Le lien entre les drogues et la musique expliquée par la science

Le lien entre les drogues et la musique expliquée par la science

Pendant des siècles, les musiciens ont utilisé des drogues pour améliorer la créativité et les auditeurs ont utilisé des drogues pour augmenter le plaisir créé par la musique. Et les deux s'embrassent, interminablement. La relation entre les drogues et la musique se reflète également dans paroles et de la façon dont ces paroles ont été composées par musiciensCertains d'entre eux étaient indubitablement influencés par les quantités copieuses d'héroïne, de cocaïne et de «reefer» qu'ils consommaient, comme le révèlent parfois leurs chansons.

L'hymne d'Ella Fitzgerald à la «poussière farfelue».

Le rock acide n'aurait jamais existé sans le LSD, et la musique house, avec ses beats 4 / 4 répétitifs, serait restée un goût musical de niche si ce n'était de la grande disponibilité du MDMA (ecstasy, molly) dans les 1980 et 1990.

Et ne vous laissez pas berner par le nom de la musique country. Les chansons de pays font plus de références aux médicaments que tout autre genre de musique populaire, y compris le hip-hop.

Sous l'influence

Comme tous les tokers le savent, écouter de la musique tout en haut peut la faire sonner mieux. Cependant, des recherches récentes suggèrent que tous les types de cannabis ne produisent pas effet. L'équilibre entre deux composés clés dans le cannabis, le tétrahydrocannabinol et les cannabidiols, influence le désir de musique et son plaisir. Les utilisateurs de cannabis ont déclaré qu'ils éprouvaient plus de plaisir avec la musique lorsqu'ils utilisaient du cannabis contenant des cannabidiols que lorsque ces composés étaient absents.

Écouter de la musique - sans l'influence de la drogue - est récompense, peut réduire le stress (selon le type de musique écouté) et améliorer les sentiments d'appartenance à un groupe social. Mais la recherche suggère que certains médicaments changent l'expérience de l'écoute de la musique.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Les études cliniques qui ont administré du LSD à des volontaires humains ont montré que le médicament améliore émotion évoquée par la musique, avec des volontaires plus susceptibles de rapporter des sentiments d'émerveillement, de transcendance, de puissance et de tendresse. Études d'imagerie cérébrale suggèrent également que prendre du LSD tout en écoutant de la musique affecte une partie du cerveau menant à une augmentation de l'imagerie visuelle complexe inspirée musicalement.

Jumelage de musique et de drogues

Certains styles de musique correspondent aux effets de certains médicaments. L'amphétamine, par exemple, est souvent appariés avec une musique rapide et répétitive, car elle fournit une stimulation, permettant aux gens de danser rapidement. La tendance de la MDMA (ecstasy) à produire mouvement répétitif et des sentiments de plaisir à travers mouvement et danse est également bien connu.

Fujiya & Miyagi - Sérotonine se précipite.

Un utilisateur d'ecstasy décrit l'expérience d'être à un délirer:

J'ai compris pourquoi les lumières de la scène étaient brillantes et clignotantes, et pourquoi la musique de transe est répétitive; la musique et la drogue se complétaient parfaitement. C'était comme si un voile avait été enlevé de mes yeux et je pouvais enfin voir ce que tout le monde voyait. C'était merveilleux.

Il y a un riche représentation des drogues dans la musique populaire, et bien que les études aient montré des niveaux plus élevés de consommation de drogues chez les auditeurs de certains genres musicaux, la relation est complexe. Les représentations de drogues peuvent servir à normaliser l'utilisation pour certains auditeurs, mais les drogues et la musique sont des moyens puissants de renforcer les liens sociaux. Ils fournissent tous deux une identité et un sens de la connexion entre les gens. La musique et la drogue peuvent aussi rapprocher les gens d'une manière politique tentatives pour fermer les raves illégaux a montré.

Les gens ont tendance à former des groupes de pairs avec ceux qui partagent leurs propres préférences culturelles, ce qui peut être symbolisé par des choix musicaux et de substances interconnectés. Bien qu'il y ait des synergies évidentes entre certaines musiques et des drogues spécifiques, telles que la musique de danse électronique et l'ecstasy, d'autres liens se sont développés en moins de façons évidentes. Les drogues sont une composante, souvent mineure, d'une identité plus large et un moyen important de distinguer le groupe des autres.

La ConversationBien qu'il soit important de ne pas supposer la causalité et de surestimer les liens entre certains genres musicaux et différents types de consommation de drogues, l'information sur les préférences est utile pour cibler et adapter les interventions, comme les initiatives de réduction des méfaits, à festivals de musique.

