لديها الانسان الانتماء. ولديها إحساس قوي بمكانها داخل عالم أكثر من إنسان.

حان الوقت للحصول على حلم أكبر

إن الروح البشرية آخذة في الانفتاح لتظهر لنا بعبارات لا لبس فيها أننا نحلم بحلم صغير جدا ، ونحمل رؤيا صغيرة جدا. نظرًا لأن نظرتنا للمستقبل قد أصبحت أقصر بشكل متزايد خلال العقود الماضية ، فإن أحلامنا الجماعية لما يمكن تحقيقه قد أصبحت أصغر.

لقد مر أكثر من خمسين عاما منذ أن ألهم القس مارتن لوثر كينغ العالم بخطابه "لدي حلم" في 1963 March في واشنطن - أكثر من خمسين عاما منذ تحدى الرئيس جون كنيدي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الذهاب إلى القمر. التكرار التالي لعالمنا ينتظر أن يولد. حان الوقت لحلم أكبر.

في الوقت نفسه ، هناك ردة فعل قوية وصخب كبير من أولئك الذين يرتبطون بنظام معتقد معين ، وهو أسلوب حياة لم يعد متزامناً مع مجتمع ووعي سريع التطور ، وأولئك الذين يشعرون بالترك ، سواء اجتماعيا أو اقتصاديا أو روحيا. هذا كله جزء من الانفتاح العظيم للروح البشرية.

عندما ينفجر السد الذي يعيق المشاعر والعواطف في الوعي الإنساني ، يتدفق الطيف الكامل من الاستجابة. إن المجموعة الكاملة من التجارب والعواطف البشرية أوسع بكثير مما يمكن للعديد منا أن يلتف حولنا. من الناحية الفكرية ، من الصعب فهم عمق واتساع ما يشهده بعض إخواننا من بني البشر. كما لا يمكننا أن نفهم فكريًا الإجراءات التي يتخذها بعض إخواننا من البشر ، أو الأعطال الهائلة للنظام التي تحدث في كل مكان. في الجهود التي نبذلها لوضع ما يجري في سياق أبسط يمكننا أن نفهمه ، نضع فقط علامة عليه ، مثل تسمية "عالم VUCA".

ومع ذلك ، في حين أن عقولنا الفكرية تغمرها بسهولة كل ما يحدث ، لدينا قلوب لديهم القدرة على استيعاب كل شيء. وهنا يكمن التحول الأساسي الذي يحاول أن يحدث من خلال فتح الكبير العظيم. إذا كنا راغبين في تجاوز مخاوف العقل والغضب والشكوك وعدم الراحة ، حتى ولو لحظات قليلة فقط ، وركّز اهتمامنا على وعي القلب وفهمه وحكمته ، فإن شيئًا ما يتغير في إدراكنا لمكان وجودنا وماذا يحدث.

اتساع الانقسام بين الرأس والقلب

يمتلك قلب الإنسان قدرة خارقة على احتضان الطيف الكامل لما يحدث بدون حكم ، وبطريقة ما ، يبدأ في فهمه. في مكان ما من خلال معرفتنا الكبيرة ، يبدأ مستوى جديد من الفهم في الظهور.

كمجتمع ، نحن لا نمارس جدا في الاعتراف بمشاعر القلب العميقة وترك القلب يبين لنا الطريق إلى الأمام. نحن لا نمارس بشكل كبير مع المشاعر والخبرات غير المريحة. بدلاً من ذلك ، فإننا نميل إلى أن نكتسح بسرعة من مشاعرنا ونرتد إلى الرأس (حيث تشعر أكثر أمانًا!) بـ "معرفة" كيفية التعامل مع هذه المشاعر وما يجب علينا فعله بعد ذلك.

ونتيجة لذلك ، يحدث أمران.

أولاً ، لا نعطي القلب فرصة لفعل ما هو جيد فعلاً - لإعطاء الصورة الأكبر وجعلنا نتفهمها ونفهمها.

ثانياً ، نخلق انشقاق داخل أنفسنا ، فردياً وجماعياً ، يزيد من فصل الرأس عن القلب. هذا الفصل يخلق فجوة أوسع بين العقل والحدس ، بين النفس والروح. نواصل تفكيك الشراكات في داخلنا والتي تعتبر ضرورية للتشغيل الكامل لتكنولوجيا الطاقة البشرية.

