Ich bleibe bei Sanders und wähle für Clinton

Ich bleibe bei Sanders und wähle für Clinton

Bernie Sanders hat die beste Politik. Aber Hillary Clinton hat die Wahl, eine fortschrittliche Agenda voranzutreiben - wenn wir sie machen.

Die Präsidentenwahl ist beendet. Entweder Hillary Clinton oder Donald Trump wird der nächste US-Präsident sein. Ich liebe Bernie Sanders und misstraue Clinton. Ich hätte Angst vor einem Trump-Sieg und war bisher deprimiert von dem Gedanken an einen Clinton-Sieg. Zu meiner Überraschung lächle ich jetzt.

Ich sehe ein mögliches Szenario, das einen Clinton zum Segen bringen kann. Es ist ein langer Weg, aber die Logik ist einfach.

1. Wenige, wenn überhaupt, Amerikaner haben die breite Insider-Erfahrung, die Clinton darauf vorbereitet, die grundlegenden Pflichten der Präsidentschaft zu erfüllen - und eine fortschrittliche Agenda voranzutreiben, wenn sie dazu gezwungen wird, die hartnäckigen Forderungen einer mächtigen progressiven politischen Bewegung zu erfüllen.

2. Sanders hat Millennials und Unabhängige aktiviert und eine mächtige progressive politische Bewegung angestachelt, die Clinton zu einer progressiven Agenda machen könnte.

3. Trump zerbricht die republikanische Partei und regt seine Opposition an. Diese beiden Faktoren könnten die Kontrolle des Kongresses verändern. Zusammen mit einem Demokraten im Weißen Haus würde dies eine schrittweise Verlagerung der Kontrolle des Obersten Gerichtshofs sicherstellen.

4. Diese Faktoren schaffen zusammen einen Moment historischer Möglichkeiten.

Clinton hat unzweifelhafte Glaubwürdigkeit und Erfahrung in den politischen und bürokratischen Einrichtungen. Sie lernte staatliche und lokale Politik als First Lady von Arkansas und die Politik des Präsidenten als First Lady der Vereinigten Staaten. Sie lernte, als Senatorin im Kongress zu arbeiten. Sie lernte Außenpolitik als Außenministerin und arbeitete mit den mächtigsten politischen Führern der Welt in den schwierigsten Fragen der Welt zusammen, während sie eine komplexe, globale Bürokratie leitete. Dies macht sie wohl am besten vorbereitet in das ovale Büro.

Wir wissen natürlich auch, dass Die Geschichte der Clinton-Familie, die sich mit der Wall Street und dem Unternehmen auseinandersetzt. Um gegen Trump zu gewinnen, wird Clinton sicherlich weiterhin gegen das Unternehmen kämpfen. Sobald sie im Amt war, konnte sie leicht in ihre alten Wege schlüpfen.

Dies ist, wo die soziale Bewegung, die Sanders angeregt hat, so wesentlich wird.

Höre Sanders. Corporate Media versteht das nicht, aber seine Sprache dreht sich nur darum, die Bewegung stark und effektiv zu halten. Eine wesentliche Bewegungspriorität muss darin bestehen, den intensiven politischen Druck auf Clinton aufrecht zu erhalten, um die progressive Agenda voranzutreiben, auf der sie sich jetzt befindet.

In diesem Gesamtbild könnte Sanders 'Verlust der Nominierung das Beste sein. Wenn Hillary gewinnen kann, ist sie besser in der Lage, das unvermeidliche Spiel der Aushandlung politischer Kompromisse zu spielen, die kein Präsident vermeiden kann - einschließlich des korporatistischen Flügels ihrer eigenen Partei, der solidarisch hinter ihr steht, während sie auf einer zunehmend anti-korporatistischen Agenda kämpft. Unterdessen bleibt Sanders frei, sein Geschenk für den Bewegungsaufbau von seinem Senatssitz weiter zu verwenden.

Trumps Neigung zu rassistischen und sexistischen Bemerkungen und seine Geschichte von beschämende Geschäftsbeziehungen Sie könnten andere Republikaner, die sich um ein Amt bewerben, schaden, die Aussichten auf Down-Ticket-Demokraten verbessern und eine längst überfällige Befreiung beider Parteien von der Kontrolle der Unternehmenseinrichtungen verhindern.

Sanders 'Verlust der Nominierung ist vielleicht das Beste.

Ich glaube, dass ein mächtige transformative politische Bewegung ist und war schon immer das Hauptziel von Sanders. Wie wird diese Bewegung aussehen, wenn sie reift? Im Idealfall wird es Menschen willkommen heißen, unabhängig von den politischen, religiösen, rassischen oder geschlechtsspezifischen Bezeichnungen, nach denen sie sich identifizieren. Es wird die globale Zusammenarbeit zwischen demokratischen, selbstverwalteten Gemeinschaften unterstützen. Es wird lokal verankerte unabhängige und kooperativ geführte Unternehmen fördern. Es wird auf neue Regeln drängen, um großes Geld aus der Politik zu holen, die Dominanz der beiden großen politischen Parteien zu beenden, die Wall Street zu regulieren und Firmenmonopole zu zerschlagen. Und es wird Entmilitarisierung als Weg zum Weltfrieden unterstützen.