A propos de l'auteur

Ian Hamilton, conférencier en santé mentale et en toxicomanie, Université de York; Harry Sumnall, professeur en toxicomanie, Liverpool John Moores University, et Suzi Gage, conférencière, Université de Liverpool

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = drogues et musique; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

The Link Between Drugs And Music Explained By Science

leisure

The Link Between Drugs And Music Explained By Science

For centuries, musicians have used drugs to enhance creativity and listeners have used drugs to heighten the pleasure created by music. And the two riff off each other, endlessly. The relationship between drugs and music is also reflected in lyrics and in the way these lyrics were composed by musicians, some of whom were undoubtedly influenced by the copious amounts of heroin, cocaine and “reefer” they consumed, as their songs sometimes reveal.

Ella Fitzgerald’s paean to ‘wacky dust’.

Acid rock would never have happened without LSD, and house music, with its repetitive 4/4 beats, would have remained a niche musical taste if it wasn’t for the wide availability of MDMA (ecstasy, molly) in the 1980s and 1990s.

And don’t be fooled by country music’s wholesome name. Country songs make more references to drugs than any other genre of popular music, including hip hop.

Under the influence

As every toker knows, listening to music while high can make it sound better. Recent research, however, suggests that not all types of cannabis produce the desired effect. The balance between two key compounds in cannabis, tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiols, influence the desire for music and its pleasure. Cannabis users reported that they experienced greater pleasure from music when they used cannabis containing cannabidiols than when these compounds were absent.

Listening to music – without the influence of drugs – is rewarding, can reduce stress (depending upon the type of music listened to) and improve feelings of belonging to a social group. But research suggests that some drugs change the experience of listening to music.

Clinical studies that have administered LSD to human volunteers have found that the drug enhances music-evoked emotion, with volunteers more likely to report feelings of wonder, transcendence, power and tenderness. Brain imaging studies also suggest that taking LSD while listening to music, affects a part of the brain leading to an increase in musically inspired complex visual imagery.

Pairing music and drugs

Certain styles of music match the effects of certain drugs. Amphetamine, for example, is often matched with fast, repetitive music, as it provides stimulation, enabling people to dance quickly. MDMA’s (ecstasy) tendency to produce repetitive movement and feelings of pleasure through movement and dance is also well known.

Fujiya & Miyagi - Serotonin Rushes.

An ecstasy user describes the experience of being at a rave:

I understood why the stage lights were bright and flashing, and why trance music is repetitive; the music and the drug perfectly complemented one another. It was as if a veil had been lifted from my eyes and I could finally see what everyone else was seeing. It was wonderful.

There is a rich representation of drugs in popular music, and although studies have shown higher levels of drug use in listeners of some genres of music, the relationship is complex. Drug representations may serve to normalise use for some listeners, but drugs and music are powerful ways of strengthening social bonds. They both provide an identity and a sense of connection between people. Music and drugs can bring together people in a political way, too, as the response to attempts to close down illegal raves showed.

People tend to form peer groups with those who share their own cultural preferences, which may be symbolised through interlinked musical and substance choices. Although there are some obvious synergies between some music and specific drugs, such as electronic dance music and ecstasy, other links have developed in less obvious ways. Drugs are one, often minor, component of a broader identity and an important means of distinguishing the group from others.

The ConversationAlthough it is important not to assume causality and overstate the links between some musical genres and different types of drug use, information about preferences is useful in targeting and tailoring interventions, such as harm reduction initiatives, at music festivals.

About The Author

Ian Hamilton, Lecturer in mental health and addiction, University of York; Harry Sumnall, Professor in Substance Use, Liverpool John Moores University, and Suzi Gage, Lecturer, University of Liverpool

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Music Love Drugs War

leisureAuthor: Geraldine Quigley (author)
Binding: Hardcover
Studio: Penguin Uk
Label: Penguin Uk
Publisher: Penguin Uk
Manufacturer: Penguin Uk

Buy Now



Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music

leisureAuthor: Blair Tindall
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Grove Atlantic

Brand: Tindall, Blair
Studio: Grove Press
Label: Grove Press
Publisher: Grove Press
Manufacturer: Grove Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.




Making It: Music, Sex & Drugs in the Golden Age of Rock

leisureAuthor: Ted Myers
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Calumet Editions
Label: Calumet Editions
Publisher: Calumet Editions
Manufacturer: Calumet Editions

Buy Now
Editorial Review: For those too young to have lived it, or too high to remember it…

Turn on, tune in, and ride along in the front car of the rollercoaster life of Ted Myers, as he chases his dreams of rock stardom through the ‘60s, ‘70s and ‘80s. Although he never quite makes it, he has many wonderful—and not-so-wonderful—adventures, and rubs shoulders with some of the true icons of folk, rock, and pop culture, including Bob Dylan, James Taylor, The Who, Procol Harum, Joni Mitchell, Graham Nash, Van Morrison, Steely Dan, Chevy Chase, Timothy Leary and even Elvira, Mistress of the Dark.




leisure
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}