وبينما ينمو هذا التقسيم على نطاق أوسع ، فإننا نزيد من احتمالات أننا ، في مرحلة ما ، سوف نتفكك بحثًا عن كمالنا وإمكانياتنا الكبيرة ، تماماً كما يجب أن تتفتح البذور من أجل النمو. إن إمكاناتنا الفطرية ، سواء بشكل فردي أو جماعي كمجتمعات وأنظمة تنظيمية ، هي قوة قوية تريد أن يتم التعبير عنها بشكل كامل وأن تتشكل.

إذا لم نكن نعترف بهذه الإمكانات وخلقنا أفضل الظروف الممكنة لكي تتشكل ، فسوف ينفجر في النهاية من رغبته في التعبير عنها بشكل كامل. وللعودة إلى تشبيه البذور من الاقتباسات التي فتحت هذا الفصل ، يمكن أن يصبح الضغط المتزايد داخل البذور من أجل الحياة والتطور إلى الأمام في نهاية المطاف أكبر من اللازم ، ويمكن أن تنفجر البذور.

Floodgates كسر مفتوحة

هذا ما نراه يحدث اليوم. تفتح الأبواب المغلقة التي تمنع الإمكانات البشرية والخبرة والعاطفة من الانفتاح. كلما اتسعت الفجوة بين الرأس والقلب في مجتمعنا ، كلما شهدنا ظروفًا وأحداثًا مثل ما لدينا الآن. بدلاً من خلق الاستقرار والأمان ، سنستمر في إنشاء عالم VUCA.

إن القلب مفعم بالاعتراف بالروح البشرية والاعتراف بها. كما أنها متناغمة تمامًا مع الإمكانيات الكبيرة الناشئة ، سواء داخلنا كأفراد أو في إطار علاقاتنا ، وأنظمتنا ، ومنظماتنا ، ومشاريعنا ، ورؤيتنا.

في الوقت نفسه ، يمتلك القلب قدرة فطرية هائلة على استيعاب الطيف الكامل من الأفكار والمشاعر والعواطف ، فضلاً عن الصورة الكبيرة للظروف والحالات. لديه القدرة على قبول كل شيء ببساطة كمعلومات ، دون الحكم على أنها جيدة أو سيئة ، صواب أو خطأ. يدمج القلب تلك المعلومات في وعينا ويتواصل مع فهمه الجديد للفكر. يستطيع العقل عندئذ تنظيم تلك المعلومات وتخزينها في نظام حفظ الملفات غير العادي الخاص به حتى نتمكن من الوصول إليه عند الطلب.

في البداية ، قد نختبر هذا التواصل فقط باعتباره "معرفة أو استشعارًا داخليًا". قد لا يتمكن العقل من وصف التجربة بكلمات على الفور. ومع ذلك ، إذا كنا سنكون صبورين فقط ، والبقاء على اتصال بالقلب ، ونمنح أنفسنا بعض الوقت ، سيبدأ العقل في العثور على كلمات للتعبير عن منظورنا الجديد وفهمنا.

التحديات: القدرة على خلق شيء جديد

يقدم لنا عالم VUCA تحديات غير مسبوقة. ومع ذلك ، إذا تراجعنا عن تلك التحديات ، فإننا نجد أيضًا فرصًا هائلة. واحدة من تعاليم الحكمة القديمة التي يمكن أن تساعدنا على فهم أفضل لكيفية عمل العالم هي مبدأ قطبية. يخبرنا هذا المبدأ أنه لا يمكن أن يوجد شيء بدون إمكانية وجود عكسه أيضًا. لذلك ، لا يمكن أن يوجد تحدي ما لم يكن هناك أيضا إمكانية لخلق شيء جديد. هذا هو السبب في أنني أشير إلى ما يحدث اليوم باسم "فتح كسر العظيم" بدلاً من "الانهيار العظيم".

لقد حان الوقت لتغيير نهجنا الأساسي في الحياة. على مستوى الوعي الجماعي ، نحن نرغب في الانخراط في الحياة أولاً من الرأس ، وفي بعض الأحيان فقط نشرك القلب لتنعيم الحواف. لقد حان الوقت لتحويل ذلك. لقد حان الوقت للانخراط أولاً من القلب لجمع المعلومات ورؤية الصورة الكبيرة ، ومن ثم جلب الفكر لفعل ما هو الأفضل - للتنظيم ، ووضع الاستراتيجيات ، والانتقال إلى عمل فعّال قائم على الصورة الكبيرة للقلب. .

© 2017 by Alan Seale. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من المؤلف و
مركز الحضور التحويلي.

المادة المصدر

الوجود التحويلي: كيف تحدث فرقاً في عالم سريع التغير
من جانب آلان سيل.