Diese Bewegung sollte vermeiden, sich mit einer politischen Partei zu identifizieren. Es sollte jeden Politiker unterstützen, der die Werte und Ziele der Bewegung voranbringt, und sich allen widersetzen, die das nicht tun.

Deshalb habe ich ein Lächeln auf dem Gesicht, während ich bei Sanders bleibe und das Wachstum einer starken politischen Bewegung unterstützt. Und ich stimme Hillary zu.

Dieser Artikel erschien ursprünglich auf JA! Zeitschrift

Über den Autor

korten davidDavid Korten hat diesen Artikel für YES geschrieben! Magazin als Teil seiner neuen Reihe von zweiwöchentlichen Kolumnen über A Living Earth Economy. Hei Mitbegründer und Vorstandsvorsitzender von YES! Magazine, Präsident des Living Economies Forum, Co-Vorsitzender der New Economy Working Group, ein Mitglied des Club of Rome, und der Autor einflussreicher Bücher, darunter Wenn Konzerne die Welt regieren und die Geschichte verändern, verändern Sie die Zukunft: Eine lebendige Wirtschaft für eine lebendige Erde. Seine Arbeit baut auf Lehren aus den 21-Jahren auf, in denen er und seine Frau Fran in Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika gelebt und gearbeitet haben, um die globale Armut zu beenden. Folge ihm auf Twitter @dkorten und Facebook.


Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Bernie Sanders; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

I’m Sticking With Sanders And Voting for Clinton

I’m Sticking With Sanders And Voting for Clinton

Bernie Sanders has the best policies. But Hillary Clinton has the chops to advance a progressive agenda—if we make her. 

The presidential primary is over. Either Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump will be the next U.S. president. I love Bernie Sanders and distrust Clinton. I would be terrified by a Trump win and was until now depressed by the thought of a Clinton win. Much to my surprise, I am now smiling.

I see a possible scenario that can make a Clinton win a blessing. It is a long shot, but the logic is simple.

1. Few, if any, Americans have the broad insider experience that prepares Clinton to carry out the basic duties of the presidency—and to advance a progressive agenda if forced to do so by the persistent demands of a powerful progressive political movement.

2. Sanders has activated millennials and independents and energized a powerful progressive political movement with the potential to hold Clinton to a progressive agenda.

3. Trump is fracturing the Republican party and energizing his opposition. These two factors could flip control of Congress. Combined with a Democrat in the White House, that would assure a progressive shift in control of the Supreme Court.

4. These factors together create a moment of historic opportunity.

Clinton has unquestionable credibility and experience within the political and bureaucratic establishments. She learned state and local politics as first lady of Arkansas and presidential politics as first lady of the United States. She learned to work with Congress as a senator. She learned foreign policy as secretary of state working with the world’s most powerful political leaders on the world’s most difficult issues while heading a complex, global bureaucracy. This makes her arguably the best prepared person ever to step into the oval office.

We also know, of course, the Clinton family’s history of aligning with Wall Street and the corporate establishment. To win against Trump, Clinton will surely continue to run against the corporate establishment. Once in office, however, she could easily slip into her old ways.

This is where the social movement that Sanders energized becomes so essential.

Listen to Sanders. Corporate media doesn’t get it, but his language now is all about keeping the movement strong and effective. An essential movement priority must be to maintain intense political pressure on Clinton to advance the progressive agenda on which she is now campaigning.

Within this big picture view, Sanders’ loss of the nomination may be for the best. If Hillary can win, she is better positioned to play the inevitable game of negotiating political tradeoffs that no president can avoid—including with the corporatist wing of her own party that stands solidly behind her even as she campaigns on an increasingly anti-corporatist agenda. Meanwhile, Sanders remains free to continue using his gift for movement building from his Senate seat.

Trump’s propensity for racist and sexist remarks and his history of shameful business dealings may taint other Republicans running for office, improving the prospects of down-ticket Democrats and a long overdue liberation of both parties from corporate establishment control.

Sanders’ loss of the nomination may be for the best.

I believe that building a powerful transformational political movement is, and always has been, Sanders’ primary objective. What will that movement look like as it matures? Ideally, in my view, it will welcome people regardless of the political, religious, racial, or gender labels by which they identify. It will support global cooperation among democratic, self-governing communities. It will encourage locally rooted independent and cooperatively owned businesses. It will push for new rules to get big money out of politics, end the corporate domination of both major political parties, regulate Wall Street, and break up corporate monopolies. And it will support demilitarization as an avenue to world peace.

This movement should avoid identifying with a political party. It should support any politician who advances the movement’s values and goals, and oppose all who do not.

This is why I have a smile on my face as I stick with Sanders and support the growth of a powerful transpartisan political movement. And commit my vote to Hillary.

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine

About The Author

korten davidDavid Korten wrote this article for YES! Magazine as part of his new series of biweekly columns on A Living Earth Economy. Heis co-founder and board chair of YES! Magazine, president of the Living Economies Forum, co-chair of the New Economy Working Group, a member of the Club of Rome, and the author of influential books, including When Corporations Rule the World and Change the Story, Change the Future: A Living Economy for a Living Earth. His work builds on lessons from the 21 years he and his wife Fran lived and worked in Africa, Asia, and Latin America on a quest to end global poverty. Follow him on Twitter @dkorten and Facebook.


Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Bernie Sanders;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.