التعامل مع الشيطان قد تم منذ فترة طويلة جزء من الطب

دين

مع الشيطان وقد تم طويل جزء من الطبرسوم توضيحية من نورنبيرغ كرونيكل ، من هارتمان شيدل (1440-1514)

في شتاء 1566 ، بدأ الأطفال 30 في أمستردام تظهر علامات على وجود مضايقة مقلقة. الأعراض ستقع دون سابق إنذار: الأطفال سيتعرضون في البداية إلى جنون عنيف ، ثم يسقطون على الأرض ، وتكسر أجسادهم بتشنجات مؤلمة. وبمجرد انتهاء النوبات ، لم يبلغ الأطفال عن ذكرهم.

بدا هذا بالفعل وكأنه عمل الشيطان ، ولكن تم وضع أي شكوك مستعصية عندما بدأ الأطفال يتقيئون أشياء غريبة ، مثل الدباب وشظايا الزجاج. كانوا يختبرون ، على ما يبدو ، امتلاك شيطاني جماعي. ستتم محاولة طرد الأرواح الشريرة المتعددة ، ولكن ليس قبل أن تستنفد أولاً خبرة الأطباء ، الذين عملوا في كثير من الأحيان إلى جانب المعالجين الكنسيين للتخفيف من آثار مثل هذه الاعتداءات الشيطانية.

بعد ذلك بوقت قصير ، في دوق كليف القريب ، قرأ الطبيب المتعلم يوهان واير حول هذه الملكية الجماعية ، ووصل إليه من خلال حساب المستشار في جيلدرلاند. كان اهتمامه المهنية. لم يكن ويير نفسه يعتقد أن أشياء غريبة قد تقيأت بالفعل ، لكنه لم يشكك في أن السلطات الموثوقة قد شهدت حدوث ذلك. كما أنه لم ينكر الوكالة الشيطانية.

بدلا من ذلك ، أعاد تفسير نطاق القوة الشيطانية للتأكيد على وضع الشيطان منذ أمد طويل كخادع رئيسي. وقال إن الانقلاب الاستثنائي كان مجرد وهم ، وهو تجسيد مشترك في حقيقة الأمر للأمراض الطبيعية التي كثيراً ما يسببها الشيطان.

في مواجهة تقييم فيير ، لا تزال الحساسيات الحديثة تترنح. ويبدو أن شكوك الطبيب قد تم مواجهتها قريباً من خلال جدل غير مفهوم في وكالة الشيطان. نحن مضطرون إلى أن نسأل: "ولكن ما الذي حدث بالفعل؟" تفسيرات وقد عرضت لتقارير مماثلة للحيازة الشيطانية ، وغالبا ما تستدعي فئات من الطب الحديث أو تشير إلى إمكانية الاحتيال (الذي كان ينظر إليه بجدية من قبل في وقت مبكر من الحداثة كذلك).

لكن هذا لا يعطينا سوى رؤية محدودة لمشهد أكبر بكثير وأكثر تعقيدا للشفاء في الفترة الحديثة المبكرة. كان هذا هو الوقت الذي شكل فيه الإيمان المتنامي بالنشاط الشيطاني في العالم الطبيعي بصدق شكل الفهم والخبرة المرضية.

الاعتراف بالحيازة

تم نشر تقرير واير عن الحيازة الجماعية في أمستردام في البداية كجزء صغير من تقييمه الأوسع للقوة الشيطانية في طبعة 1568 من كتابه على أوهام الشياطين. هناك ، نجد العديد من الحالات التي تشير إلى العلامات المميزة التي يبحث عنها المحترفون الذين يشتبهون في نشاط الشيطان.

بالإضافة إلى الفسيولوجية - مثل الألم الجسدي والتشنجات - تم البحث عن المزيد من الإشارات النفسية ، مثل إظهار المعرفة المخفية ، والتنبؤ ، والأكسجين ، والتي تنطوي على التحدث بلغات غير متعلمة (خاصة مع التعديلات الصوتية الغريبة). وكثيراً ما تتضمن التقارير عن الحيازة الشيطانية طرد أجسام غريبة ، مثل ، في الحالات الأكثر تطرفاً أو السكاكين أو الثعابين الحية. على الرغم من هذه الأعراض الاستثنائية ، لم يكن تشخيص الأمراض الشيطانية صريحًا دائمًا.

يخبرنا عمل واير الكثير عن الطرق المتنوعة التي كان يعتقد أن الشيطان يعمل بها ، سواء في الوهم أو في الواقع - والطرق التي يكون بها هذا الدواء المعقد في وقته. الشيطان ، الذي كان يسمى في كثير من الأحيان "أمير هذا العالم" ، كان يُفهم على وجه التحديد ذلك. فبدلاً من امتلاك قوة خارقة للطبيعة حقًا ، كان يُفهم أن الشيطان وشياطينه يقتصران على العمل في الطبيعة ، وهو ما فعلاه في كثير من الأحيان بطرق نجت من الفهم البشري. تضمنت هذه القوى الطبيعية القدرة على التلاعب بالأرواح الأربعة التي يعتقد أنها تحكم الصحة. وهذا يعني أن أي مرض طبيعي ، من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن أن يخفي يد الشيطان كسبب رئيسي له.