الوجود التحويلي: كيف تحدث فرقاً في عالم سريع التغير بقلـم آلان سيل.الوجود التحويلي هو دليل أساسي لـ: الأشخاص الذين يرغبون في الانتقال إلى ما هو أبعد من رؤيتهم إلى عمل ؛ القادة الذين يتنقلون في الإقليم الجديد المجهول والرائد ؛ الأفراد والمؤسسات الملتزمون بالعيش في أعظم إمكاناتهم ؛ المدربون والموجهون والمعلمون يدعمون أعظم الإمكانات في الآخرين ؛ الموظفون العموميون الملتزمون بإحداث فرق ؛ وأي شخص يريد المساعدة في إنشاء عالم يعمل. عالم جديد ، قواعد جديدة ، مقاربات جديدة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. متوفر أيضًا بتنسيق Kindle.

عن المؤلف

آلان سيلألان سيل هو مؤلف حائز على جائزة ، ومصدر إلهام ، وحافز التحول ، ومؤسس ومدير مركز التحوّل التحويلي. وهو مبتكر برنامج التدريب على القيادة التحويلية وتدريب المدربين الذي لديه الآن خريجين من أكثر من دول 35. وتشمل كتبه حياة بديهية, Soul Mission * Life Vision, عجلة الإظهار, قوة وجودكم, خلق العالم الذي يعمل ، ومؤخرا ، مجموعة كتابه ، الوجود التحويلي: كيف تحدث فرقاً في عالم سريع التغير. تُنشر كتبه حاليًا باللغات الإنجليزية والهولندية والفرنسية والروسية والنرويجية والرومانية وقريبًا باللغة البولندية. تخدم ألان حاليًا عملاءًا من ست قارات وتحتفظ بجدول محاضرات وتعليم كامل في جميع أنحاء الأمريكتين وأوروبا. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في http://www.transformationalpresence.org/

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Alan Seale؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Great Breaking Open: The Time Is Ripe For Transformation

The Great Breaking Open: The Time Is Ripe For Transformation

For a seed to achieve its greatest expression,
it must come completely undone.
The shell cracks, its insides come out and everything changes.
To someone who doesn’t understand growth,
it would look like complete destruction.

Cynthia Occelli, author and blogger

Life does not accommodate you; it shatters you.
Every seed destroys its container
or else there would be no fruition.

Florida Scott-Maxwell, poet, playwright, and author

We’re living in a world where it seems that every major system and structure is coming completely undone. The shells are cracking, the insides are coming out, and everything is changing. It looks and feels as though much of the world as we have known it is breaking down, falling apart, or being destroyed.

Yet I see this as a time of the Great Breaking Open. Challenging, difficult, and even painful as it might be, this is how growth and evolution work. Part of what makes it challenging and difficult is our resistance to the growth and evolution process. Looking at what is happening through the lens of the Great Breaking Open invites new perspectives and possibilities.

Change is happening at unprecedented rates. Everything is in transition. Yet when things are in transition, energy is moving and there are opportunities for transformation. Transformation is much easier when things are shifting anyway. Disruption is already happening, people are stirred up, and they’re more willing to try a different approach. Transformation is much harder when things are rigid and fixed.

The breaking open that is happening right before our eyes and under our feet is actually creating conditions, situations, and circumstances that are ripe for transformation. It’s up to us to be clear and intentional about how we respond to what is happening.

Cutting Through To The Core

The Great Breaking Open is cutting through to the core of our societal structures and to the core of our being as individuals. For as long as many of us can remember, our societies, governments, businesses, and education systems have increasingly focused on short-term, bottom-line results. As problems have arisen, we have increasingly tended to address only the surface issues, looked for quick fixes, and opted for the most attractive immediate result. As a result, we have increasingly neglected to pay attention to the pressures that have been building under the surface because important core issues have not been addressed. Unfortunately, this has been at the expense of our future and our societal wellbeing.

The Great Breaking Open is now forcing us to look at these core issues. And these core issues need more than just “fixes.” Instead, they require new forms, new structures, new approaches, and new policies. And that will require us to create new ways of living and working together.

A VUCA World? Volatile, Uncertain, Complex, And Ambiguous

After the end of the Cold War, the U.S. Army War College described the world as volatile, uncertain, complex, and ambiguous. The acronym VUCA, created from those four descriptive words, first appeared in the late 1990s.

After the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the term was adopted by the business world to describe the turbulence, chaos, and rapid change that has since become the “new normal”—political, economic, and social unrest; terrorist attacks; government structures coming undone. None of these things exist in isolation. They are all somehow connected and part of a much larger story—the ongoing story of human and social development and evolution.

On the surface, it’s a VUCA world. Yet there’s a seismic shift going on underneath the breaking open of systems, structures, and societies—it’s the breaking open of the human spirit. I believe that, if we pay attention, it is this deeper breaking open of the human spirit that holds the power for our future.

I am confident that if we focus beyond the struggle and upheaval, we will find a bigger vision of our world that has been waiting for us for some time. The Great Breaking Open seems to be telling us that the human spirit has grown impatient and a bigger vision is now required. The time for movement and action is now.

Breaking Open Is Not A Comfortable Place To Be

The breaking open of the human spirit is not a comfortable place to be. And what makes it particularly uncomfortable is that we are not just witnessing it; we are experiencing it. All of us. Granted, some are on the front lines more than others. However, everyone is touched in some way. The breaking open is just manifesting in different ways for different people.

Many people are experiencing the breaking open of their fundamental survival spirit, driven by their basic human need to be shown dignity and respect. Think of the hundreds of thousands of refugees who have fled their home countries and risked their lives and their children’s lives for the chance for something better. Think of all the people who have endured repression or prejudice due to the color of their skin, their gender identification, or their ethnic or economic background, and who long to be accepted as equal members of society.

Others are experiencing the breaking open of suppressed rage, pain, resentment, and fear that can no longer be contained. As their rage and pain explodes, the result can manifest as violence or fanaticism. They have not felt seen, respected, or valued. They believe that they are being cheated by systems designed to “keep them in their place.” And there is evidence that, in many cases, they’re right.

Yet others are feeling their hearts breaking open to the awareness that everyone and everything is interconnected. They can no longer separate themselves from the pain and suffering of others. Increasingly, their compassion is moving them into service. Whole communities have responded to the refugees with enormous outpourings of support. People have opened their homes to strangers from far-away lands and sponsored refugee families. People from all over the world have traveled at their own expense to provide aid in war-torn regions or places that have experienced catastrophes. Others have been deeply involved in peaceful social action movements or have regularly volunteered their help in soup kitchens, homeless shelters, and other service agencies.

It’s not the first time that this has happened, and it won’t be the last. Yet it’s critical that we pay attention to this breaking open now, both within our own circles and beyond. The human spirit is stronger, more powerful, and more resilient than many of us have ever imagined. It’s much bigger than any national spirit or the spirit of any political party, religion, or economic class. The human spirit has no economic, political, or religious affiliation. It has a human affiliation. And it has a strong sense of its place within a more-than-human world.

It’s Time For A Bigger Dream

The human spirit is breaking open to show us in no uncertain terms that we have been dreaming too small a dream, holding too small a vision. As our view of the future has gotten increasingly shorter over the last decades, our collective dreams of what could be possible have gotten smaller.

It’s been more than fifty years since the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King inspired the world with his “I have a dream” speech at the 1963 March on Washington—more than fifty years since President John F. Kennedy challenged the United States of America to go to the moon. The next iteration of our world is waiting to be born. It’s time for a bigger dream.

At the same time, there is a great backlash and outcry from those who are attached to a particular belief system, a way of life that is no longer in sync with a rapidly evolving society and consciousness, and those who are feeling left behind, whether socially, economically, or spiritually. This is all a part of the Great Breaking Open of the human spirit.

When the dam holding back feelings and emotions in the human consciousness breaks open, the full spectrum of response comes flooding out. The full spectrum of human experiences and emotions is so much wider than many of us can wrap our heads around. Intellectually, it’s difficult to comprehend the depth and breadth of what some of our fellow human beings are experiencing. Nor can we intellectually understand the actions that some of our fellow human beings take, or the massive system breakdowns that are happening everywhere. In our efforts to put what is happening into a simpler context that we can understand, we just put a label on it, such as calling it a “VUCA world.”

Yet while our intellectual minds are easily overwhelmed by all that is happening, our hearts actually have the capacity to take it all in. And herein lies the fundamental shift that is trying to happen through the Great Breaking Open. If we are willing to step beyond the intellect’s fears, anger, doubts, and discomfort, even for just a few moments, and focus our attention on the awareness, understanding, and wisdom of the heart, something changes in our perception of where we are and what is happening.

The Widening Split Between Head and Heart

The human heart has an uncanny ability to embrace the full spectrum of what is happening without judgment, and, somehow, to begin making sense of it. Somewhere from within our greater knowing, a new level of understanding begins to emerge.