عادة لا يتم النظر في إمكانية وجود وكالة شيطانية ما لم تكن الأدوية الطبيعية قد أثبتت فعاليتها في البداية ، ولكن الدواء غير الفعال لم يؤخذ دون إبطاء للإشارة إلى سبب شيطاني. كما أن الاختلاجات الجسدية ، على سبيل المثال ، كانت مرتبطة أيضًا بالأمراض الطبيعية مثل الصرع ، والذي كان يُفهم بالفعل أنه لا يمكن التنبؤ به ومزمناً وغير قابل للشفاء. بالنسبة للأطباء ، لم تكن الوكالة الشيطانية مجرد تفسير للأمراض التي لا يمكن تفسيرها: فقد كانت واحدة من العديد من التفسيرات المحتملة للأمراض التي قد يتم تشخيصها في حالات أخرى على أنها طبيعية بحتة.

في حين أن نشاط الشيطان قد يكون تخصصًا للكاهن ، إلا أن الأعراض النفسية الجسدية المرتبطة بالحيازة الشيطانية تتطلب أيضًا خبرة الطبيب في بحث إمكانية وجود علاقة سببية طبيعية بحتة.

شفاء يمتلك

مثل اليوم ، كان التشخيص الطبي في الفترة الحديثة المبكرة مليئًا بالصعوبات. كان الأطباء المجهزين نادرة ومكلفة ، وفي الواقع كان معظم الشفاء يحدث في المنزل وبين الجيران ، كما كان منذ فترة طويلة القاعدة. في الحالات الشديدة ، بدلاً من مواجهة حالة عدم اليقين لدى الطبيب المتعلم - أو ما هو أسوأ من ذلك ، فإن العزم على أن المرض كان غير قابل للشفاء في الواقع - معظمهم يفضلون عون الكاهن بشكل طبيعي ، الذي كان أكثر سهولة بكثير ، وغالباً ما يكون مجهزًا بشكل أفضل لمساعدة المرضى تتصالح مع مرضهم.

وفي الواقع العملي ، كانت الحدود بين العلاج الكنسي والطب أكثر مرونة من المصطلحين "الكاهن" و "الطبيب". هذه الحدود كانت تمر بانتظام في طرد الأرواح الشريرة من المعالجين الذين وضعوا كلا من الأدوية الطبيعية والصلاة في الرد على الآلام الشيطانية.

التعامل مع الشيطان قد تم منذ فترة طويلة جزء من الطبامرأة مسورة تقيأت. قطع خشبية ، 1720. مجموعة ويلكوم, CC BY

وخلص واير إلى أن أكثر الإشارات غير العادية للحيازة الجماعية في أمستردام كانت خادعة ، مما يترك الأعراض المتبقية - وبالتالي الآلام الشيطانية بشكل عام - أكثر سهولة للتدخل الطبي. بالنسبة له ، كانت الوكالة الشيطانية عاملاً حقيقياً في التفاوض الدقيق على التشخيص والعلاج. ما فهمه أنه الآليات الطبيعية للنشاط الشيطاني كان يعني أن الممارسين الطبيين كان لهم دور دائم في معالجة أعراض الآلام الشيطانية.

اليوم ، أكثر من 400 سنوات على الكهنة الكاثوليك في أمريكا يقال طلبات ميدانية ل exorcisms ترقيم بالآلاف كل عام. أول ملجأ لهم هو المهنيين في مجال الصحة العقلية ، مما يكفل استمرارية مع طرد الارواح الشريرة كما كان يمارس في وقت واير. في هذا الصدد ، فإن المهنيين الذين يواجهون تقارير عن حيازة شيطانية اليوم يتفقون مع أوائل أسلافهم المعاصرين: استدعاء الطبيب أولاً.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

لورا سومرال ، زميلة Predoctoral الزائرة ، معهد ماكس بلانك لتاريخ العلوم

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

دين
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Dealing With The Devil Has Long Been A Part Of Medicine

religion

aling With Devil Has Long Been A Part Of MedicineIllustrations from the Nuremberg Chronicle, by Hartmann Schedel (1440-1514)

In the winter of 1566, 30 children in Amsterdam began to show signs of a disturbing affliction. The symptoms would strike without warning: the children would at first be seized by a violent frenzy, then fall to the ground, their bodies wracked with painful convulsions. Once the fits had passed, the children reported no memory of them.