As a society, we’re not very practiced at acknowledging the deep feelings of the heart and letting the heart show us the way forward. We’re not very practiced at being with uncomfortable emotions and experiences. Instead, we tend to become quickly overwhelmed by our feelings and run to the head (where it feels safer!) to “figure out” how to deal with these feelings and what we should do next.

As a result, two things happen.

First, we don’t give the heart a chance to do what it’s really good at—to intuit the bigger picture and bring us clarity and understanding.

Second, we create a split within ourselves, both individually and collectively, further separating head from heart. That separation creates an increasingly wider gap between intellect and intuition, between ego and soul. We keep breaking apart the partnerships within us that are essential to the full functioning of the human energy technology.

As that split grows wider, we increase the odds that, at some point, we will crack open in search of our own wholeness and greater potential, just as the seed must crack open in order to grow. Our innate potential, individually as well as collectively as societies and organizational systems, is a powerful force that wants to be fully expressed and come into form.

If we don’t acknowledge that potential and create the best possible conditions for it to come into form, it will eventually burst open out of its desire to be fully expressed. To return to the seed analogy from the quotes that opened this chapter, the increasing pressure within the seed for life and forward evolution can ultimately become too great, and the seed can explode.

The Floodgates Are Breaking Open

This is what we see happening today. The floodgates holding back human potential, experience, and emotion are breaking open. The wider the split gets between head and heart in our society, the more we will witness circumstances and events such as we have now. Instead of creating stability and safety, we will continue creating a VUCA world.

The heart is well attuned to recognize and acknowledge the human spirit. It is also fully attuned to the emerging greater potentials, both within us as individuals as well as within our relationships, systems, organizations, projects, and visions.

At the same time, the heart has an enormous innate capacity for embracing the full spectrum of thoughts, feelings, and emotions, as well as the big picture of circumstances and situations. It has the capacity to accept everything simply as information, without judging it as good or bad, right or wrong. The heart integrates that information into our awareness and communicates its new understanding to the intellect. The intellect can then organize that information and store it in its extraordinary filing system so that we can access it on demand.

At first, we may experience this communication only as an “inner knowing or sensing.” The intellect may not be able to describe the experience in words right away. However, if we will just be patient, stay connected to the heart, and give ourselves a little time, the intellect will begin to find words to express our new perspective and understanding.

Challenges: The Potential For Creating Something New

Our VUCA world presents us with unprecedented challenges. Yet if we drop underneath those challenges, we also find enormous opportunities. One of the ancient wisdom teachings that can help us better understand how the world works is the Principle of Polarity. This principle tells us that nothing can exist without the possibility of its opposite also being present. Therefore, a challenge cannot exist unless there is also potential for creating something new. This is why I refer to what is happening today as the Great Breaking Open instead of the “great breaking down.”

It’s time for a shift in our fundamental approach to life. At the mass consciousness level, we’re conditioned to engage with life first from the head and only occasionally engage the heart to soften the edges. It’s time to turn that around. It’s time to engage first from the heart to gather information and see the big picture, and then bring in the intellect to do what it does best—to organize, strategize, and move into effective action based on the big-picture view of the heart.

©2017 by Alan Seale. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the author and 
The Center for Transformational Presence.

Article Source

Transformational Presence: How To Make a Difference In a Rapidly Changing World
by Alan Seale.

Transformational Presence: How To Make a Difference In a Rapidly Changing World by Alan Seale.Transformational Presence is an essential guide for: Visionaries who want to move beyond their vision into action; Leaders who are navigating the unknown and pioneering new territory; Individuals and Organizations committed to living into their greatest potential; Coaches, Mentors, and Educators supporting the greatest potential in others; Public servants committed to making a difference; and Anyone who wants to help create a world that works. New World, New Rules, New Approaches.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. Also available in Kindle format.

About the Author

Alan SealeAlan Seale is an award-winning author, inspirational speaker, transformation catalyst, and founder and director of the Center for Transformational Presence. He is the creator of the Transformational Presence Leadership and Coach Training program which now has graduates from more than 35 countries. His books include Intuitive LivingSoul Mission * Life VisionThe Manifestation WheelThe Power of Your PresenceCreate a World That Works, and most recently, his two-book set, Transformational Presence: How To Make a Difference In a Rapidly Changing World. His books are currently published in English, Dutch, French, Russian, Norwegian, Romanian, and soon in Polish. Alan currently serves clients from six continents and maintains a full teaching and lecture schedule throughout the Americas and Europe. Visit his website at http://www.transformationalpresence.org/

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Alan Seale;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…