This already looked like the work of the devil, but any lingering doubts were put to rest when the children began vomiting strange objects, like pins and shards of glass. They were experiencing, it seemed, a mass demonic possession. Multiple exorcisms would be attempted, but not before first exhausting the expertise of physicians, who often worked alongside ecclesiastical healers to mitigate the effects of such demonic assaults.

Shortly afterwards, in the nearby Duchy of Cleve, the learned physician Johann Weyer read about this mass possession, reaching him through the account of the chancellor in Gelderland. His interest was professional. Weyer himself did not believe that strange objects had actually been vomited, but he did not question that reliable authorities had witnessed this happen. Neither did he deny diabolical agency.

Instead, he reinterpreted the scope of demonic power to emphasise the devil’s longstanding status as a master trickster. The extraordinary regurgitation, he argued, was a mere illusion, a common embellishment in fact of natural illnesses often caused by the devil.

Faced with Weyer’s evaluation, modern sensibilities are left reeling. The physician’s scepticism soon appears to be countered by near incomprehensible credulity in the devil’s agency. We are compelled to ask: “But what really happened?” Many explanations have been offered for similar reports of demonic possession, often invoking categories from modern medicine or pointing to the possibility of fraud (which was considered seriously by early moderns as well).

But this gives us only a limited view of a much larger and much more complex landscape of healing in the early modern period. This was a time in which growing belief in demonic activity in the natural world genuinely shaped the understanding and experience of illness.

Recognising possession

Weyer’s account of the mass possession at Amsterdam was first published as a small part of his broader evaluation of demonic power in the 1568 edition of his book On the Illusions of Demons. There, we find many such cases that indicate the characteristic signs looked for by professionals who suspected the activity of the devil.

In addition to the physiological – such as physical pain and convulsions – more indicative psychological signs were sought, such as the demonstration of hidden knowledge, prognostication, and xenoglossy, which involved speaking in unlearned languages (especially with strange vocal alterations). Often reports of demonic possession did indeed include the expulsion of strange objects, such as, in more extreme cases, knives or live eels. Despite these extraordinary symptoms, the diagnosis of demonic afflictions was not always straightforward.

Weyer’s work tells us much about the diverse ways in which the devil was thought to operate, both in illusion and in reality – and the ways in which this complicated medicine in his time. The devil, who was often called “prince of this world”, was understood to be precisely that. Rather than wielding truly supernatural power, the devil and his demons were understood to be restricted to working in nature, which they often did in ways that escaped human understanding. These natural powers included the ability to manipulate the four humours that were believed to govern health. This meant that any natural illness, in theory, could be hiding the hand of the devil as its primary cause.

The possibility of demonic agency would not usually be considered unless natural medicines first proved ineffective, but ineffective medicine was not taken uncritically to indicate a demonic cause. Physical convulsions, for instance, were also associated with natural diseases such as epilepsy, which was already understood to be unpredictable, chronic, and potentially incurable. For physicians, demonic agency was not simply an explanation for inexplicable illnesses: it was one of many possible explanations for illnesses that might in other cases be diagnosed as purely natural.

While the activity of the devil might be a speciality of the priest, the psychosomatic symptoms associated with demonic possession also required the physician’s expertise to investigate the potential for purely natural causation.

Healing the possessed

Like today, medical diagnosis in the early modern period was fraught with difficulties. Learned physicians were rare and expensive, and in fact most healing took place in the home and among neighbours, as had long been the norm. In severe cases, rather than face the uncertainty of a learned physician – or worse, the determination that the illness was in fact incurable – most would naturally prefer the succour of the priest, who was far more accessible and often better equipped to help the unwell come to terms with their illness.

And indeed in practice, the boundaries between ecclesiastical healing and medicine were far more fluid than the terms “priest” and “physician” might suggest. These boundaries were regularly traversed in exorcism by lay healers who prescribed both natural medicines and prayer in answer to demonic afflictions.

Dealing With Devil Has Long Been A Part Of MedicineA bewitched woman vomiting. Woodcut, 1720. Wellcome Collection, CC BY

Weyer concluded that the most extraordinary signs of the mass possession at Amsterdam were illusory, leaving the remaining symptoms – and therefore demonic afflictions in general – much more accessible to medical intervention. For him, diabolical agency was a real factor in the subtle negotiation of diagnosis and treatment. What he understood to be the natural mechanisms of demonic activity meant that medical practitioners always had a role in addressing the symptoms of demonic afflictions.

Today, more than 400 years on, Catholic priests in America reportedly field requests for exorcisms numbering in the thousands every year. Their first recourse is to mental health professionals, belying a continuity with exorcism as it was practised in Weyer’s time. In this respect, the professionals who confront reports of demonic possession today are in agreement with their early modern predecessors: call the physician first.The Conversation

About The Author

Laura Sumrall, Visiting Predoctoral Fellow, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=exorcism;maxresults=3}

religion
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}